We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla

Save Saved
You added La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Avellanas | 6 miles from Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Tamarindo
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Choose a room by the Pool in hotel
There is a free shuttle to both the Marriott 3 km away and Beach Club also 3km in opposite direction-Make sure you go Beach Club with its Big Infinity pool and golden sands very clean -do not leave belonging on remote parts of beaches, nice beach restaurant called "Lolas" about 20 minutes walk along the beach-a bit expensive though but we found the food great -If you want to visit "tamarindo" nearest town about 10 KM go to Marriott via free shuttle and catch the shuttle that runs every 2 hours from ther cost $7 per person one way , a taxi is $40 per person.
Hotel is very good and not too bad to eat at but remote!

Room Tip: Choose a room by the Pool in hotel There is a free shuttle to both the Marriott 3 km away and Beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    46
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
40
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our last hotel on a discover Costa Rica tour on which we had been spoilt! The hotel and grounds were great and the beach club lovely but without a car a taxi into town cost $25 one way and the restaurant menu wasn't vast. They need to bring some of the food options at the beach club to the hotel or keep the beach club restaurant open as a dinner option and this place would be near perfection.

I would stay here again but hire a car.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My fiancee and I had a wonderful time and a great experience. They made us feel welcome and the weeding planner Maria Jose Montoya really gave us great tips and made us feel confident about having our weeding there, she was very caring, great service, awesome facilities, delicious food and drinks, and very professional staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina R, Manager at La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado huésped:

Gracias por dedicar tiempo para compartir su opinión. En Hacienda Pinilla nos esmeramos siempre por brindar el mejor servicio y atender a nuestros clientes de la mejor manera. Nos alegra que su experiencia haya sido positiva y que usted y su fiancé tuvieran una boda inolvidable. Nuestros huéspedes y clientes son nuestra mayor prioridad y hacerlos sentir felices, cómodos y seguros es parte de nuestra misión.
Lo esperamos nuevamente en Hacienda Pinilla para que pueda venir y disfrutar de nuestras bellas playas en compañía de su esposa, disfrutar una noche estrellada bajo la luz de la luna o bien realizar una cabalgata para luego descansar en el Club de Playa.
Lo esperamos. No dude en contactarnos.

Saludos,

Hacienda Pinilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I spent 4 days at this lovely resort at the end of a 12 day 'discovery tour' of Costa Rica. I was greeted at reception on arrival by two lovely ladies and was allocated a super well equipped tasteful bungalow near the pool and restaurant. I was a little disappointed at first to find the beach was a little way a way. However, there is a regular free shuttle bus service to the lovely nearby Beach Club (free to La Posada guests and with excellent food/service and facilities) so that was fine. The best thing about my stay here however was my Latin dance lesson with the charming Gustavo Castillo Mora. On enquiring at reception about dance classes I was told that Gustavo was the man I should see. As my stay did not coincide with the free weekend group dance class, Gustavo organised a private (free!) class for me in the most beautiful location overlooking a beach a 5 minute shuttle ride away from La Posada. I have had several private salsa classes in my life, and I can honestly say that Gustavo was by far the best dance instructor I have ever come across - he is brilliant! If you have any interest in Latin dance whatsoever, do ask for Gustavo as I am sure you will be delighted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights and the service at the restaurant pool was the best we have had in CR. Jorge the night time waiter was one of the best I've had in my life.
The beach is 2 km away and we had a car it was great. The pool and the beach are amazing.
Rooms were average hotel type rooms.
Foods was expensive at restaurant but like I said earlier the service was worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed 5 nights in a one bedroom junior suite with kitchen. The unit is within a cabin (modern/sleek) that has a second unit (a more standard hotel room) as part of it that is rented out separately. Conversely, a larger family (or another couple) could rent both units as there is an interior door that can be used to move about the two units. Our unit had a fully equipped kitchen (coffee maker, toaster, full size refrigerator and oven, microwave and a full complement of plates, bowls, flatware, etc.) We couldn’t want for anything in that regard but used it only to make very light snacks and a couple of light dinners. Our breakfast was included and we preferred lunches out.
The entire suite was beautiful and kept up wonderfully. Modern, wooden furniture. Nice dining room table with four leather padded chairs. The kitchen had a wide bar top with four tall chairs as well. The dining room opens up to a patio with a secure glass door and has two padded chairs. Note: The patios could all use a small table. Small suggestion. The bathroom and bedroom (with king size bed) were equally sharp and impressive. The mattress was very firm but comfortable enough for us. There is more closet and drawer space than most anyone I know would ever need for a week. The Wi-Fi worked amazingly well anywhere in the suite and on the patio. We could stream a movie (Netflix) essentially seamlessly. It did not require any special considerations in our suite. It was simply on.

I’ll follow this with the key bullet points you might be looking for:
1) Room service – it is available but expensive. However, there is no room service menus -- you just have to plan ahead to order what's off the Posada dining menu. They wouldn't let us bring it back to the room (which is silly). Make more copies.
2) Restaurant – very nice but it’ll add up if you are taking all meals there or at the other options on the resort grounds. The breakfast buffet (included in our plan) was very good.
3) Are there monkeys? Of course. Plentiful. We had two great monkey parades (howlers) just off our patio in the 15’ – 35’ trees abutting the dry forest. The troops varied with about 20 to 30 members.
4) Should you have a car? In our book this is a must. The resort is self contained but to get to Avenallas Beach and the really awesome beach club grounds it’s ~6 km and waiting for the shuttle would be annoying to get there and back. Plus, getting food/drinks for use of the kitchen means driving off the resort grounds. There are no shops. Car gets you to multiple other beaches in the area as well. Playa Negra is quite worth a day vist and is about 10 km.
5) Playa Avenallas is wonderful. A great beach with excellent breaks for the surfers. I body boarded contentedly.
6) Take advantage of the laundry. Returned same day if they have it by 9:00 am and the prices are very reasonable.
7) There are two gates available to get off the resort grounds. If going to Playa Negra be sure to take the gate that’s basically right at La Posada. Don’t go back to the main entrance.
8) There is an ATM at the main reception area. Didn’t use it so don’t know the fees.
9) It’s a resort – the water in the suites is fine to drink.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is set in a large private estate where there are also properties to buy or timeshare. The hotel itself is very well kept and the room we had was spacious with a TV and fridge and a large bathroom.
The reception staff are very helpful although they won't give you tips to get away from the area economically. We asked about visiting the nearest town (Tamarindo) and were quoted US$40 for a taxi each way and with a maximum 4 passengers. On our last day we found out from others that the nearby Marriott hotel ran a shuttle bus there every 2 hours or so for US$7 each way.
The hotel does have a free shuttle service to the 3 beaches on site, including a beach club with infinity pool and happy hour cocktails from 5p.m. - it closes around 7 p.m. The shuttle will also take you to the Marriott, riding stables and the golf course.
There was a variety of birds in the grounds and many iguanas just wandering around.
Breakfast was very good, consisting of a buffet with lots of choice. Dinner was a bit pricey and the menu never changed while we were there. Hidden away at the back of the menu are more reasonably priced 'children's' meals like burger and fries which they will happily serve to adults.
Overall, this is a beautiful place, well run and with friendly staff - the only downside being that it is an effort to get to the nearest town just for a change of scene and some local experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla

Also Known As:
Hacienda Pinilla Santa Cruz
Address: Playa Avellanas | 6 miles from Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#14 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buttressed against three miles of pristine shoreline within the Guanacaste province in northwest Costa Rica on the Pacific Ocean, Hacienda Pinilla is a 4.500-acre luxury beach resort and gated residential community situated within a dry tropical forest and a vast wildlife refuge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.