We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bodega

La Bodega
In the Hotel Nahua | Diagonal From Banco Nacional, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
+506 8829 1480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 124 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International, Healthy, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: La Bodega is an organic cafe/store located in Tamarindo, Guanacaste. We carry foods and specialty items made 100% in Costa Rica. Fresh homemade sandwiches, salads, baked goods, coffee and drinks are available daily! We provide organic, sustainable and local foods as much as possible. We are a small locally owned business with a passion for eating and living well. Pura Vida!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went here every day we were in Tamarindo. Our hotel was right across the street which made it very convenient.

We loved how everything is homemade. The lunch sandwiches are AWESOME! They vary from day to day and there are only a limited number so make sure you get in there as close to 11:30am as possible.
The iced coffee was delicious, and became our afternoon treat (with either a brownie or cookie) every day!

The Tamarindo Juice and the Hibiscus Lemonade are also delicious!

I can't say enough great things about La Bodega!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    17
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

this lovely little place serves breakfast and lunch. it's right across the street from our hotel so we walked over today at around 1 o'clock. there were eight sandwiches left and there's a very good reason...they are outstanding!! we shared a chicken and a mahi mahi on homebaked bread...two glasses of hibiscus lemonade came with. also had some ice coffee, a brownie and a couple of coconut macaroons....all delicious. go there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place. Great products.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to La Bodega on three occasions during a five day Tamarindo vacation this past week. The iced coffee was excellent, though I wish it came in more than one, rather small, size. Lots of great local products. My wife and I bought some organic, vegan friendly pasta to bring back to the states. Ate it this evening. Excellent. The owner was very friendly and had great knowledge of all the products. He is originally from New York. Overall, I recommend this place to anyone. Try the Tamarindo juice, made from the fruit of the Tamarindo tree, the namesake of the town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best "REAL" food in Tamarindo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the place to eat breakfast and lunch if you are trying to avoid the tourist laden foods of Tamarindo (pizza, burgers, fries)... The food here is locally sourced and they use organic local pastured eggs, yogurt from local farms and produce that is from the local community (as we sat on the porch the owner pulled up on his bicycle with fresh fruit of the day). They have kombucha, great breakfast sandwiches, yogurt parfait (real yogurt) and the best organic coffee. They also have locally sourced cheese from one of the farm's outside of Tamarindo. The cheese was the perfect treat on our way to the waterfalls. A real gem where real whole foods are so hard to find in this little town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Lunches -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Every time we eat at La Bodega we leave satisfied - great sandwiches, unique natural beverages, organics products, and very nice people - a perfect combination.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodega also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bodega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.