We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Macondo

Save Saved
You added Villas Macondo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Macondo
Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Few last days we stayed in Villas Macondo. It was not my first stay in Villas Macondo and probably not the last one. I really like it - the location is really good, small but nice pull, friendly stuff. We really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: If you are 4 or more take an apartment (there is a really nice kitchen and living room), the only sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    65
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
68
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Villas Macondo. Although it is really hard to find (no signals to show the way, while other hotels have it), the location is good and within walking distance to all the places you might want to go to in Tamarindo. The staff is helpful, the rooms are clean and there is a pool and a kitchen which can be used. We had three scorpions in our room, so be careful what you touch and step on, but that's in pretty much all of costa rica.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here a week ago with my husband and baby. Since its the slow season we pretty much had the grounds to ourselves. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. The kitchen came in handy with the baby we even made breakfast a couple of days. The kitchen is well equipped. The apartment itself was very clean and well kept. The grounds are beautiful and well kept as well. There is beauitful trees, flowers and plants. The pool was very refreshing. The staff was friendly and very informative. Thanks to LB for fixing my daughters stroller on the very first day we got there. In regards to location its just a short walk to the beach and yes its on a dirt road but so is everything else unless your on the main street. The location is great alot of places to eat and have drinks. I will absolutely recommend this place to anyone traveling to Tamarindo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

When we visited Tamarindo a second time there was no question where we wanted to stay. Everything was too good the first time. The staff is cool and helpful, the rooms are clean with safes and reasonably comfortable beds, cable tv, hot water, a hammock for every room and a table outside for having breakfast, drinks or utilizing the wifi (which also works fine in the room).

The kitchen is clean, but the pool was a little too murky for my tastes both times we stayed, though there were those who didn't seem to mind. (The beach is less than 5 minutes away, so it doesn't seem to be that important, but if you're going to have a pool you might as well keep it clean.) Located about a block off the main area you can escape the noise but still only be a couple minutes from the restaurants, supermarket, shopping and whatever else. (Bring your money—Costa Rica isn't cheap, and Tamarindo is like being back in the states.)

Macondo has enclosed parking and an internet room for those not lugging around their laptops. Very laid back place and everyone staying there seems to be staying it easy, and the staff makes it easy for them.

Room Tip: There doesn't seem to be a big difference in which room you get. We've been on opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here first for one week, checked out and visited some other areas, and then came back and stayed for another two weeks. It is a perfect low key place to hang out that actually feels authentic while staying in Tamarindo. The hammocks on the individual patios are amazing, and the computers, library, and communal kitchen were very nice. Close to the grocery store and a ten minute walk to the beach... Loved the pool and garden setting. Great all around!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of their apartments for 4 nights earlier this month. The apartment set-up was perfect - 2 floors, full kitchen and big fridge, futon for sitting downstairs, queen bed upstairs and good-sized bathroom with shower (albeit sans curtain which made a big mess). And in the center of the complex is a fantastic pool!

Now on to the cons - the ants and mosquitoes. The hotel is surrounded by lush landscape so that doesn't come without the price of having bugs. As mentioned in other reviews, this place is right down the street from Voodoo Lounge and depending on the night, the music goes well into morning hours. Also, this hotel is about a block from the beach and the walk is uphill on a dirt road - kinda annoying since pretty much every other street in the area is paved.

I think overall their regular room rate is well priced, however the apartment rate is a bit high. There aren't a ton of hotels in the area, so I definitely consider this one. It's certainly not the best out there, but if you're willing to overlook a few things it can work just for for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Pros: Has a community kitchen (OK minus the ants) with gas burners, fridge and charcoal bbq; Location is in the center of town, but a bit off the main street which is good; The employees are friendly and helpful; The super market is only a few doors down; Rooms have a small fridge and an Air Conditioning unit (a must have for the hot nights); free internet room and wifi; felt safe as a solo female.

Cons: A lot of Ants and spiders in the room (had the room sprayed); mosquitos kept me from enjoying the hammock at night; Tues night is Voodoo Lounge night (a few doors down) and it sounded like they were in my room - the party lasted from 9pm - 4am - not a night for sleep at all.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Macondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Macondo

Address: Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Specialty lodging in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Macondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Macondo Hotel Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Macondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.