We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capitan Suizo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capitan Suizo to your Saves list
Hotel Capitan Suizo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local Airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5159, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Enterprise, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at Capitan Suizo the first week of July 2014. The grounds are beautiful and so close to the beach, you never want to leave. The rooms were spacious and very clean and the breakfast / restaurant is pretty good (watch out for the big blue birds at breakfast!). The concierge, as well as the rest of the staff were very helpful as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in a non-AC room and it could get quite warm during the day. However, it was comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    128
    25
    14
    12
See reviews for
157
335
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Capitan Suizo is a charming, beautiful, storybook getaway. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay and honeymoon was unforgettable! The bungalows are amazing! They are charming and romantic! You have your own private piece of paradise! The rooms are meant to be charming not the typical marble and granite, but a rustic charm. Despite fancy new bathrooms and furniture it is clean! The animals while a little stinky were so fun to locate. The staff was always cleaning the sidewalks! Where else can you wake up to monkeys outside your room?!? The service was fabulous! I highly recommend a romantic candlelight dinner! The food was delicious and service was fabulous! Diego and Catherine went above and beyond to accommodate our needs at the front desk! The location is close enough to walk the beach to Tamirindo but far enough to not hear the hustle and bustle. The beach is nestled in a perfect cove with fun trees and rocks to one side and sand stretching to Tamirindo on the other. Waves are awesome! The sunsets are amazing! If you would like a charming, romantic, clean, and friendly place you will enjoy this boutique hotel! We will be back one day!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Our family (3 older teenagers) just got home from our 1st trip to Costa Rica. After 5 days of adventure in Arenal and Monteverde, we wanted some relaxation on the beach before returning to the USA. Capitan Suizo delivered exactly what we were looking for. The entire staff was extremely nice and always offered a Pura Vida or a buen dia! We had connecting rooms not too far from the lobby with a nice 2nd floor garden view. The rooms are very big and the balcony is very nice in the early morning and evenings. We had dinner at the restaurant our final night and the food was very good. The breakfasts were good but not great. The location is excellent. On a quiet part of the beach with a short walk to the action of Tamarindo. The pool area is nice but the beach area is wonderful. You get to see monkeys and lots of birds while staying here. The sunsets are beautiful while sitting on the beach with a pre-dinner cocktail. I would highly recommend a stay here and look forward to returning next time in CR.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our final three nights of our honeymoon and we wished that we had had more time! The staff were wonderful and helpful. The rooms were large, beautiful and very comfortable. The restaurant was delicious for both breakfast and dinner. Watch out for the birds at breakfast! They will steal your food when you're not looking. The hotel is immediately off of the beach on the quiet end of town. Walking along the beach into Tamarindo was always pleasant. We recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small, off-the-beaten-path retreat!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

4-day stay on Tamarindo Beach was an incredible time due to the accommodations at Hotel Capitan Suizo. We were fortunate enough to book a bungalow and it was incredible. The room was beautiful and had a feel of your own home away from home with private eating area with a view of the beach and wildlife. Food and drinks are top notch and all freshly made. Can't say enough good things about the staff as they were always helpful and ready to make your day with a warm smile and laugh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks and loved every minute of it! The property is close enough to town to be a comfortable walk but far enough away to feel as if you were isolated. Perfect. The staff was wonderful and the food was outstanding. In fact, I ate nearly every dinner there. I would stay there time and time again. The bungalow I had was immaculate and the outdoor shower under the banana tree was the bomb!!! If you are planning a visit to this part of Costa Rica this is the best place in I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow if you can...so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just returned a few weeks ago from Hotel Capitan Suizo celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful time. The accommodations were beautiful. Wild life all around. Our room was smack right on the beach. Everyone was so nice from Max & Juan Carlos, and all the girls in the restaurant. The food was great. Rosa was very knowledgeable about all the side trips that you could take, as well as setting all of our trips up, Rosa also helped us arrange the cab back & forth from the airport. She was a tremendous help. The beach & the ocean was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in it for hours. You can also walk to the town from the beach or take the main road as well. What I really appreciated was that there was no television or clock in our room. You can really disconnect from the outside world and really relax. Perfect location. We had a blast! We will differently be back to Hotel Capitan Suizo.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have AC, so if you are a AC lover, you must ask for a room with AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local Airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5159, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach Hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capitan Suizo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.