We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place I'd stay in Tamarindo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arco Iris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arco Iris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Tamarindo
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The only place I'd stay in Tamarindo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I traveled to Tamarindo with out much of a plan, we booked Arco Iris a few days prior to arriving and I could of not been happier with our decision. Richard the owner was fantastic, super friendly and accommodating. We ran into an issue with our transportation the day we were leaving (i wouldnt book transport through Tamarindo shuttle, they kind of screwed us over) Richard bent over backwards to help us out and called in a favor to a trusted driver friend of his. The over all feel of Arco was relaxed and the all wood building design is gorgeous. Our room was super clean and had a very stylish minimalistc interior design. We had the AC to stay comfortably cool at night, as well as a hammock right outside the door. The open concept restaurant was a wonderful place to have breakfast every morning of fresh fruit, rice and beans, coffee, juice, granola, omlet station ect...(included in the cost of the room)as well as an amazing restaurant at night, probably the best restaurant in town right at Arco! Be prepared to pay cash at the restaurant, we weren't prepared the first night, but they were understanding and we caught up with them the next day. Arco Iris is ther perfect location if you ask me, it's a short 3-5 min walk to the beach, and just far away from the bar scene to be a quiet place to sleep at night. With a safe in the room just to make us feel a little more at ease, although I felt quite comfortable the whole trip. The pool area is a great additional luxury to enjoy, overall Arco Iris is the place to stay, not one complaint!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    73
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
177
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

While traveling with another couple in Costa Rica, we spent several nights at the Arco Iris in early June. We initially planned on one or two nights then extended it to four nights because it was so comfortable and convenient. The air conditioning in our room during the first night was substandard. Richard gladly moved us to a different (and larger) room without hesitation. We really enjoyed the local river trip set up by Richard. He called a cab for us that Sunday to the local Catholic Church for Mass. The property was clean and the housekeeping staff always did a great job cleaning the room every day. We enjoyed the breakfast bar every morning- after hearing the monkeys howl, watching the iguana, and listening and observing the unique birds in the surrounding area and on the patio waiting for some granola. A great way to wake up while drinking a great cup of coffee! We had a fantastic dinner one night at Seasons by Shlomy located on the same location. The location was convenient- within walking distance to the beach and many shops and restaurants. If you want to avoid the "cookie cutter" hotel experience this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Recommend the upgraded rooms unless you are on a very tight budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

First, when my wife and decided to head to Tamarindo, we used Trip Advisor almost exclusively, to determine where we stayed. To all the negative reviews I have one thing to say, its a boutique 3-star hotel in a third world country, its not perfect. If that's what you expect go somewhere else.

With that said, Hotel Arco Iris is the best mix of a small unique hotel. Staff, and the somewhat infamous (at least on Trip Advisor) owner Richard, are accommodating and helpful. We had booked a trip through Richard a few days before going, and when the company didn't show, Paola made a quick phone call and there was a vehicle to pick us up. The pool is a pool, and doesn't get the late day sun, but when its 95-100F with 80% humidity I'm not sure I wanted it.

Our room was clean, and spacious enough, as we were in it and awake only a few hours a day, mostly to cool off from the February heat. The bathrooms are newer, and very clean. A bigger fridge would have been nice, but we were able to make it work. Wifi worked well enough, nothing like home of course, but I was able to email and facetime (voice only) with my family.

Overall we had a great experience in Tamarindo, definitely want to go back, and Hotel Arco Iris will be the hotel we would stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Arco Iris one night. The highlight was dinner (Michelin rated chef) and the night ambiance at the hotel. It is well located in the middle of town so if you want to shop and hit the restaurant/bar scene in Tamarindo, this is a good spot. We preferred the quiet of Playa Grande but if you want to be in the middle of it all, this is a great option.

The resident Iguanas were fun to see each day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Rooms: Arco Iris is a contradictory but pleasant surprise. On first arrival, there is a campy feel with bungalows tightly scattered around a nicely landscaped lot. Each unit has a hammock outside - relaxing, but no view. Inside however, the rooms were fresh and bright, with crisp linens and squeaky clean floors with a modern flare. Bathrooms were spacious with glass enclosed showers, hot water, and nice fixtures. Soap, shampoo and conditioner were provided (and much appreciated after sun blasted days on the surf). Towels were plentiful and storage was easy. A safe deposit box was available and aircon was excellent. We made plenty of use of the small fridge after picking up water and fruit from the nearby market. (We found one massive beetle in the bathroom, but that was it for bugs. When there is so much greenery around, it cannot be helped.) Wifi was a bit weak in the rooms, I'm not sure if management could follow up on that issue.

Location: I think the location is perfect because Arco Iris is removed from the noise, but still plenty convenient. Tamarindo is small and everything is walkable. Many of the good restaurants (per Tripadvisor reviews) are on the same street. As I said, there is a grocery store/market not even 5 minutes away. The other end of town (Witch's Rock Surf Camp) is about 15 to 20 minutes depending on your pace. The beach stretches parallel to the town, it is easy to access to water.

Service: Breakfast includes continental breakfast and drinks, along with warm rice/beans and an omelette station! Nice to sit by the pool and watch the birds each morning. The same eating area transforms into a colourful vibrant restaurant (Seasons) at night. One suggestion at breakfast is the fruit service. During our stay, mixed fruit is kepted in a large plastic storage bin with a big lid. I understand Arco Iris is trying to keep insects off the fresh fruit but perhaps a different display would be a bit more appealing. Just a small suggestion.

Overall though, I was very pleased with our stay and would recommend others to consider the Arco Iris!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean. A hidden gem. The dinner service, my hats off to the chef best meal we had in Costa Rica. A big thank you to owner Richard for setting up our ATV tour. My husband and I have agreed best hotel,in Costa Rica and will take our daughters soon. Thank you to all staff for the best service pura vida

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights at Hotel Arco Iris and were very satisfied with our stay. The hotel was very nice and modern and the location right off the beach area was perfect. Our deluxe room was very spacious, with a nice clean bathroom and comfortable beds. Richard (the owner) was there to greet us even though our check-in was later in the evening and the staff was friendly and helpful. A healthy breakfast of fruit, cereal, and cooked to order eggs was provided each morning at no additional cost. In the evening, the Arco Iris also offers a great restaurant with some of the best food in Tamarindo. The dessert is also great, regardless of where we ate dinner that night my girlfriend rushed back to the hotel to pig out on her favorite dessert. Sorry babe ;) We also enjoyed the short walk from our hotel to the beach area each day (5 minutes) and liked the fact that we could get just far away from the noise of the downtown area. Being off the main strip will also give you the advantage of seeing some of Costa Rica's local wildlife such as monkeys, iguanas, and the various birds who all call the area around Arco Iris home. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again when we most definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Address: Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has six bungalows and four deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arco Iris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.