We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Tamarindo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach
Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 29 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Tamarindo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were travelling in Costa Rica for a total of 2 weeks. We had spent 8 days in Nosara and 3 days in Playa Copal, which were both pretty quiet places. We had been in Tamarindo 14 years ago when it was a small town. When we arrived in Tamarindo we were kind of shocked by how much the town had grown. We were wondering how we would survive after being so mellow for a week and half. Then we pulled up to Villa Alegre and met Barry and were so relieved! First of all the place is clean with a calming warm design. Barry is like a cool Father (cooler than mine :) ) with great stories of travels and his amateur acting career. We stayed in the Japan suite which was lovely and furnished with items from the hosts travels to Japan; very clean and large. It allowed my wife and I to have a separate room from the kids. Villa Alegre is not right on the Tamarindo strip which is a plus, as it is close enough to be able to take advantage of all that Tamarindo has become and also allows you to escape to a quieter oasis. I would have to say that the highlight of the day at Villa Allegre are the Breakfasts!! Every morning a new variation from Barry's collection of breakfast recipes! All of them were amazing, even the kids who usually complain about everything, ate every bite of breakfast. In fact they have asked us to make some of them since we got home. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    4
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
76
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I chose Villa Alegre for our honeymoon destination after we decided to spend the majority of our time in Costa Rica near Tamarindo. We were easily able to catch a flight from San Jose to Tamarindo and the ride from the Tamarindo Airport to the Villa was about ten minutes in no traffic. We were warmly welcomed by Barry and their dog, Manchita, upon our arrival and quickly began to work on a few of our activity options for the week. This is one of the ways Barry and Suzye can be extremely helpful. They are very well versed with the town and the activities that are available in the surrounding areas. We had our surf lesson set for the next day at 9:00 AM before we even officially checked into the Mexico Room, which is the Honeymoon Suite. The bathroom is the real highlight to this room, along with the cleanliness and the décor that Barry and Suzye display from their travels. The bathroom is outside, offering plenty of space for two, with dual sinks and a large shower that allows for an easy view of the moon and stars at night. The Villa itself offers a nice pool and patio area, easy access to the beach, and a community living room where book exchange is encouraged. The breakfasts each morning were different and filling, offering a nice variety of local cuisine, fresh fruit and juice and local coffee. Internet access is available at the Villa for no charge on a laptop offered by the hosts. A refrigerator is kept fully stocked with drinks (to include local beer) and small snacks are also available in this area at a minimal cost. We were easily able to call a local cab into town (although you could bike or even walk) several times and the cost was also pretty minimal. Barry and Suzye were extremely accommodating hosts, even going as far as to offer a traditional Christmas dinner to all guests that were in the Villa during this day. Overall, our experience was one that I would highly recommend if you are looking for a very comfortable, inviting, and authentic stay in Playa Longosta.

Room Tip: The Mexico room is considered the Honeymoon Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arriving in the night after a long bustrip from San Jose Barry put us in a very nice room and gave us a ride to the bar Sharkys to have a drink or two.
Spending a week with Suzye & Barry we felt almost like family and enjoyed everything from the breakfasts, canopy arrangements, surfboards, playing shuffle board by the pool to having a glass of wine over a dicussion with our hosts watching the sunset.
I strongly recommend Villa Alegre !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Suzye and Barry are awesome hosts and wonderful people!

Nice location, clean and intricately decorated rooms, relaxing infinity pool, access to beach from property....no wonder our daughter's best part of the vacation in Costa Rica was Villa Alegre itself!
Suzye and Barry made every effort to help us with maps, directions, restaurant recommendations, and much more. Breakfast was delicious. Guests and hosts were like part of a big family.

Thank you Suzye, Barry, staff and other wonderful people who made our stay at Villa Alegre memorable!

Sacheen, Dipa, and Ishara

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

access to the main part of tamarindo without the noise and traffic. The actual property is beautiful, a pool, ocean front property and an incredible breakfast- Barry is a great cook! I stayed here with my husband and 4 other family members- truly can't say enough good things and hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: We loved the carribean room because it did not get super hot at any point of the day (sun just doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Being new travelers to Costa Rica, we were so grateful to have come across Villa Alegre! We were welcomed with smiles and although we had only planned to stay one night, we ended up staying a second because we liked it so much! The inn keepers are warm and inviting people and I would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in costa rica!

Room Tip: We chose a private villa, which is separate from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I owned a condo in Tamarindo for many years and recently sold. Went back to visit with friends and stayed with Barry & Suzye. They treated my friends as their friends and helped make the visit even better than I planned. Certainly the best B&B experience any of us have had.

It was better than owning...

Room Tip: The casitas are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach

Also Known As:
Villa Alegre - Bed And Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Tamarindo
Villa Alegre - Bed And Breakfast On The Beach Hotel
Villa Alegre - b&b On The Beach
Address: Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Alegre - Bed and Breakfast on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.