We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous One Night Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arco Iris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arco Iris to your Saves list
Hotel Arco Iris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous One Night Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I made the last minute decision to go to Tamarindo on the last night of our honeymoon and we were so happy we did! This is such a unique little surfing town. Its so beautiful and fun. Arco Iris has a lovely set up with little cabanas, a pool and restaurant. They are environmentally friendly and within walking distance to the beach and other restaurants. The only thing that I would say is that the owner should put up a sign by the pool saying that no glass containers are allowed by the pool. We saw two groups of people - one couple with glasses of wine from the restaurant and a group with a cooler of beers at the pool. Since no one said anything to them we decided to go get some beers and relax in the pool and were shortly told by the owner that we could not have glass there. He was very nice and brought over plastic containers instead but I would not have been so rude, if I had known!

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar. Maybe try to get an individual cabana instead of the ones attached becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    88
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
64
218
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hollywood
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

It's the off season and I've pretty much got this place to myself. The owner is very cool and it's a quick walk to get my surf on. Two night stay. Monkeys, big lizards and cool looking birds all around. There was a BIG lizard that blocked my door yesterday. He didn't feel like moving until I shooshed him away.

Room Tip: Deluxe room right next to the pool. It's great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, the room was modern and clean. Richard was helpful, however we arrived in low season and the restaurant was closed, the area was being re decorated and it would have been helpful to know this before we made our booking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelarcoiris, Owner at Hotel Arco Iris, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
My name is Richard and I am the owner of the hotel.

I am happy the reviewer was satisfied with the room. I apologize for the restaurant being closed. We stated on our website the exact dates the restaurant was closed for part of September and October. The restaurant is now open and closes every year during part of September and October. we were painting the restaurant when this guest was there. We are careful to not do any work that will bother our guests in their room or when relaxing on the hotel grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotel Arco Iris is a charming hotel in a lush, green setting. It's just up the road from a surf shop, the Lazy Wave, and a 5-minute walk to Tamarindo shops and the beach.

During our stay, we had the delight of seeing a group of Howler Monkeys move through the trees, one dropping down to the roof of a bungalow to snack on a tree.

If you happen upon rainy days as we did, all of the rooms have covered porches, many with a hammock, to wait out weather with a good book.

All of the staff are welcoming and friendly. The proprietor was very attentive, did lots of legwork arranging tours, setting up breakfast if we left early, and answering any questions we had about Costa Rica.

We loved it, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The owner Richard is smart and friendly. The rooms were clean and relaxing and Wifi worked well. We were in the off-season and had the hotel pretty much to ourselves. Breakfast was average ( cereal and fruits), It is a 10 minute walk to the beach. Personally would have preferred a hotel closer to the beach.....

In general Tamarindo is not a great place to vacation.... looks rundown and dirty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My family and I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, Richard and his staff. Upon our arrival Richard was apologetic that our room wasn't ready (we did arrive early) and graciously served us complimentary drinks during our brief wait. This is not an all-inclusive resort, but had everything we were looking for. Free wi-fi, and use of the hotel's laptap if you need, and a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, granola, toast, juice and coffee every morning by the pool was a great way to start the day. The wildlife is amazing. Howler monkeys in the trees above the property, iguanas running around and the colorful birds kept us company at breakfast. Unfortunately, we traveled during low season, so the restaurant was closed. The room was spacious and impeccably clean with cold a/c! Restaurants, bars, the grocery store, the beach and town were only a few minutes away by foot. And there is a delicious off-site Pizzeria right next the hotel. The reception staff were great at booking our excursions and tours and everyone was so friendly. A great family hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

So glad we chose Hotel Arco Iris in Tamarindo!! Wonderful boutique style hotel, modern looking room and bath. We saw monkeys in the trees around the hotel, (so awesome!)!

We so much enjoyed complimentary breakfast every morning with granola, fresh fruit, and toast. Richard the owner was very personable and acknowledge us every time we saw him and made sure we were comfortable and taken care of!! The Seasons restaurant at the hotel is open for dinner and the food is a little pricey, but excellent and filling.

Very peaceful location, with a very short walk to the Tamarindo beach. Although we stayed for our honeymoon, we will definitely bring our teenagers and other family next time we stay as well.

Only minor update needed is better pillows, all of ours were flat so we had to double up to give some cushion to our head and neck. But certainly not a reason to stay again. It was an awesome stay!!

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe size room for a few dollars more per night. More room and with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Arco Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco Iris

Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arco Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arco Iris is located within walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants and the center of town. The hotel has been completely remodeled and has five bungalows and seven deluxe rooms, which are surrounded by a lush tropical garden and swimming pool for your relaxation. Set back from the street, Hotel Arco Iris assures guests a quiet and tranquil experience. The rooms have been re-designed with beautiful contemporary bathrooms and comfortable interiors and have A/C, TV's and mini bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Arco Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel
Arco Iris Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arco Iris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.