We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely spot in Tamarindo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arco Iris to your Saves list
Hotel Arco Iris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A lovely spot in Tamarindo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I spent the last 4 days of our Costa Rican trip in Tamarindo. This was our first visit to Costa Rica and I booked the majority of our trip using advice available on Trip Advisor.
We can support the positive experiences that others reported for this hotel. The Arco Iris is as advertised - lovely compact grounds, private quiet pool area, very nice cabins that are clean and cool, functioning A/C, very nice people.
Richard and his associates took care of some travel issues for us including booking a different hotel for us in San Jose. It was a relief to be able to rely on local knowledge to solve some issues.
The hotel is not on the beach but is a 10 minute stroll away. All along the road are restaurants, snack shops, stores, etc. so it is a very nice and safe stroll. Some of the highest rated restaurants are not on the beach but are within a five minute walk on or just off of that same road.
One note is that currently there is construction next door but hopefully the construction will be complete within the next few weeks.
All in all we are very satisfied with our choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    75
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
188
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Killingly, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Quiet little Gem in Tamarindo. Great staff, great food and the monkeys give you the rain forest vibe in this beach town. Fresh fruit salad or made to order omelets for breakfast. The restaurant is to die for, best food in Tamarindo. We loved it so much we ate there twice. When we go back to Tamarindo we plan on staying at the Arco Iris again. Rooms were spacious and had A/C, huge plus in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for our last leg of Costa Rica, to wash away the grime of hostels and public transport, and it was perfect.

Great pool, never busy, air conditioning in the rooms, and simple breakfast in the morning. WE also ate at the restaurant one evening, and it was delicious :) I got a seafood risotto that was to die for.

I liked the service! Richard was great and just kinda funny. Ask him about his book exchange, if you get bored.

Tamarindo in general, was my least favorite city we visited. Just too tailored to tourists. The beach was nice though. Our favorite food place was the bbq joint. But be careful, tons of places close on wednesdays!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here a week ago and the grounds and rooms are beautiful. The room was extremely spacious and clean! The only problem I had with the room was that the AC was directly in my face no matter how I set it up, and the bathroom sometimes had a strong sewage smell. But the room really was beautiful and comfy.
The service was horrendous! Richard was extremely nice, but when he wasn't around, the women were not helpful.
The first two morning we got to breakfast and the girl was sitting at the bar texting. There was a table of fruits and cereal. So we looked around to see if maybe there was eggs but she just pointed to the table. So I had some cereal. The next morning the same thing happened. The girl just sat there texting on her phone. BUT THEN, this couple showed up, and judging by this snobbiness of this couple they must have spent a lot of money here because immediately the girl got up put her phone away and walked them to a table asking what they want prepared in their eggs. Brought them coffee, cleaned the table and I could not believe it! So basically we were completely ignored and these two were royalty. It completely turned me off.
The I asked the front desk girl for info about tours and she handed me a binder and toldme to see if I like something to let her know. I asked her for more details and she simply told me to refer to the binder. It was very rude the way she acted. Overall, Richard was the only person who was nice enough to smile and ask how we were. Otherwise we wouldve been completely ignored.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We just loved this hotel, which is beautifully designed, tranquil and very friendly, with superb service from Richard, the owner, and all of his staff. The hotel is located an easy walk from the main drag and the beach, but far enough back to provide peace and quiet in this very busy little beach town. The rooms were large and very clean and the property very well kept. The morning breakfasts fueled our days and the nights were only interrupted by the occasional sounds of wildlife (except on Saturday, when the music from the bars in town could be heard - but that's not the fault of the hotel!) We even saw monkeys in the wooded area next to the hotel! In fact the whole place is an oasis of friendliness, service and comfort. We could not have asked for more. My only suggestion to Richard is that he find a way of putting up a couple of signs along the streets to guide people to the hotel, because it was a bit hard to find! And you want to find it, believe me!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great. It's just minutes away from the beach and from so many great places to eat and shop (walking distance). The rooms are awesome and very spacious. But, the service is even more exceptional. The front desk helped us pick and book all of our excursions for the week, which were all unforgettable. Everyone, including the owner of the hotel, is just so friendly and helpful it makes the whole vacation experience even better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

First time in Costa Rica, and this little lodge was exactly what I was looking for. The rooms are so clean, updated and comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel one night (our "splurge") and spent hours lounging by the pool. Felt very safe coming back from nights out, and the beach never seemed like it was further than our backyard (though maybe more like 6 blocks away). I saw a wedding party there, and I thought what a PERFECT place they had found.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Address: Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has six bungalows and four deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arco Iris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.