We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Macondo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villas Macondo to your Saves list
Villas Macondo
Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Budget Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Good option for the price. We stayed in a 2 level townhouse style apartment. Kitchen and sitting area downstairs and bathroom and bedroom upstairs. It had all the basics and was clean. Someone else mentioned luxury in a review, I would not say this is a luxury option... But everyone has different definitions I guess.

Pros:
Good location, we parked our car in the gate and never needed it to go eat, beach, etc.
Good price
Security seemed good
Pool
Nice bedroom with view of the pool

Cons:
Can be loud in the area
Surrounded by a bunch of other buildings/places
Rooms could have used some updates but nothing major. (2012)

Overall a good option if you are looking for something in town and low-cost.

I also had a nice size spider in my shoe that I almost did not notice before putting my foot in it. Obviously this can happen anywhere but its a good reminder to check your shoes anywhere in CR for spiders and other things.

Here in Jan 2012

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    70
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
73
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Villas Macondo was everything we were looking for when starting our vacation. Whether we were lounging by the pool, sitting on our porch, or cooking in the communal kitchen, it was always the perfect way to unwind.

The hotel is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Tamarindo, but close enough to walk a short distance to all amenities. There is also a grocery store and laundrymat right next store.

Tom and his team make it a point to ensure their property is cared for. They are there to help you with whatever you need. The security is top notch, and we never felt worried about anything being taken.

If you are looking for a true communal "hostel" experience, this is not your place. The rooms offer privacy, and the kitchen does not offer a communal eating area. This place would be suitable for families and couples, but might be lonely for solo travellers looking to interact with people. That being said, we did meet some lovely people during our stay.

I would highly recommend this place for those who are looking for a cheap, and lovely stay in tamarindo.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are more expensive but have a/c and ALL the channels ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I have stayed at world class resorts before but we're looking for something different on this trip. After San Jose, we spend a couple days in Tamarindo. We found the hotel from a friend who lives in Costa Rica. This is the place the Ticos stay when they go to Tamarindo.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I loved this place, not only were the Cabanas large, clean and comfortable - I just loved my outdoors private porch with hammock and out door furniture. The friendly staff were amazing...Sandra was so helpful and friendly from the beginning.... I can't wait to go back with my son, pura vida!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This place was great just right of the main road ,walking distance to the beach , clean , the staff was really nice great value for the money would definately stay here again if i return to Tamarindo good for all kinds of travelers , family, couples , group of friends

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This property is SO clean both outside and in the rooms with great landscaping and everything you need inside- a little safe haven from the hustle of Tamarindo.

A friend and I needed a break and more privacy from the hostel living in town at $15/n pp so we upgraded to something just a bit more- staying here and sharing a room at $45/n w/out air conditioning. We're glad we made the move. Customer service is great, it feels safe, you get your own porch w/chairs and hammock. Location is excellent, it's just off the main road, and close to everything in town- Tamarindo is very small this is quite the central location. We used the communal kitchen which was equipped with a large fridge and basic pots and pans. Certainly not the full kitchen I'm used to at home in terms of cooking utensils and electrics, but very good for what we needed. They provide free excellent Costa Rican coffee every morning which is great.

Room Tip: Bring bug spray, don't let mosquitos in your room/take vitamin B before you go to Costa Rica the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

About 100yds east of main rd & beach but an enclosure around a nice pool with great tropical foliage. Nice, large, clean cabanas with outdoor porches. Great management. I got a room up air but didn't really need it although it was hot. Highly recommended if you want to save some money and not stay on or nearer the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Macondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Macondo

Address: Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Villas Macondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Macondo Hotel Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Macondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.