We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, excellent price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna Llena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luna Llena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Luna Llena
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Real | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Great resort, excellent price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

For a personalized unique experience at Playa Tamarindo, Costa Rica, stay at this family owned eco-friendly resort located only two blocks away from the beach and main street in Tamarindo. The bungalows are awesome, two-floor, with dual A/C, the king bed has memory-foam mattress and pillows, the best bed ever! Big bathroom, nice furnished kitchen, big fridge, microwave, gas stove, cable TV, free costarican or continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, nice pool with bar-restaurant, very nice staff, beautiful landscaping (plants have popular and scientific names). I am very picky, but could not find a single negative issue. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    36
    7
    11
    3
See reviews for
39
35
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay here based on the pictures. It was kind if kitschy and cute... Totally our style. We loved that it had a restaurant and a wet bar. Sold. I was also excited about the "orthopedic" bed.
So the property is pretty adorable. However when we where there the evening restaurant wasn't open and neither was the wet bar. The tico breakfast however was actually the best we had the entire time we where in Costa Rica.
The room was covered in ants but I figured given where we at as long as they didn't get in bed with us I could live with them. Not to mention when we finally left this place and checked into another hotel the ants where just as bad there.
We where supposed to stay for 7 days but ultimately checked out after 2 days. The bed was absolutely the most uncomfortable thing I have ever slept on in my life. I woke up so sore and in so much pain there was no way I could stay for another night.
Ultimately it just wasn't what we where looking for on our long stay in Costa Rica

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It has been a while ago since we went here, November 2007 but I wanted to include this wonderful place in my reviews as it is a place to remember. Cabannas are very practically set up, breakfast is very good - lots of nice fresh fruits in the morning. Tamarindo is amazing, with it's jungle. howling monkeys and beautiful beaches!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

No love here. We stayed here for two nights as part of a week long trip through Costa Rica. Perhaps, for the price it is adequate. The room was clean but insects were a problem. The lack of privacy was annoying and the bed was uncomfortable, lacking a mattress pad. The lock on the door was not reassuring. The pool bar is a fun touch and the bartender was friendly. We did enjoy the monkeys who made regular appearances.
The Tamarindo area was a bit touristy for our tastes but many folks would love it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

When we got to the front desk there was nobody to great us. We had to wait like 15min until somebody came. The rooms are ok (cozy somehow) but the matress are really hard and the pillows really low, therefore is difficult to fall sleep. There are red ants walking in the walls, but they are not sooo many as a lady from a previous review wrote. The pool looks dirty eventhough they clean it every morning, the water looks full of sunblock. The breakfast is not good. You can choose between a Tico breakfast fullll of fat or a Continental breakfast (2 slices of bread and butter). The service is not good ( the employees need some customer service trainning). BAD SERVICE, BAD FOOD, GREAT LOCATION SURROUNDED BY NATURE.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISSOULA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here in bungalow #2 for a week in early March 2013 and really enjoyed it. Such a friendly French? family runs the place. The owner is an activist for the monkey population and their sad interface with all the dangerous electrical line so tempting to run across. The breakfasts were tasty, in a lovely setting. Pool was very clean and inviting. Nice and cool with all the trees, complete with daily howler monkeys. Seemed very clean and we felt our rental car would be safe in the parking lot. Desk and restaurant staff was very helpful and firendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We originally found this hotel on tripadvisor. Didn't know what to expect.
We had a small hut - with an upstairs - it was very cozy.
The beach, as advertised, was a mere five minute walk from the hotel.
Toni and Angela, at the office, were very forthcoming with needed information.
They helped us organize our trip back to San Jose.
The lady who cleaned our hut - Marina - was very discreet and very helpful
as we only knew a few basic words of Spanish.
We know we will go back and are not afraid to recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luna Llena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Llena

Also Known As:
Luna Llena Hotel
Luna Llena Tamarindo
Address: Calle Real | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Llena 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Luna Llena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna Llena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.