We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Altos de Eros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Los Altos de Eros to your Saves list
Los Altos de Eros
Spa de Eros, Canafistula, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Eros Suite Pkg/Save $600!
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Impeccable service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in the detached king suite during the last week of June. We had an absolutely wonderful stay, and we will be recommending LADE to our friends and family.

There's little to be said that hasn't been said already, but what really stood out for us was the level of service provided to us by the staff members of the hotel. From being picked up at the airport to scheduling our excursions (horseback riding, zip lining, estuary tour), to simply being driven into town for a day trip, the staff at LADE planned and executed every last detail of our stay to perfection. We arrived in Costa Rica without any plans, and they helped to make our four-day stay full of activities, both adventurous and leisurely.

We also recommend the cooking class on Tuesday evenings. Speaking of the cooking, Chef Andrea's food was amazing. We initially planned to go into Tamarindo for a few dinners (breakfast and lunch are provided by the hotel), but after taking one bite of lunch on the first day, we decided to stay at the hotel for every dinner, and we were not disappointed. We also chose to do the Sunset Massage and Romantic Dinner. The one hour massage was wonderful, and we'd highly recommend it.

Thank you, LADE, for making our stay perfect. My mother is a travel agent and I have recommended that she refer her clients to you if they are looking for a romantic, luxurious, and stress-free getaway in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We stayed in the detached king suite, which was quieter and larger than the most of the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    24
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
394
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I enjoyed the spa LADE greatly. Jessica was great and the entire staff was welcoming. The cucumber/lime facial, mud wrap and massage were all amazing! They offer plenty of time to relax and enjoy the hot tub and the food was fabulous as well. A must do!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I am writing this review more than six months after our stay last year. Not sure what took so long but my wife and I regularly enjoy remembering the great aspects of our time at LADE. This trip was designed to be the start of our 35th Anniversary celebration and it could not have been more perfect. The Sunset Dinner and Spa Experience for 2 made this 35th year like a honeymoon again. Cooking school was made more awesome as one of the other guests brought the fish from their fishing trip that day! The younger couples on actual honeymoon brought a romantic tone to the table at each meal. The wildlife on the estuary tour was over the top! Go....enjoy...relax...refresh!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I wanted to celebrate his MBA graduation with a vacation. We finally narrowed our options and focused on Costa Rica. I found Los Altos on Trip Advisor, and by crazy chance one of my coworker's friends lived in Tamarindo and had visited LADE. She gave it a 5-star review, as well. So we booked it and hoped for the best.
We stayed 6 days at the end of May, and every day was unbelievable! The resort was so amazing - the staff was friendly and so accommodating, the owners were down to earth, the food was out of this world, the spa was paradise, and the other guests were nice company. And we really loved that we could build a day of adventure OR relaxation - there are so many options!
While there we enjoyed a few massages in the spa, ziplining, a sunset catamaran tour, an estuary tour, yoga, and trips to two of the local beaches. Anything we wanted to do was always easy to arrange - all you had to do was tell the staff, and they worked out all of the logistics! It was so nice to have all transportation provided. We also just loved laying by the pool. Even the views from the pool were awesome. We also took advantage of their laundry service almost every day!
When we initially booked our stay, I was concerned about the rain because we were visiting during the start of "wet season." It did rain every day, but only for about an hour each afternoon/early evening and very light rain. Since most of our adventures were in the morning, it didn't effect our day. Instead, it was nice to get back to the resort and enjoy the rain and the cool breeze that usually accompanied it. It was like a built-in break during our day.
All of the other guests were really nice and welcoming, as well. Most of them were other couples, some even honeymooners. And we had things in common which made for good conversation. That was really nice, since all meals are community dining (unless you choose to do the couples massage with dinner in the spa or go to town for dinner) and it's a small resort.
If you are looking for a more personal experience at a luxury resort in paradise, book now! We are already looking for an excuse to go back. Maybe even rent out the whole thing with other couples we know.
Since we've returned many people have asked us about our trip, and my first comment is, "Paradise....just absolutely wonderful. We had the best time." So go, leave the real world behind and experience your best vacay today!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We found Los Altos de Eros by searching Trip Advisor and I was amazed by all the excellent ratings and reviews. I thought there was no way this place could be as good as everyone says it is. It's not...it's better!! My husband and I stayed for 5 days at Los Altos from May 22-28 in the detached king suite and everything was perfect. Andrea cooked some of the best food I've ever had, Ari, Tatiana, Rose and the entire staff were beyond accomidating and helped make our stay that much more enjoyable. During our stay we went on a canopy tour, catamaran outing, visited the local beaches, did a sunset massage with dinner for two, hiked around the resort and relaxed by the pool all of which were wonderful. Our trip marked the beginning of Green Season in Costa Rica, so it did rain every day on and off, but it was actually welcomed because it helped to cool it down. Because of the new rain, the bugs had just started to "come out" in this area of Costa Rica, but it was fine in the pool or on the beach! I would recommend Los Altos to anyone who is looking for a small, intimate, luxury resort, off the beaten trail. It's easy to feel like a celebrity there! We cannot wait to go back!!

Room Tip: The Detached King Suite is located away from the rest of the rooms (only a few steps), seemed bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 glorious nights at LADE in early April 2013. The hotel is immaculate and the staff really make you feel at home. We had almost every meal on premises, and Chef Andrea and her staff were just amazing. I was about 9 weeks pregnant at the time of our stay, and they accommodated every strange request I made without even hesitating. One of the ladies even made me a special drink which really did help with my nausea! We also took Chef Andrea's cooking class, which was a blast! The smoothies were fabulous, and I'm not typically a smoothie person. The laundry service was also amazing, especially when the airline lost our luggage and it did not arrive until late the following day - the staff at LADE also took care of working with the airline to get our bags to us. One other amenity that really set LADE apart from all the others is the free transportation. Transportation in Costa Rica seems to be very expensive, and having drivers you can trust available to you as often as you need, at no charge, is invaluable.

During our stay, we took advantage of the 50% off spa services. The massages we got were incredible, as was my mani/pedi and soaking tub treatment. The spa is just a beautiful setting - it's so calming and relaxing. We also enjoyed the sunset massage and dinner for two - an incredible experience I'd recommend to everyone!

We really enjoyed just relaxing around the pool and enjoying the views. Early mornings we would be up and spend some time petting the "guard dog", Coco, who was just adorable. We would spend the day reading or playing cards, taking naps, and just really decompressing. We would watch the sunset every night at the pool, and soon after the staff left, Coco would come out again to make the rounds. We fell into a fabulous routine and enjoyed every minute at the hotel.

We didn't find much reason to leave the property, but when we did, it was worth while. We really enjoyed "The Real Costa Rica Tour" with Francisco - he gives you a real taste of what living in Costa Rica is like. He took us to Santa Cruz where we got to see the small town, church, farmer's market, and a grocery store so we could pick up some coffee to take home. We really enjoyed the visit to the pottery shop, where they showed us how they make pottery with no electricity or real tools. When we were at the farmer's market, we picked up some corn on the cob that looked yummy, and chef Andrea prepared it for us with dinner that night! It was a really great tour and I recommend it to everyone! The staff also arranged for an ATV tour for us one afternoon. We only booked the day before and they had no problem getting us set up. The driver dropped us off and picked us up in town. We didn't have to do any work - just enjoy our trip!

We did get to meet some great people while we were there, as well as the owner Calvin, who was just an amazing man. He really cares for his staff and his community, and it really shows in how happy the staff are and what wonderful things they said about him. We can't recommend this place highly enough! Our only regret is that we waited so long to book!

Just wanted to add a special THANK YOU to the staff - you were all really amazing, and made our vacation incredibly special. We look forward to seeing you on our next trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the detached king and enjoyed it. It was bigger than the other rooms, and has a privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We experienced one week at LAdE late April early May. We loved the boutique hotel as well as all the staff members and owners. I had several conversation with Jacqueline, owner of the hotel, and truly enjoyed them all. The hotel is very special, you really have to stay at LAdE to truly understand how special it really is. The customer service is outstanding!

The Spa is fabulous, all open air. I loved the Coconut Delight, Red Clay Facial & the Coffee scrub. My favorite was the Coconut Delight, one hour & 2 attendants!!

Food is wonderful! Chef Andrea is great & is all the meals she prepared! The ladies that assist Andrea in the kitchen are also very good. All meals are taken at the common table which we enjoyed chatting with other guest. Don't miss the cooking class on Tuesday! All smoothies are made with fresh fruit, I loved the watermelon smoothie. Breakfast is at 8:30am, lunch @ 1:00pm and dinner @ 6:30pm. If you have a early tour the kitchen will prepare your breakfast early.

We had the King pool side room which met our needs. We did view all rooms & they are all nice. We really enjoyed the outside shower.

We hiked the 5.5km trail every day & this was a highlight. We never knew what we would encounter, birds, monkeys, horses, chickens, cows, bulls etc. One day we saw at least 25 monkeys in a tree. There are lots of monkeys right out the front door.

The drivers are very good! They were always waiting on us even though we were typically early.

Don't worry about security, there are a couple of guards that on site from 6:00pm - 6:00am every day.

If you are thinking about LAdE, book now!

Hello to Calvin, Jacqueline, Tatiana, Ari, Rose Mary, Chef Andrea, Coco & all the staff! We hope to see you again in 2014

Ginger & Ed

Room Tip: All rooms are nice! We loved the convenience of the pool side king room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Altos de Eros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos de Eros

Address: Spa de Eros, Canafistula, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#6 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel, spa and yoga retreat located "somewhere between heaven and earth", and only 20 minutes outside of Tamarindo, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Los Altos de Eros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos De Eros Hotel Tamarindo
Los Altos De Eros Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Altos de Eros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.