We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on a great beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capitan Suizo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Capitan Suizo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Capitan Suizo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local Airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5159, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Tamarindo
canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel on a great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Pros:
The grounds are lovely and feel natural.
Very nice pool
The restaurant is great for lunch
snack or a fancy dinner
on a great, beautiful sandy beach
Ample shade for the beach chairs
AMAZING BF buffet with great selection for all
Service from the entire staff is unbelievably good. They are caring and energetic - it looks like they are really happy there.
Rooms are big and spacious with a porch and comfy seats
We saw tons of wildlife at the hotel grounds


Cons:
The rooms are old and outdated
The AC is noisy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    115
    25
    14
    11
See reviews for
131
301
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from our trip to Costa Rica and we're already planning our return. We will definitely be staying at Hotel Capitan Suizo again. The hotel is located directly on a beautiful each, the staff is very friendly and accommodating, and the room is exceptionally clean. The complimentary breakfast had everything we expected. We didn't get time to experience the spa or much of the restaurant (besides for breakfast and poolside drinks) but we heard great reviews. It's also in walking distance to the town of Tamarindo. There is absolutely nothing to complain about when it comes to this hotel!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We loved staying at Capitan Suizo. We had a ground floor room with A/C and a patio. The grounds are beautifully landscaped complete with monkeys, birds and lizards. I loved the visiting mapache (raccoons) in the evening who come to eat and the baby porcupine who also comes to eat in the evening. I got to feed papaya to the baby porcupine! There are also several resident cats and some visiting dogs.
The pool was awesome and literally steps from the beach. It was so amazing having breakfast so close to the beach. You can also eat at the tables on the beach. Food at the hotel was good as well. Loved the bar and the drinks and the hotel staff.
Tamarindo itself is a fun town with many choices for restaurants and shopping.
I would not hesitate to recommend Capitan Suizo or return for another stay. Truly relaxing and beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Beautiful room, nice staff, in the middle of nature - you can watch monkeys, lizards, birds, squirrels,.... while having an EXCELLENT breakfast! One of the nicest hotels I´ve ever been to, the price is totally worth it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sigrid32, owner family at Hotel Capitan Suizo, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear guests
Thank you to all our guests who, over the last few weeks, took the time and effort to write their valuable comments about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We really value and appreciate all your reviews and kind comments. We are very pleased to read that you had a nice holiday at our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our beautiful location, the tropical gardens, the plants and trees as well as the amazing wildlife, the comfortable rooms, beautiful beach, the overall cleanliness, great food, as well as our friendly staff and the excellent service they provide. We are very happy when our dedication and efforts pay off with happy guests! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you all back to Capitan Suizo very soon. Sigrid Engel – owner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in July with our 3 kids...14, 12 and 9 years old. Loved it. Room 73... Beachfront...huge sliding door facing beach. No tvs on property which was nice. Kids constantly back and forth from pool to beach. Great service.

Despite it being "rainy season" we had great weather the whole time...highs around 90 but nice and breezy. They've done great job building hotel in the trees that were there...there are wild monkeys, exotic birds, iguanas, etc. beautiful landscaping. 10 minute walk down beach to Tamarindo where we took 2 hour surf lesson with Tamarindo Surf School.

Big auto mercado supermarket as entering Tamarindo from east where you can stock up. We had car but easy to get around with taxis.

About 50 minutes from Liberia airport.

Great meals at dragonfly, noguis and las baulas (thin crust pizza).

We enjoyed pool/beach so much we didn't do any other activities (rented boogie boards for 10 bucks a day from Tamarindo surf shop)...saved those for arenal where we headed next.

Nice free breakfast buffet at hotel...watch out for the birds...will take your food!

Not cheap (500 per night approx)...but felt was worth it.

Room Tip: Room 73 was big enough for our family of 5.... King size bed and two pullout sofas. AC worked well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky, usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights here last Feb. 2012, after leaving the small town of Samara. We loved the atmosphere and the hotel itself was just awesome!!! There were many animals wandering about that the hotel staff takes very good care of, it really did make our stay quite interesting, there were many monkeys, iguanas, raccoon family, etc. We fed the animals and learned a lot about them! This was just an added plus to our lovely surroundings. The grounds are out of this world gorgeous and well maintained, the pool area is beautiful, and really everything you would expect of a small resort. It felt very intimate, yet had all the amenities of a larger resort. We thoroughly enjoyed the beach as well, perfect waves for surfing right outside our door. The room was beautiful as well, I liked the set up with the bathroom facing the street side, and our bedroom facing the beautiful resort, we were on the 2nd floor with a lovely balcony as well. We did not encounter any bugs in our room or anything at all which is a plus after some stories I've read about Costa Rica! It was very very clean!!!! We enjoyed a lovely show on Friday night with a really good barbecue dinner as well, that was lots of fun. One night we ate dinner all alone at a candlelit table on the beach, that was unbelievably beautiful, romantic and memorable!!! The food was always great, enjoyed all drinks as well!! Service was impeccable throughout, would definitely return, as we are planning to in the very near future!!! Oh, also loved the cool surfer town of Tamarindo, it had a cool vibe, really interesting looking places to eat but we didn't get to ck. much out b/c we weren't there long!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Capitan Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitan Suizo

Address: Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local Airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5159, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#2 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Capitan Suizo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitan Suizo is an environmentally conscious and future oriented beach Hotel. It is an ideal place for relaxation that carries a tropical ambiance and lies amongst a lush garden. With a discreet elegance and a touch of Swiss quality that blends with an informal and joyful atmosphere, Capitan Suizo is an oasis where it is implicit that nature and animals are integrated with love and respect. Capitan Suizo is located directly on the beach in a privileged area 1 km outside of town and at the end of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Capitan Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitan Suizo Hotel
Capitan Suizo Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capitan Suizo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.