We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rican Hospitalty at it's best !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Pearland, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Costa Rican Hospitalty at it's best !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

"Pura Vida" and "No Worries". Each phrase heard repeatedly during our June 11-16, 2013 stay at Sueno Del Mar, and each time, the resort lived up to it. From our check-in with Sol, to the delicious breakfasts served each morning by Lily and Helen, to the tours arranged by Sue or the recommendations for food and massages from Eduardo, this resort truly typified the "Pure Life". Our stay in the Luna suite (highly recommended) was truly magical, outdoor shower and hammock in room included. The location is excellent, only a short 10 minute walk up a beautiful beach to Tamarindo, but far enough away to be private and magical. Bathing in the outdoor shower with Howler monkeys and iguanas in the trees overhead just has to be experienced. If the opportunity arises, ask Eduardo for a massage recommendation. You will not be disappointed. Thanks Eduardo and Kim. And be sure to tell Sol to leave the lights OFF in the pool for you at night. She'll get a kick out of that. Lily's breakfasts were truly heavenly, and a full 3 courses to say the least. Dessert for breakfast is truly "Pura Vida,." The night staff even lights candles on the pathways at night for those returning from a nice meal in town at one of the many fabulous restaurants recommended by the hosts. Hammocks and Adirondack chairs are easily found on the beach, as well as a covered bed to watch the majestic Costa Rican sunset. Grab a bottle of wine or a cold Imperial from the honor bar, and walk the 40 or 50 feet to the beach front , and witness the intense colors of the setting sun. Need surf lessons? They can accommodate you there also. Thanks Brian. That man has patience you would not believe and makes learning to surf fun. The only regrets we had for our stay at Sueno Del Mar was not booking more nights. The staff here is wonderful, the resort magnificent, and the views and total experience was unbelievable. My wife and I were celebrating our 25 anniversary a little early, so I had high expectations, and Sueno Del Mar shattered them. Set yours high, and see if they can shatter yours. You won't be disappointed. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but the queen rooms are a little on the small side, but then again, how much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
124
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I absolutely loved this place. One week before our trip to Costa Rica, I received an email that our hotel in Playa Brasilito burned down. We scrambled to find a place and luckily, I took a second look at Sueno del Mar and they had one room open-- the Osita. It was meant to be. Edwardo showed us around the grounds of the B&B and the whole time I thought, this is sooo much better than the pictures!! Our room was very large, but dark. It did not matter, the best part was outside on our private patio with private outdoor shower and bathroom-- absolutely gorgeous. We watched the monkeys and giant lizards from our shower! We had a gecko living in our room, but we were used to this-- they were in every room we stayed in in Costa Rica! The breakfasts were simply amazing-- I would eat there everyday if I could. The décor around the eating area, pool and beach area was just beautiful-- it felt like I was living in a magazine. My husband and I did not have a car so it took a little extra work to eat and go anywhere. For our first lunch, we went across the street and ate at the pool restaurant at Cala Luna-- gorgeous hotel and great meal. For dinner, we walked down the beach (~20 min) to Tamarindo and ate at Seasons (Edwardo had highly recommended it) and we loved it too. We easily took a cab home.

The next day, Edwardo had suggested that we check out a famous beach bar called Lolas. We walked to Tamarindo and took a shuttle to a hotel near the bar and walked quite a ways down a deserted beach until we got to Lolas. It was a cool bar with tons of surfers-- I would only go there if you have a car. We payed a local to drive us back! For dinner, we walked to Tamarindo again, and walked to the far edge of town to a restaurant called Pangas. Edwardo said it had a great atmosphere and inconsistent food-- we were totally bummed because they had a private party going on and it was closed. It looked awesome inside and I would totally have loved to check it out! Instead we ended up eating at Copacabana. Oddly, all of the restaurants were totally dead and this was one of the only ones with a few people in it. Food and atmosphere were pretty good.

Honestly, we did not feel super safe in Tamarindo at night. I was a little uncomfortable because the streets are not well lit if you get a little off the main drag and there were some sketchy characters around- this was the first place in Costa Rica that we were asked a few times if we wanted to buy drugs. I was glad I had the flashlight app on my phone because we used it to walk around. I was very glad to not be staying in Tamarindo.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our last hotel stop on our Costa Rica trip and it was truly on of our more memorable stays! After 10 days of driving around the country we were just looking for a place to relax and enjoy our last few days in the sun and we got exactly what we were looking for. I had initially planned to book Capitan Suizo and I'm happy it got sold out because everything about Sueno Del Mar was unique. Loved our room (we stayed in the Mischa suit), the 3 course breakfast was so tasty, the hammocks by the ocean and the personable staff! For anyone who is looking for something unique and intimate - don't look any further!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Situated in a secluded beach front spot but close enough to town and all its bars and eating venues. Wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, a brilliant eclectic mix of furnishings (I smiled at the cow skull toilet roll holder), loved the open air shower and the comfortable outdoor space with its hammocks and sofas. Breakfast was a feast and always a delight.
The owner and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I had my beach wedding here and was delighted that sueno del mar was even more beautiful than I imagined it could be! The decor is so thoughtfully done, it has an idilic rustic edge with so many personal touches. You definitely feel at home here. At night the watchman lights candles a long the walkways which make it look magical! The breakfast literally is a 3 course meal! I have never had a pudding at breakfast before!
I would recommend for any special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you like seclusion, luxery, and being pampered, you will find it all here. The rooms in this small hacienda style B & B are beautifully decorated and include simply everything. The breakfast is delicious, prepared with fresh local ingrediences, the staff is ever so helpful, pleasant and friendly. The little patch of beach is your little patch of paradise. Don't expect pristine sand to your left and right: The Sueno del Mar's beach is on a cliff, where you can splash and snorkel in a natural pool at low tide, and enjoy the view of substantial waves crash on high tide. It's quiet, and thanks Heaven lacking that annoying piped music, obnoxious animators, screaming kids and barking dogs - heaven for adults! THE place for couples or singles on a well deserved time-out.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms: one honey moon room, one small apartment, but ALL rooms are delightful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful property with a pretty beachfront, and nature right at your doorstep. Architecturally reminded me of Spanish / Asian influences (there is probably a better description on the website). We had booked a room here for 2 nights, and later wished we could have stayed longer. There was a tree right outside our room frequented by howler monkeys, wow!!! Maintenance of such a property with the salt air and jungle atmosphere must be tough and it is well appreciated. Our room (called Gecko) was very comfortable, where the A/C worked well (it was needed at night when we were there in May). Staff was helpful and provided great suggestions on places to go for food, sightseeing etc. The 3 course breakfast was delicious, and prices for drinks for the rest of the day was reasonable; self serve honor style from fridges located outside the kitchen, local beers US$2.50 :-). Best thing: pure relaxation and enjoyment of nature. Worse thing: 5 min drive from town to the B&B as road was full of potholes, we were glad to have an SUV, but saw plenty of cars

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Address: Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sueno del Mar is a boutique B&B on the beach. We are know for our gourmet breakfast made with fresh local ingredients. On the beach we created a very comfortable setting with hammocks and lounge beds to relax and watch the incredible sunsets. Included in our room rates we also offer the use of our complementary snorkel equipment, bicycles, surf boards, fishing poles and body boards. We are looking forward having you stay with us. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Del Mar Hotel Tamarindo
Sueno Del Mar Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.