We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Flores to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 32 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Eureka, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Hotel Flores and loved it. The breakfast was good, the staff friendly, rooms well kept and quiet. It is an easy walk through town to the beach and well lit at night. If you are looking for affordable, clean and lovely room and don't mind being off the beach, Hotel Flores might be for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
42
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I expected a simple hotel room...yet was pleased to have a small suite (bedroom, bathroom, sitting area with two and day bed, an a full kitchen. The room was quite comfortable for one or two travelers...and could have easily accommodated a third (child). I stayed in room 5, at the back of the property. This reduced the street. pool noise considerably - even on a Friday/Saturday night in high season. The room was very clean and neatly kept, the property is very well maintained. While the front office is not staffed 24/7, the owners live on the property and are available if needed anytime. The complementary breakfast, (served 730 to 9AM) is filling and offers a variety. Of course having a full kitchen with coffee maker and coffee helps.

The property is located approximately a 5 to 7 minute walk to the center of town and the beaches. This provides easy access to all the action of Tamarindo, yet a quiet place to return to of an evening.

Wi-Fi speeds are adequate and available in all areas.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the property are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We came to the hotel and were upgrated as soon as we got here. So instead of getting a normal room, we got a whole apartment. The rooms are very clean and nice and cool with their aircondition. The staff is really nice. The first day and whenever we hung at the pool, they would offer us free refreshments. The breakfast is wonderful! Lots of fresh fruits and eggs, rice&beans and tortillas. We also liked the fact that the hotel only has a few rooms, so we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked this last minute via hotels.com and got a great rate (<$70/night) especially considering we had a whole apartment. We didn't use the kitchen except for the fridge and coffee maker (try the cute falafel bar on the way to the beach), but it was nice to have a separate living room/kitchen area from the bedroom. Air conditioning was good and we had our own tiled porch with chairs. Bathroom was clean with a window. Bedroom was two twins together for great big king bed. We were quite comfortable.

The pool is small, but we only ever saw a couple of other guests. The front desk availability was hit or miss, but Tamarindo seems to be filled with businesses run by expatriots, so there is always someone close by that you can ask for help, if needed.

The gate at the front added to the security and even though the hotel may looks a ways from the beach on a map, it's a straight shot downhill, perhaps a 5 minute walk. The road outfront is wide with tons of parking, however it's gravel and a bit dusty. Not an inconvenience for us at all being on foot.

I would definitely go back. I thought Hotel Flores was a great value and gave us lots of privacy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Rey, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My new wife and I wanted to spend a couple days in Tamarindo to start our honeymoon and decided on Hotel Flores. We are VERY, VERY HAPPY we made this choice! From the start, Andreas, his Mother, and Louisa took care of us. Our room was very clean and the property was immaculate. We felt like we had the entire place to ourselves as most of the rooms are not directly next to each other. We had a beautiful view of the mountains and loved watching lightning coming in over them at night. Each morning, Louisa treated us to the "typical" breakfast and I guarantee you, there was nothing typical about it. We ate the same thing for breakfast 3 days straight (our choice as Louisa will prepare your breakfast to order) but the "typical" took our tastebuds to new levels. There are seemingly hundreds of other restaurants and bars within walking distance and the beach is not any farther. I'd say if, but let's be serious, WHEN we come back, we will most definitely be staying at Hotel Flores again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very nice little hotel, had a problem with the safe in our room and was upgraded to an apartment. The extra room was nice and would recommend if you’re spending more then one or two nights. The owner is a nice Italian woman, she doesn’t speak a lot of English, but this is common with most of the smaller hotels I’ve stayed in CR. It’s rarely a problem with a few words of my Spanish and their limited English it always seems to work out. The pool and grounds are nice and if you’re lucky the monkeys will pay a visit in the evening. I’m a night person but I love to get up between 5:30-6:00 in the morning and go for a walk, I have the streets to myself and no dust or traffic makes for a pleasant walk to the beach.

A word about ants, there is very little a hotel can do about them, CR is in the tropics and bugs are one of the things you just have to deal with. If you don’t want ants in your room don’t keep food in it. All it takes is a couple of crumbs and the ants appear, they normally disappear as soon as the crumbs are gone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

cozy, clean, comfortable rooms, availability of coffee, a delicious breakfast, good access to the center.
sense of safety and security does not leave us like so that when returned to Tamarindo again stayed at this hotel seond time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flores

Address: Frente Hotel Pasatiempo | Calle Guanacaste, Tamarindo 5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Flores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Flores is a small and cozy hotel with different accommodation options. We offer rooms, studios and apartments, for all your needs. Only 8 units surrounded by tropical landscaped grounds and a beautiful pool with waterfall provide a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Close to the center of Tamarindo and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;