We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capitan Suizo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capitan Suizo to your Saves list
Hotel Capitan Suizo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local Airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5159, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

this place was just what we hoped for! the bungalow accommodation was excellent, and the pool and beach were heavenly. We enjoyed the food but most of all, the care and attention of the staff. The service was first rate and made our experience delightful and one to be treasured. And I don't give compliments easily!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    128
    25
    14
    11
See reviews for
157
334
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Signes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I , travelling within Costa Rica, without making prior hotel arrangements, ended up in Tamarindo this November '13. We passed the hotel Capitan Suizo and yes they had still a villa available in a marvellous garden , overlooking the Pacific Ocean.

The best discussion we ever made, and although we planned a one night stay, decided to stay 4 nights. What an experience, an hotel belonging to a very extraordinary/active lady Mrs.Schmit.

Her life philosophy is to preserve nature, animals and kindness, with a staff she trained to be extremely friendly, with the general manger coming to the breakfast and dinner tables for a short talk.

The highlight, for me personally, was that animals walk around freely on the property and I had the privileged pleasure to play every day - In The Lobby - with a Racoon, named Sana.

We liked the hotel and surroundings so much that we decided to rent long term a villa next to the hotel and will immigrate to Costa Rica in March '14.

Tamardindo the place to be and certainly a stay at Captan Suizo a must.

Robby & Ricky Hendrickx
1440 Route De Méounes
83870 Signes
Provence/Côte D'Azur (VAR)
France
robbyhendrickx@gmail.com

Room Tip: To take one of the 8 villa's available would be heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

An amazing hotel! We stayed in a bungalow and we so content with every aspect of it. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. We can't thank Max, Ivan and Juan Carlos enough for all their attentiveness throughout our stay. They always have a smile and their service is was outstanding. The owner Ursula is available all the time, and is very welcoming. We had the buffet breakfast every morning, which never got boring for us at all. We also ate at the hotel restaurant for lunch and dinner quite a lot because the food was so amazing. We loved having all the different animals walking around, and with sunshine during the day, we had spectacular thunder storms and rain at night that lulled us to sleep. Beautiful walks to other restaurants and town along the beach. Zip lining, horseback riding, hiking, massages, kayaking, and surfing....all so wonderful. We dream of going back someday to El Capitan Suizo and Tamarindo!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

A beautiful boutique hotel, with the ocean at a stone's throw away.

I stayed at Capitan Suizo with friends on a business trip. We were greeted by the owner Ursula, which was always present and smiling.

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, which provided lots of relaxation at the outskirts of Tamarindo. Service was excellent. Our room had a wonderful view of the ocean. Plenty of comfy places to lounge from room to patio to pool to beach.

We had a rental car and enjoyed our independence for excursions. The walk into town on the dusty road would not be very enjoyable but walking along the beach is great during the day.

The free breakfast buffet was excellent. A wide variety to choose from, just watch out for the birds when you getting up to get a drink, they will take your food.

There is absolutely nothing to complain about when it comes to Capitan Suizo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We loved this hotel!!! My husband and I spent a week here in November 2013. The people were so nice and helpful, the rooms were very large and quiet and clean, the air conditioning worked well (a little noisy) and we couldn't have survived without it. The grounds were spectacular - truly a jungle right on the beach. The pet raccoons and cats were sweet, the families of howler monkeys that would swing through the property daily made it exciting, and the iguanas and birds kept you on your toes! We took advantage of the breakfast buffet each morning and the fresh fruit and pastries were excellent - and if you ask them, they will make you eggs and bacon or an omelet. The pool is large and clean and never crowded. Not much service for cervezas on the beach - but the bar is only a few steps away. Rosa, the concierge, is friendly and very helpful. The location is prime - far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Tamarindo but a quick stroll down the beach. You can walk about 2 miles in either direction to rivers and beautiful beaches. We walked home every night after dark on the beach and felt very safe. The moon was full so it was bright for a few nights, but definitely bring flashlights otherwise. Our only complaint had to do with the fact that our neighbors were smokers and every time we were on our balcony, they would come out to have a cigarette and we would have to go inside our room because we couldn't stand the smoke. But that is a minor complaint compared to all the things we loved....would definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: loved room 32 upstairs - great view from 2nd floor to sit on balcony and enjoy the jungle. Make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

In the past, we have not been the type to take regular vacations and this was the first one we took since we had kids 11 years ago. My wife and I both agree that we will be starting a new tradition by returning to the same location and same hotel every year. What makes this hotel unique is that it is just far enough South from the busy part of the beach (about a 25 minute walk, but it feels like 10 minutes) that you feel like you are isolated from the busy areas. And it also feels like it is the last hotel on the South end of Tamarindo cove. The great thing is they don't have TV's or internet in the rooms which forces you to unplug from the world. They do have free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby though. Their web site may confuse you into thinking that only the ground floor units have air conditioning. The reality is that all units have air conditioning, you just have to pay a bit extra for it (We recommend paying extra for the A/C). The hotel literature says they like to balance the number of families that bring their kids with just couples, but it definitely had far more couples than families with kids (I'm sure this varies throughout the year though). The lobby was a great place to hang out that had raccoons during the late and early hours that would walk right up to you and there were a few local cats that liked to lounge around as well. I saw some other reviews that stated the hotel staff ignores you or doesn't appear to care. I think people are confusing this with their belief that they are there if you need them, but they don't want you to feel like you are being greeted at Home Depot 35 times a day (Could you imagine being at work and saying hello to your colleagues every time you walked by them?). We were fortunate to have a surfing guide by the name of Andre who is a local that can teach you how to surf or take you to the best, hard to find, surf spots. Andre will be my guide every year (andrebastasch09@gmail.com).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the very South end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We spent 5 nights here in early Nov. 2013. It was relaxing and serene, right on the beach. The hotel is a 15 - 20 minute walk along the beach into the town, something we did twice a day while we were there. We could have grabbed a cab but it was so peaceful to stroll in along the beach. We were approached by people selling things on the beach of course, but they were all respectful of 'No, gracias'. Our room was an upstairs corner room; it was clean and comfortable. The safe was large enough to hold all my camera equipment, which was a lot. One issue with a window was taken care of quickly. There is not wifi in the room but we were on vacation and visiting the lobby once or twice a day to check in was fine! Our upstairs unit did have an A/C unit and we were very happy with the open, bright interior. The grounds are fabulous too - plants and animals galore.

I really only ate at the in house restaurant during the breakfast buffet. We were pleasantly surprised with the array of fresh fruits, juices, breads and standard breakfast foods offered. Simple but tasty. Warning about the magpie jays - they are very bold, saucy birds and will try to steal food right off your plate.

We also used Rosa, the concierge, to book several excursions - zipline, turtle nesting and estuary tour. I ended up being very glad that we did. Our zipline tour was rained out after driving all the way out there and she took care of getting us a cash refund.

Loved it; planning our return!

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs; it was bright and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local Airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5159, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach Hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capitan Suizo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.