We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived Up to All Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Altos de Eros

Save Saved
You added Los Altos de Eros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Altos de Eros
Spa de Eros, Canafistula, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Occasions 20% OFF
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Tamarindo
Bay Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lived Up to All Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just arrived home last night from a 7 day stay at Los Altos De Eros (LADE). I usually do not post a review so soon after getitng home, but LADE deserves the attention. I will pass on re stating what all the other reviews consistently state. Just know we rated this an excellent stay from day one.

If you are using T.A. to plan your next vacation, simply rely on the reviews, they are spot on. Calvin and Jacquiline have created a truly unique experience and every single member of the staff works hard to make your stay unbelievable. They are simply the "Best of the Best" in every aspect imaginable. I could not thank Ari, Tattiana, Francisco, Andrea, (the incredible new Chef) and all the other staff, enough.

Once you decide LADE is the place, and you should, here are the must do's:

(1) couples massage
(2) Taking Coco on the 3.5 mile hike
(3) Staying up poolside, enjoying the free wine and Cohiba's while listening to the Howler's
(4) The Saturday dinner, with live music.

Off premisses we did two excursions; the Zip Lines with Pura Aventura and some sport fishing on the half day trip. Pura Aventura runs a very safe and fun zip line tour, with about 12 cables of varying length and speed and nice little "surprise" at the end. Pura Aventura had some very good long cables and at a very reasonable $50 per person price. Highly recommended if you want a bit of an adreneline rush but not over the top.

Fishing was also a very good deal at $300 for the half day to reserve the entire boat. We caught plenty of Tuna. Enough for Andrea to include in that day's lunch. Both were excellent off site options. My recommendation for any off site excursions is to book through LADE as they will not steer you wrong. Just make sure you are back in time for dinner...it is that good.

A few final thoughts: Do go in with an open mind, the close quarters and community meals is a unqiue experience. If you go in with the wrong mindset, it could imapct your stay, but if you are looking for a place for your honeymoon, to rekindle a romance or just get away from the hassles of bigger resorts, I cannot think of a better place to stay.

We are both looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Suite on the second floor (room 5 I think) if you can. It is worth the extra dollar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    475
    23
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
382
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I can't say much that's not already said here. We stayed for our honeymoon and chose the King Size Package, which we were very satisfied with.

Service is perfect, personal yet still professional. Location is perfect, food is good, the spa is amazing, especially the dinner/spa experience that shouldn't be missed! The pool area was so relaxing. On friday evening we even had our own private (together with one other couple) concert in the pool (see picture) Priceless. Cleaning and folding our clothes every day was a great plus! We had some really relaxing days here, and would easily recomment any of our friends to go here.

Just a word of advice - have reasonable expectations. That would give you an even better experience. The place is wonderful, but as no place, not without faults.

1) The place is small and that means that you cannot avoid the other guests, since you will dine with them for breakfast and dinner most of the time. If the other guests are nice, you'll have a wonderful experience to share, if they're not, they will be a source of irritation to your experience. If you're not the social kind of couple, maybe it's not the best place for you.

2) The rooms are surprisingly small to be a luxury resort. If you need lots of space (which you don't), you'll be disappointed. I would recommend the King Size rooms as a minimum.

3) The food is very good, the chefs does a good job, but considering all the superlatives here we were a little bit disappointed. I would say the food is made for American standards - with that I mean that size goes before design. You'll never go hungry here - that's for sure. Just don't expect Michelin Guide-standards.

4) For the Sunset Cruise, we thought that it would be a somewhat personal experience. It is not. It's about 40 people packed on a boat with a discodancing bartender playing loud music. It's still a nice break, but it was different from what we expected.

This is one of the best places we have stayed and we really enjoyed it. As long as you have reasonable expectation arriving here you will really enjoy your stay here!

Room Tip: Choose at least King Size Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Found this place on trip advisor and a co-worker recommended as she was a previous guest. As all the other 300 reviews say on here, this place is awesome. Property is gorgeous. Staff goes above and beyond take care of you. Food is exquisite. Drivers on call to take you everywhere is a huge perk. Yes the roads are bad - who cares you're in Central America. We chose to eat on property every night and had zero regrets. By the time you figure in drinks, dinner at a restaurant would cost more and not be as good.

Only regret is not booking the couples dinner/massage in the spa. All the other guests did it and said it was truly a unique experience.

I highly recommend this place and hopefully I will be able to return to this magnificent property another day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in February 2012 and had an amazing time. The atmosphere is relaxed and intimate. The rooms and hotel grounds are beautiful as well as the sights. The hotel staff is beyond 5 star quality. They are able to cater to any of your needs. The staff brought us around the town whenever we needed and made sure we were all set. The other great thing is that you have your meals with the other people at the hotel. Which is great because you are able to meet and talk with other people. I would recommend this to any couple wanting to have a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Spring for the honeymoon suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I whole-heartedly agree with the other reviews that have been posted about this proprty. We just got back from a week long aniversary trip and had a great time. The staff are really amazing and seem to genuinely enjoy working there and their enthusiasm rubs off on you. Rather than regurgitate the reviews that have already been made, I'll simply offer some tips for the first time visitor:

1. If you have the means, spring for the Eros Suite. It's only an extra $100 a night as compared to the King Suite and well worth it. We stayed in that room and loved every minute of it. Its a big room with a separate shower room, toliet room and sinks in the main room so that you and your spouse can comfortably be using the facilities at the same time without being on top of each other (the bathrooms in the other rooms are fairly standard hotel type bathrooms, albeit with outdoor showers). Its also a nice retreat if you want some private time as there is a couch inside and two lounge chairs on a private deck outside where you can hang out. You always have the option of going down to the main level and hanging out by the pool with the other guests if you want to socialize. Definitely the best of both worlds for a couple looking to enjoy some private time together but also looking to meet some new people. As an aside, we enjoyed all of the other guests we met on our trip and loved dining with them and some of our fondest memories (and best stories) are of the new friends we met on our trip.

2. You will encounter wildlife both at the resort and away from it. The resort is an open air concept so you will see geckos climbing the wall (they eat the bugs, so their presence is actually encouraged) and you will most likely encounter the resident iguana by the pool during the day while he is sunning himself. At night, frogs (toads?) congregate on the pool deck. In the early morning, you will hear howler monkeys making grunting and hooting noises from the nearby trees. We did not see any tarantulas but did see two very small scorpions, which are not poisonous and which the staff made fairly short work of once alerted to their presence. I really enjoyed all of the wildlife, as it was a huge novelty to see such animals, however, I know that some people have an issue with such creatures. Regardless, as I stare out the window at 6 inches of snow, I fondly recall that just a few days ago, I was feeding bananas to an iguana by the pool.

3. The road from the resort to pretty much anywhere you want to go is unpaved and bumpy. It will take you about 30 minutes to get to Playa Avellanas and around 20 minutes to Tamarindo. I suspect that those prone to car sickness may encounter some issues with that, as we did see a few gringos in passing tour buses with their heads hanging out the window (altough that could very well have been the result of too many mojitos, it's hard to say exactly). The only paved roads we encountered were on the outskirts of Tamarindo and on the way to the airport. We relied solely on LADE for transportation and am glad we did as I can't imagine trying to navigate these roads by myself. The roads are in pretty rough shape and not very well marked. I would recommend letting the resort take care of transportation for you (especially since you are paying for it anyway as part of your accomodations). This is especially nice if you want to go into town for dinner and/or drinks and not have to worry about driving after imbibing a few too many.

4. Being a bit of a foodie, we tried to sample many of the finer restaurants in Tamarindo. Being a surfer town, what is considered "high end" might not be what you would expect as compared to a decent sized city in North America. As such, while the meals we had in town were decent, the food we had at LADE was superior is pretty much all respects. They provide you with a menu in the morning when they make your room (they leave the laminated menu on your bed) so you can always make a game day decision about whether to eat at LADE or in town if the menu is not to your liking. However, I would recommend eating at LADE as much as possible if you like good food. Its only $40 a person and wine and beer are included. The new chef, Andrea, is amazing and a real joy to talk to. Her cooking class was great and includes dinner (you get to eat the fruits of your labour). Given that its $50 a person and dinner is included (a $40 value), its really only $10 a peron for the class, which is a bargain. Also, the sunset couples massage followed by the romantic dinner in the spa was a real highlight of the trip. They give you an hour long couples massage, followed by sparkling wine and strawberries in the hot tub overlooking the jungle and then a catered meal in the privacy of the spa area with a nice bottle of wine (i.e. a step up from the house wine which is available every day). All of this for less than you would pay for a nice meal at a gourmet restaurant in North America. Amazing!

5. Try and book your activities through LADE. They have great connections with the local businesses that provide these activities and they seem to really cater to you as a LADE guest (likely to keep up the lucrative referral network - which really works in your favour). As a bonus, they will even pay for it and add it to your room bill, avoiding the need to carry lots of cash with you (since credit cards are not always accepted). We did the ziplining with Pura Aventura and had a great time with them. Their regular surf instructor was unavailable but they set us up with a replacement for surf lessons at Matos Surf Shop (Juan) who was amazing.

6. The spa services are really good and at half price for guests, a real bargain. My wife got a mud wrap, a facial and a pedicure and seemed happy with all three. We both got the couples massage, which was great. We ended up making more use of the gym that we imagined given that we had a bit of rain on the trip and also had a tremendous amount of time on our hands as we seemed to be unable to sleep in past 6 am (internal clock as a result of young kids). The open air gym is pretty basic (treadmill, eliptical and a bench complete with two sets of dumbells). It was enough to get in a decent work out and help build an appetite for all the wonderful food you'll be consuming. One of our highlights was getting in a good workout and getting very sweaty working out in all of the humidity and then diving straight into the pool in our workout gear to cool off. I also have a fond memory of Andrea bringing me a coconut to drink from to rehydrate while I was in the middle of a workout. Amazing service to say the least.

7. Don't be fooled by the weather forecast. We went in October during the rainy season (green season, according to the CR marketing folks). We were a bit freaked out when all of the weather forecasts we saw online were calling for rain every day (and not just rain, but torrential rain). We even considered postponing the trip or cutting it short and going somewhere else to chase the sun. We're glad we didn't. We got sporadic rain over the course of our trip but also got a significant amount of sun. There was only one day when it rained the entire day long and the staff made a real effort to keep us entertained, offering free cooking classes and facials and making fun blender drinks. On the few other instances when it did rain, we simply stayed on our covered deck and read, knowing that when the sun did come out, we'd have more than enough time to catch some rays. I never would have guessed that I'd come home with a sunburn, but that's exactly what happened.

Pura Vida
Pete

Room Tip: The suite is probably three times the size of the other rooms at a price that is well less than thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana C, General Manager at Los Altos de Eros, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
"Thank you both for your kind words and for staying at Los Altos de Eros Boutique Hotel and Spa. We constantly evaluate the tours, activities, and restaurants that we offer the guests. We do not make any profit from the tours and other activities we suggest for our guests; but we do DEMAND our guests get preferential treatment and outstanding service."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Where do I even begin!? Los Altos de Eros is beyond incredible. My husband and I took a trip to Costa Rica for our anniversary and this place exceeded expectations. The staff alone deserves their own standing ovation, they are amazing, so friendly and accommodating in every way. Great customer service is so important and the people at this hotel really go above and beyond to make you feel right at home. The smoothies are so fresh and free-flowing, and the food was really delicious.

We were intrigued that there are only 5 rooms on the property and thought we'd go for it. We don't always like staying at the big resort type places, we like to really experience the country and you don't really get that at a chain resort. Plus, it was nice to get to know some of the locals and push ourselves out of our comfort zone a bit. The other couples staying there were super cool and down-to-earth, we stayed up drinking wine with them after dinner a couple times, swapping stories... It was so fun!

My husband and I talk about how we would love to go back there someday with a bunch of other couples and rent the whole place out. It would be like we had our own mansion with a private chef, concierge, etc. Dreamy. The pool is great, the view is gorgeous, and there is lots of wildlife. We went for a walk and saw a ton of Howler monkeys.

The bumpy road you have to take to get there that everyone seems to mention is... well, bumpy. But that's Costa Rica for you, there are lots of unpaved roads and it's worth each and every bump once you arrive.

Go to Los Altos. If you're cool, you'll love it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana C, General Manager at Los Altos de Eros, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for acknowledging our amazing staff...they have been here for years. They love working here and that's what you feel as a guest. We sincerely hope you come back with several other couples and take over the whole place...remember, now we have 6 rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent 4 days at Los Altos in mid august for our honeymoon. we booked the trip based on the tripadvisor reviews which i must say are spot on. we loved the property, the view and overall intimate set up of Los Altos. what really sets this place apart though are Calvin, Ari, Tatiana and the entire staff who do everything possible to make you feel at home. The food was outstanding, the spa was very good, and the service was off the charts. whether it was the cooking class with Chef Monserrat., the morning walks with Cocoa, the family style dinners or heading into town for some surfing and fun, the overall stay was wonderful and we cant wait to go back. it was such a great stay that we cancelled our last night at our other hotel (supposed to be one of best in Costa Rica) in order to come back to Los Altos for the final night.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed good. was hardly ever in room but would recommend the rooms closest to the spa as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana C, General Manager at Los Altos de Eros, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We love it when guests leave here to go to another resort and then show up back here the next day because there is just no comparison ! You can check out but you can't leave LADE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Altos de Eros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos de Eros

Address: Spa de Eros, Canafistula, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel, spa and yoga retreat located "somewhere between heaven and earth", and only 20 minutes outside of Tamarindo, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Los Altos de Eros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos De Eros Hotel Tamarindo
Los Altos De Eros Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Altos de Eros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.