We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great steak house in Tamarindo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Bull

Flying Bull
Tamarindo | Hotel Tamarindo Diria, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 124 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Steakhouse, International, Grill
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really great steak house in Tamarindo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from an amazing one week in Tamarindo. We landed up eating here the first and last night that we were in Tamarindo. I was still not completely in vacation mode the first night we got there and had a group meeting that ran over till 9pm local time and had to follow-up with some email after. Most of the places at our resort had shut down and we landed up here as it was just closing up. We were also visiting Tamarindo at their slowest tourist season and lot of places close shop early. Well the head waiter let us sit down and got us our menus. We were still a bit jet lagged so not too hungry. We landed up getting an appetizer and the chorizo steak. We always order our steaks medium/rare and usually never get one rare in the center. Well this one did not disappoint. We landed up being talked into the chocolate mousse for dessert and even though it was not a dark chocolate mousse like I would have expected. It was still really light, fluffy, and creamy. We went back a couple more times and finished celebrating our final day and 5-year anniversary here. We loved the steaks they were cooked really well and salted. I always seem to have trouble finding steakhouses in the bay area where I live that salt the meat ( just a preference I have). Highly recommend a visit to this place if in Tamarindo and recommend the Chorizo Steak, the grilled vegetable appetizer and the malbec poached pear dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing food w/even more amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Was here with a group of 7 girls over labor day weekend. We arrived around 8:30 and the place was pretty empty. We wanted to sit indoors b/c it was pretty humid out. When we got to the back we were the only ones in there and felt like we had private dining.

Our waiter was Luis, and let me tell you.. he was seriously 1 of the best waiters we've ever had! Even in comparison to the staff in the fancy NYC restaurants. We almost ordered everything on the menu and there was not 1 thing that we did not like. Our fave was steak. It was seasoned and cooked perfectly!

Oh yes... also get the apple crepes. totally mouthwatering.

Come here if you want amazing food & super friendly service. And even bigger plus was that we got our wines at a discount. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Good beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Very easy to find on the strip in front of Diria hotel the restaurant
Has a nice set up outside next to
Their square bar
The meat from the US is cooked at perfection
The service was outstanding
Little bit pricy but worsted

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best beef I had in Tamarindo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Ambiance was amazing, service was top-notch and filet I got was cooked to absolute perfection! The owner happened to be sitting at the table next to us and kept sending over glasses of very good wine!! And a shot of rum...that really topped off the evening! Great meal!! The only reason I'm not giving it an excellent rating is that the butter and bread they served were freezer burnt and the grilled veggies were not that good....but they certainly do know their beef!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We saved our dinner at Flying Bull for our last night. The food was delicious. We got the grill sampler for two, so that we were able to try more than just one thing.

The service was also wonderful!

We sat outside on what was a perfect quiet night in Tamarindo.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Bull also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Flying Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Bull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.