We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capitan Suizo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capitan Suizo to your Saves list
Hotel Capitan Suizo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local Airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5159, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Paradise in the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Very impressed. The Casita's are fantastic. Service was wonderful .I am coming back and would highly recommend to everyone. Located on the beach!! Great location.. All the employees treated us like family

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    128
    25
    14
    12
See reviews for
157
336
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Capitan Suizio is one the finest places Ive ever stayed. the staff is outstanding, friendly, helpful, and always take the time to help you in any way they can. The beach and location are ideal for families and for surfing. Food and Bar are also excellent. I cant say enough good things about my experience there, and my family has visited 3 years in a row. We will be back for sure. Its great to see the same staff members back, year after year, which speaks to how well run and how caring the entire hotel is with regards to their guests and employees.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our family loved this hotel! We had two rooms, one right on the beach. The rooms were nice, beds were comfortable and both were in a cozy-romantic settings. The staff was very friendly and always accommodating. The breakfast buffet was delicious and had quite a variety of fruits, bread, juices, etc. We loved the howler monkeys each day and had a blast on the beach. We even tried surfing! We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The beach side rooms were great with an outdoor shower to rinse off in-between ocean dips and also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I just returned from a 3 day stay at the capitan suizo. Here is a quick rundown..

Rooms- We stayed in the Oceanside bungalow which is literally 50 yards from the beach. The rooms were on par with what u would expect for the price...great beds but shower hot water could have been better.
Bar/pool - 5 steps from pool to bar with monkeys overhead the entire time...could not have been more ideal
Beach - gray sand and long shallow beach perfect for kids. Also great for surfing
Entertainment - evening dinner, BBQ and various activities throughout the week
Internet - wireless is new and speed could be improved
Staff - rosa in activities and all the ladies at the bar/restaurant were so fun and hospitable.
Safety - always felt safe even with doors open at night next to the beach but travel at night in groups

Great place would return...one of the best in tamarindo

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

It is not if, but when we return to Costa Rica, the Capitan Suizo is where we will stay. My wife and I loved the location with its lush landscaping, gorgeous sandy beach, a little off the beaten track yet only a short lovely walk along the beach to the center of town. The hotel was very comfortable, relaxing, had excellent service and the staff friendly and accommodating. We had a beach front bungalow with a beautiful view, excellent A/C, and a sooo comfortable bed. If you like to surf and kayak as we do, it is a great location. We really enjoyed the casual beach life with the beautiful mornings and evenings. The food at the hotel, the outdoor restaurant , was amazingly good, both breakfast and dinner. We had a great time and it was a great trip. We thank everyone at the Capitan Suizo for making our stay a wonderful experience .

Room Tip: Beach bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place is the best. We arrived to Capitan Suizo towing a boat (from the states). The hotel happily secured parking for the boat. Accommodations were top notch-stayed 10 years previously and had the same experience. I had to print out many papers at the front desk-they also did happily. To top it off, I left my iPod and headphones in the safe when I checked out. Employees immediately contacted me on the road-I was too far away to return. Raul asked what hotels I would be staying at and arranged to send my belongings ahead to a hotel. Raul also let me know who was bringing the iPod and headphones (a tour company that would be going to that area) and then who AT&T he hotel my belongings were left with. The belongings were at the hotel I arrived at just as he said. Talk about wonderful service. Back to the hotel-the complementary breakfast was good. You can get coffee beginning at 6 a.m.-very welcome for his coffee addict. The location of this hotel is great-right on the beach. Howler monkeys and iguanas on the roof. Beautiful manicured grounds. Ping pong table on grounds. Lots of chairs and tables for sitting around. It is an easy walk into town from here. A/C works great in the room. Can only say positive things. When we travel back to Costa Rica we will return to Capitan Suizo. A big thanks to Raul and all the front desk people-they were all wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We travelled here with our 2 teenagers. The hotel is amazing, the surroundings are green and lush. The monkeys were a daily highlight for us. The pool area was very tranquil and peaceful.

We had interconnecting rooms, 23, 24, they were perfect for us, lovely big bed with quality linen. The bathroom was adequate with plenty of storage for clothes and luggage.

We are animal lovers, so along with the monkeys we enjoyed seeing the raccoons, lizards and beautiful birds.

The hotel is off the beaten track and away from the bustle of the town, but close enough to walk into Tamarindo if you please.

My husband and son surf, so the location was perfect, we hired a car to enable us to visit other surf spots in the area.

The staff at the hotel are really friendly particularly Max, Eddie & Ivan. Whilst we were there my son had a cold, so Eddie made an amazing concoction for him which soothed the symptoms.

The evening meal in the hotel was of amazing quality and variety.

We will be returning!!'

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local Airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5159, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach Hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capitan Suizo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.