We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Euro Eco-friendy vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capitan Suizo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Capitan Suizo to your Saves list
Hotel Capitan Suizo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local Airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5159, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The perfect Euro Eco-friendy vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are looking for a pampered 5 stars lodge on the beach this will not be your place. If you want to enjoy Tamarindo in a Eco-friendly way with a very Costa Rican accent then you will LOVE this place. The Landscape is Magnificent and well kept, tropical-looking. You will enjoy dinner surrounded by nature, looking at Iguanas, Monkeys, Birds, Racoons, etc. Expect to pay US$10-20/entree, cocktails are around $5-8. If you have children they will enjoy the animals. Swimming pool is immersed into a Tropical Vegetation theme and you will relax. In order to enjoy this you will have to put up with so so AC systems (rooms are not completely insulated), no TV's (which I consider a plus). For the internet Addicts, there is good Wi-Fi at the reception. Parking is available across the street. Staff is friendly and the majority are bi-lingual. The Beach is the best in this area, clean, fine sand, waves are not that strong, you can access other restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    145
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
190
383
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After staying in a remote jungle location for 4 days, 3 of us on vacation wanted to experience another kind of scene. That we did! While I feel the reviews on Trip Advisor were really quite accurate (good and bad), we knew what to expect when we arrived. I guess the only thing I was not prepared for, was that it was a larger resort than I thought; meaning the staff really catered to the "touristy" type. The music at night made me feel like I could be in Mexico, on a cruise ship, or anywhere tropical - alright, however I am a "blend with the locals" type of traveler, so coupled with the food (beef stroganoff, ravioli, other American fare), it was hard to decipher we were in Costa Rica at times. I was also surprised at the cost of the meals (~30/plate for their special & ~$10 for an adult drink). We found a nice little tucked away restaurant off one of the main roads that was really yummy and reasonably priced one of the nights.

Overall, having the long, clean stretch of beach in Tamarindo was nice to experience. The resort staff was extremely friendly and polite which was great, but I might prefer to stay a little further away from the chaos another time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bungalow 4, right on the beach. Yes, there were Ants, but it really wasn't a big d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My family just returned from an absolutely amazing 8 day trip to Costa Rica. We began our stay with three nights in a bungalow at Hotel Capitan Suizo. This hotel was exactly what I hoped it would be - serene, welcoming and authentic. Our bungalow (#7) was beautiful and very true to the photos on line. It was spacious with comfortable bedding and a gorgeous, functional terrace. There was a hammock and two steamer loungers on one side and a small table with two chairs on the other. We used the space very much during our stay. The bungalow was very private and peaceful. It was amazing to sit on the terrace or inside and watch the wildlife. And boy is there wildlife! More on that later.

The rest of the resort is beautiful. This is not a traditional hotel. There are a few rooms in the main building (which is essentially just the lobby, gift shop and those rooms). The rest of the resort is a series of very private bungalows and a 4 bedroom house orientated around the pool/restaurant. The gardens are left very natural and they are beautiful. They are also home to diverse wildlife. The pool is nestled in the garden just off the beach. It's a tranquil and lovely setting. My kids loved it. Yes, there are a lot of leaves falling in the pool all day which is why they are cleaning the pool all day, but we enjoyed it immensely.

There is wildlife EVERYWHERE. Monkeys were spotted multiple times every day. We could float in the pool watching them playing in the trees - magical. There were iguanas and coatis, geckos and Oracas (the blue parrot-like birds that are in all the photos). Occasionally the staff hung a bunch of bananas near the restaurant attracting all sorts of visitors. While the birds are persistent during breakfast, all of the guests thoroughly enjoyed them during our stay.

The staff at the resort were absolutely charming. Before we arrived Jorge provided excellent advice on our entire trip and arranged our drivers from the airport and then from Tamarindo to Monteverde.

While at the resort we found the restaurant staff to be gracious and friendly. Especially Juan Carlos. Food is good. Not great. The menu could use a bit more diversity for lunch, but the quality is fine. Tamarindo offers so many choices and it is a very easy and safe 10 minute walk away.

The beach is GORGEOUS. There is a sunset path down the beach to the left. Amazing view. The water was clean and warm and the surf was fantastic. We hired surf instructors from Arenas adventures. They were amazing.

Bring flashlights if you are going to walk to town. It gets dark in Costa Rica around 5:45 year round and there is little to no artificial light on the beach between the hotel and town.

Overall, we really found this hotel to be enchanting. It is not a high-end luxury resort. If you want that go up the coast to the Four Seasons. This is a unique, beautiful, well-run resort that offers a real sense of what Costa Rica is about - nature and Pura Vida.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the bungalows. We had #7 which had AC but was not beachfront. It was a slice of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Love this place and Tamarindo as a whole. Went years ago for our honeymoon and found the people and setting absolutely beautiful. Great beach, bar, walk to town, nice pool, monkeys, iguanas, etc...
Great food great cocktails, pleasant staff, hammocks..
Rooms were nice but we didnt spend too much time inside.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 days/nights at the Hotel Capitan Suizo earlier this month (April 2013) after spending 4 days/nights in Arenal/La Fortuna. To say we were disappointed is putting it mildly. We expected a beautiful bungalow on the beach, based on the high reviews and rankings on Trip Advisor. Instead, the hotel looked like it used to be very nice, but is now somewhat run down. Our bungalow did not have air conditioning - but had an air conditioning unit. It's one thing not to have air conditioning, it's another simply not to fix it. The bottom of our tub was warped and a lightbulb was coming out of the socket. Unlike the places we stayed in Arenal (for less money), the food was sub-par, including the limited selections at breakfast, none of which were made to order (although it was included, which was nice). There was no outdoor jacuzzi, the only wi fi was in the lobby, and while we ran into our share of bugs in Costa Rica, they seemed everywhere here. They cleaned the pool during the day while we were laying there, which was odd. To be clear, the staff was very friendly and clearly we were paying for the direct access to the beach. Also, you can't beat the nature - we saw monkeys, kawatees, and iguana on the property, and beautiful blue jays that perched on our chair at breakfast. I was looking for a boutique, so I wasn't expecting the Four Seasons - but this one just didn't live up to my expectations or look like the pictures online.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sigrid32, owner family at Hotel Capitan Suizo, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sarah G
Thank you very much for your review. We respect your point of view and we are sorry to hear that our hotel didn’t fulfil your expectations. Expectations can be subjective, as can be seen for example by a comment posted on April 23rd by a guest who stayed in the exact same bungalow 7 as you did. With the air conditioning there seems to be a misunderstanding. We offer bungalows with air conditioning and bungalows with ocean breeze. Your online reservation was made for a bungalow with ocean breeze. For this reason an AC control was not given to you on arrival, which might have led you to believe that your air conditioning unit was not working. The following is provided on our webpage about the bungalows: ‘The 7 bungalows are individually set into the nature. They are all equipped with air conditioning and two ceiling fans, one in the sleeping area and the other in the living area. Originally these units were designed to keep the inside cool through natural air circulation. If someone would like to enjoy the balmy evenings and wake up to the singing of the birds, the howl of the monkeys and the roaring of the sea in the morning, we are happy for our guests to enjoy these natural beauties for a better price’. Had you let reception know that you wanted AC, this could have been organised without delay. Although your expectations were not fulfilled in some ways, we are very grateful to hear your kind remarks about the friendliness of our staff, the wildlife at the hotel and the direct access to the beach.
Yours sincerely, Sigrid Engel – owner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I am in shock this hotel is well reviewed on Trip Advisor. The hotel was a huge disappointment. The rooms were terrible -- very run down, bugs all over the place, no TV, chipped paint, old linens, etc. My son is covered in bug bites from our night at the Capitan. While I am all for embracing nature while in Costa Rica, having raccoons crawl around the restaurant at dinner was just too much (not to mention birds eating off your plate at breakfast). I would definitely avoid this hotel & I don't think Tamarindo is a great place to bring kids -- the beach was beautiful but the town was lacking. We were harassed by vendors when we went out to lunch which was uncomfortable and the town lacked any real charm. Also, be vigilant about sharks -- I was told they did not come in and sure enough when we were surfing, there was one swimming around. A local surfer advised us to get out of the water asap! I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, it was terrible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sigrid32, owner family at Hotel Capitan Suizo, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Spencer105
Regarding your review we feel a bit lost. We are a small hotel and in general we know our guests personally. However, in your case, even after searching our records trying to find out more information about you as our guest and your stay, we could not find anything and therefore unfortunately we don’t know to whom we are answering.
Nevertheless, reading your comments you convinced us, that we definitely are not the right hotel for you and neither is Tamarindo the right place for you to visit. By the way, we tried to find someone down town who could give us some more information about the shark you saw but in the whole area there was no one who could confirm it.
In general we take our guests comments and suggestions given to us verbally, or written in our questionnaires or on Tripadvisor, seriously in order to improve our services and because we want happy guests who are planning to come back and are recommending us to others. Right now we have people staying with us who are coming every year and several guests who are here because of friends who stayed with us in the past. Today they enjoyed the warm sun, the gentle see breeze, the great beach, successful surf lessons and many guests took photos of the howler monkeys which were resting in the tree in front of the reception and from the green iguana that came down from the tree close to the pool to sunbathe on a stone.
It is unfortunate and we feel sorry that you had such bad experiences and we hope that for your next vacation you will find a place that will fullfil your expectations and where you can enjoy your vacation fully.
Sincerely, Sigrid Engel – owner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Capitan Suizo with three other couples and had a fantastic time in Tamarindo and the hotel. The breakfast in the morning was great with lots of fresh fruit and tasty "typical" food. We had a room with AC and it was very comfortable and clean. The fact that there was no TV in the room was not an issue, in fact I didn't even notice it. The WiFi in the lobby was quick and reliable. It was not a big deal sitting in the lobby area to use it, in fact it was rather nice sitting out there enjoying the hotel grounds while surfing or skyping. The hotel is located on the best part of the beach and it is a VERY easy walk into town along the beach. I would definitely stay here again and wold recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local Airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5159, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach Hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capitan Suizo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.