We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think about it if you book this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla

Save Saved
You added La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Avellanas | 6 miles from Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
San Ramon, Costa Rica
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Think about it if you book this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Take a good look at their cancellation policy before booking. It is completely unreasonable compared to other hotels in the area. I was charged a full night stay on a master suite $229 for canceling two weeks prior to arrival.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    48
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
44
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gura Humorului, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

To be considered as positive just :
The infinity swimingpool at the Beach Club is nice .
The shutle bus service is very good ( you need it because the beach is 3 miles away).
The iluminating by night and the garden is very well maintained.
Ileana - the massage girl.
When booking ,think about if you like that:
1. The hotel staff (beginning with the manager ) are not guest oriented !!
2. The place is very isolated !! 10 km away on a very bad and dusty road from the first town (Tamarindo) I asked the front desk how can I get there ? The answer was 40 $ one way !
3.You are very isolated and you have to use just their services which are very expensive !
3. Transfer cost from Liberia airport is 110 $ /one way !!
4..Rooms are definitely not 5 Stars !!! They are old and very cold style,they need big attention. The wardrobes have some shelter like the freezer , so that you have a very strange feeling to put your clothes in the fridge....
5. Internet in the room is very, very poor or it is missing at all ! It is telephone cable WiFi
This is why I asked them to change the room ; they did it , but it was the same situation.
.6..The restaurants are just TIPS oriented !!
Food is not bad ,but very expensive ! Plus TIPS for each Limonade !! Breakfast is like nowhere in the world ! It is included in the room price , but just the traditional one ( rice&blak beans, scrumbled eg, a small slice of cheese, and 5 cm of baked banana), 1 glass of box orange juice, 1 cup of coffee or tea) + 150 gr of fruits If you want something else they bring you the menu , they have other breakfast options ,but you have to pay !!! And ...it is about 12,5 $ .
You can get crazy to eat 10 days the same breakfast !! From the 10 days I stayed there , at least 5 of them I was the only guest in the hotel !
This hotel is not for a sojourn , it is just for 1-2 nights. If you are not a golf player or a surfer , there is no reason to go there because it doesn't offer anything else and beside this it is very expensive .
I recommend to stay away from this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Spent three nights in a junior Suite which slept three of us. The pullout couch is not to comfortable but the bed in the main bedroom is a large King size. Very nicely decorated and comes with a nice equipped kitchen and living room. Breakfast the pool side restaurant is included which makes this a great deal.

Room Tip: if you are 4 people the the casita..it has two bedrooms and a kitchen living room in the middle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have been staying at Posada for 5 days, at the beginning of September 2012. Posada is a villa’s resort situated on a huge property of Hacienda Pinilla. From the moment we crossed the gate and drove to the hotel, app. 2km, we where charmed by everything we could see, the nature, the space, flowers, trees, beautifully designed park around as, up to the reception of the resort and our villa. Everything was just perfect, beautiful, quiet, very much Costa Rican, exactly what we where looking for. The room was very nice, clean, air-conditioned with a small kitchen corner including a little fridge. The restaurant was an open terrace and the food was delicious. The personnel was very nice and friendly. Posada is located about 2 km from the beach front. You have to take your car or use a hotel minibus to go to the beach. You will discover stunning architecture of the Beach Club with all the comfort and the luxury, designed with a taste to the small details. The beach is wild and charming; the Pacific grounding always with some surfers waiting for the perfect waves. We enjoyed a beautiful sunset having a glass of wine and the best nachos plate we’ve ever tasted. You can drive around the Hacienda; there is a JW Marriott hotel, directly on the beach, but it is too big, make you think of all inclusive destinations. Hotel has beautiful architecture but beach wasn’t as nice as the one at the Beach Club. We spent a day on a wild, hidden and beautiful Langosta beach, being only the two of us... feeling like Robinsons - amazing experience. We loved every single minute of our stay. We did few short expeditions from the Hacienda Pinilla. Tamarindo city is just 20 min drive from Hacienda – a young and dynamic, city, a lot of surfers everywhere. We drove also to South of Nicoya, to Samara (~2hrs) where we spent an half a day on the beach. There was not much to do, but the beach it self was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

La Posada is a hidden gem in Hacienda Pinilla. The title says it all a great hotel, very quiet and well maintained. The Restaurant food is some of the best I have ever eaten anywhere. A short distance away is the Avellanas Beach Club which is located on the best beach in Costa Rica. A great place for families, singles or couples. You will be made to feel at home.

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

No one will be disappointed with this place! Rooms are spectacular, top level service, surrounded by nature, the most beautiful beaches, golf course and a perfect beach club...

Basically this place works for any type of vacation, from honeymoon to family trips or couples getaway.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Junior suites are 100% worth the upgrade fee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our stay was off-season (end of July – beginning of August 2012)
Sunrise approx 5:15AM - Sunset approx 6:30PM

La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla is lovely. When you drive through the gate you still have a few more minutes to drive before reaching Haciend Pinilla. I had such a ‘I’m on vacation!’ feeling when we drove up and see the open-air reception area. The rooms are set up in sort of bungalows with 2 rooms each (though I guess there could have been 2 rooms connected behind us). The food at the restaurant is very good.

If you want to see IGUANAS, boy do they have them. And they’re not shy.

The Beach Club is great. Nice pool, beautiful water at the beach. Get the Lemonade with Tamarind from the bar! And like everywhere in Costa Rica, the Pina Coladas are delicious.

Not far from the Beach Club (free entry when you stay at Hacienda Pinilla but take your own beach towel from the room with you) we saw a group of moneys making there way down telephone/electrical wires. There may be have been 8 or so monkeys making due where there were no trees handy.

Pros: Beautiful, beach access by car or shuttle, pool, tv, refrigerator, air, comfortable rooms, bi-lingual staff, large property, beautiful water

Cons: Rough road to get there, try to go while the sun is up (about a 4 hour drive from San Jose)

Where we ate/drank: La Posada, Beach Club

I love Costa Rica. It’s a beautiful place with friendly people and LOTS to see. You can spend as much or as little as you want on the trip.

A few tips:
Gratuity: A 10% tip is built into most restaurant tabs but feel free to leave a little extra if you like the service

Take with you: GPS or rent when you arrive, a pocket flashlight; a couple pens, have plenty singles unless you’re going to use Colones, a pocket translation dictionary or have a program ready; when leaving CR you have to pay $28 departure tax so have some money or a credit card ready at the airport

Smart Tourist: Let your credit card company know you’re leaving the country; don’t leave anything visible in your car; look into the car rental situation – on our last trip everyone forced the basic insurance on us (that didn’t happen on a past trip); for rural areas 4-wheel drive or a small SUV may come in handy as some of the roads are rough but many/most are fine; no problem charging electronics without a converter; parts of the country are malaria zones; we were able to make calls home through Google Talk/Vonage on our phone even though we didn’t have phone service; Verizon currently does not have service in CR and they will dump your voicemail/texts from their server if you’re out of their service area for more than 3 day for voice and 6 days for text

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla

Address: Playa Avellanas | 6 miles from Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buttressed against three miles of pristine shoreline within the Guanacaste province in northwest Costa Rica on the Pacific Ocean, Hacienda Pinilla is a 4.500-acre luxury beach resort and gated residential community situated within a dry tropical forest and a vast wildlife refuge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Pinilla Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada at Hacienda Pinilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.