We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Mono Loco

El Mono Loco
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tamarindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Mono Loco
Save
You added El Mono Loco to your Saves list
Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very nice hostel in Tamarindo. Just 200 meters from the beach on the way to playa Langosta, close to supermarkets and main attractions. The rooms was clean and confortable, with air-con. The place is quiet and not too busy. The breakfast was delicious, Sylvia cooks very good meals. For sure a great deal for the price. Muchas gracias Mauricio and Sylvia!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a fantastic vacation at El Mono Loco in Costa Rica! The rooms were clean, the people running the hotel were friendly, and the food was delicious! There are comfortable hammocks and rocking chairs to lounge in if you just want to hang out by the pool or the beach is just across the street. The town is easily accessible by foot and offers plenty of activities for all. Definitely worth a visit!!!

Room Tip: Only 12 rooms...can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyceVP_45, Owner at El Mono Loco, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We likewise enjoyed your visit and thank you for your lovely review. Your group was a lot of fun for us. You definitely mention all the qualities that make our hotel so special. Please visit us again soon. Remember we welcome groups and families and will do our best to make your stay memorable. Check out our Facebook page to see some great pictures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This husband and wife duo were amazing! We were expecting to arrive at the hotel around 4:00pm, however, with flight delays we did not end up arriving until 10pm. They were more than understanding and were there to meet our needs even at that late hour. The first room we arrived at had a lot of ants. We brought this to the attention of the staff and they were more than happy to move us to another room. After the first night we explored Tamarindo. This hotel was out of the hustle and bustle of the downtown area, but close enough to the various restaurants and beaches. The staff was always available to offer suggestions of the "must sees" and best restaurants. The pool area at the hotel was small, but is definitely an experience in its self. Both days of our stay were accompanied by several monkeys on the surrounding trees! Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at this location. I would stay at this hotel again, due to its perfect location and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

With it's proximity to beach and downtown, without being overrun with traffic, This hotel is perfect. Quiet, private and comfortable. The owners were super helpful. Nothing extravagant, but I don't particularly care for, nor need extravagant. For the price it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

we had only planned two nights (jan 6-12) but ended up staying 6 nights. the hotel is charming, great location, a terrific family runs the hotel and we had a yummy breakfast everyday which was not included, but our rate was so reasonable. there are fancier places to stay but we felt so comfortable and the beach is so close and we were 5 min from the center. Just a note the road to the center was very dusty but, that does not reflect my opinion of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spend 6 night at El Mono Loco and we cannot wait to be back.
The hotel is beautiful and the room are always clean.
The staff is very pleasant and helpful , and the kitchen offer good food for breakfast lunch and dinner.
The price are very honest , it is a very good option in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybenton@gmail.com
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. Less expensive than most places in Tamarindo. It was quiet and clean. A bit of a walk to town, probably 5 minutes. Nice pool, and a few birds in cages that make beautiful sounds.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Mono Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mono Loco

Address: Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
El Mono Loco Hotel Tamarindo
El Mono Loco Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mono Loco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.