We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arco Iris to your Saves list
Hotel Arco Iris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I'm happy to answer any questions regarding this hotel.It's perfect.
Walking distance to everything, quiet, immaculate, it's amazing.
We arrived late. Richard showed us right to our room. We didn't even have to check in. The restaurant (the food is stunning) stayed open late for us as we arrived 10 minutes before they were closing.
Stay here. Seriously.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    87
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
62
210
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights in April 14. The rooms are very nice, as was the pool and restaurant. The staff, including the owner Richard were very accommodating and friendly. The highlight had to be the local Iguanas and the wonderful visit from the monkeys!

Highly recommended if staying in Tamarindo. Only 5-10 min walk from the beach, very close to everything but you also feel secluded enough to be able to relax. Try and get a bungalow as they have hammocks!

Room Tip: Try and get a bungalow as they have hammocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Arco Iris in Mid April. Gabriella and Francesco were always there to help and set us up with some fun adventures. Richard the owner is also great and has great suggestions for fun things to do while! Close to the beach and town! Breakfast was also tasty-prepared by Coco. Definitely worth checking this place out if you are travelling to Tamarindo-they will make you feel at home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are close to the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was our first time in Tamarindo and we had such a wonderful experience staying at this hotel. The rooms are very clean and spacious with nice updated bathrooms. Loved seeing monkeys in the trees and Pepe the iguana. Richard, the owner, is very accomodating and friendly and Coco, the chef, prepared a delicious breakfast every morning (which comes with the room). Only 5 minute walk to the beach and town. Wish we could have stayed longer. If we ever get the chance to go back, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at Arco Iris with 4 friends from April 18 to the 25th. The experience was wonderful from start to finish. Richard the owner was fabulous, and his staff were extremely friendly and approachable. Gabriella and Francesco were wonderful and always available when we needed them or had questions.

The resort is gorgeous, comfortable and warm. It is a short walk to town but you feel very secluded as well. The pool is inviting, clean and comfortable. The rooms were cleaned to perfection with lots of space for storage and a beautiful bathroom. There is air conditioning as well which is excellent on the really hot days! The restaurant Seasons was also delicious and we ate there twice during our stay. Breakfast every morning was also lovely. There was always fresh coffee, fruit and a wonderful lady named Coco was always available to make eggs and fresh omelettes to order.

Overall a fabulous experience for my first time in Costa Rica. I would recommend Arco Iris to everyone! Will definitely be back. Thanks again Richard and staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe Rahm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a few nights in April. The hotel is superb. The owner, Richard, is very helpful. But we were pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality of the hotel restaurant, Seasons. We had such good food only once before — on the French Riviera!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

How could I possibly wax poetic about such a wonderful place to stay? I'm gonna try.
The Great Stuff:
The bungalows are clean, clean, clean.
Richard the owner is exceptionally approachable, helpful, accommodating and honest.
They really DO have the best restaurant in town. Hits and misses as with any spot, but tasty. Get the Hearts of Palm Salad here. It had the most actual Palm of any salad we had in two weeks.
The most casual, yet "attended to" vibe contributes to perfect relaxation.
Our room was quite large, with extra pillows, blankets, and most of all, shelving for your stuff.
The location is spectacular for its' ease of access to the town. So close and yet feels secluded.
It really has an upscale feel to the place because fixtures and furnishings were quality and stylish.

To be Aware Of:
Don't forget that you are in the jungle. Everything from nature was there long, long before we came invading their territory. I say this because some people don't like bugs or iguanas or the sound of their claws on your rooftop. It's an old saying, but tis true, they are more frightened of you than you are of them.

We tend to be kinda loud, so really the only sort of not perfect thing is that we had to check ourselves occasionally for "rowdiness". Glad to BE rowdy at 50...

So, we were with Helen O (see review) on vacation. The owner RIchard is one in a hundred million. Yes, I exaggerate, but for good reason. Three of the four of us got some awful gastro bug that required one of us to take a trip to the Dr. RIchard immediately offered to accompany her to to interpret. She needed IV fluids which Richard says was only the third time someone has needed them. Which proves the point that he is attentive to all, not just us. He made himself completely available in ANY capacity we would need. Stellar, just stellar..

Conclusion: Book it now.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has five bungalows and seven deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arco Iris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.