We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rebecca/Andrew Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
“Rebecca/Andrew Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

An Incredible Experience, amazing staff, made my daughters wedding PERFECT!!! Eduardo, Sol and Suzanne could not have been more helpful...From all of my Pre wedding inquiries to setting up excursions they were so incredibly helpful they have ALL the connections in Tamarindo so you should ONLY go through them, they set up everything and you only have to pay the Hotel at the end of your stay and never have to deal with anyone else! They set up a fishing trip for the Men attending the Wedding, when we returned Eduardo the Gen Mngr went to the kitchen and cooked us all Lunch with the Fish we caught! I have never been to a property where EVERYONE was So accomodating! The property is Beautifull Rooms are very nice but it is truly the staff that runs Seuno Del Mar that makes it so special.... If you are planning a wedding or a trip to Tamarindo, I could not give a higher recommendation. You will be in GREAT Hands..... Mark Winston

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EduardoVilla, Front Office Manager at Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Mark thank you for the kind words. We really enjoyed you and your family. We are happy you were able to do so many things while you were here and got to explore Costa Rica a bit. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in Costa RIca. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
122
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

An amazing place, with amazing staff! Everything you could possibly need right there in front of you! One of the most relaxed and comfortable places I have been to in Costa Rica! The pool is so refreshing after being in the HOT Costa Rican Sun. Nice relaxing hammocks, lounge chairs and Palapa to relax in. Very tranquilo!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I don't even know where to begin...Sueno del Mar is magical! My family and I rented out the entire B&B for five days earlier this month for an intimate beach wedding. The B&B is beautiful and the view/location is amazing. What makes this place so incredible though is the staff. From the initial email I sent inquiring about reservations to the day we left Sueno Del Mar, Eduardo, Susanne, and Sol were so accommodating and attentive and seemed genuinely pleased to make us happy. They did so much for us during our short five day stay! By the time we arrived they had arranged all of our airport transfers, booked all of our excursions including a day trip to Rincon De La Vieja for our group of twelve, a private sunset sail, an ATV tour, a private fishing charter, and onsite massages, manicures, and pedicures for our group the morning of the wedding. They even fulfilled a request by friends and family back in the states to surprise us with a wine and cheese basket and massages upon our arrival. They recommended great restaurants and made all of our reservations and transportation arrangements on our behalf. Upon returning from the fishing trip, Eduardo cooked up the fish we caught for an afternoon snack. He even ran to the grocery store to purchase water and other items for our group to save us a cab ride. They arranged for the wonderful breakfast chef, Lilly, to cook us an authentic Costa Rican meal for a hassle free dinner at "home". They provide laundry service that was ready within an hour. They have a convenient honor bar with affordable options for beer, wine, and sodas. They have bicycles available for a quick ride into town and snorkeling gear and water toys available for use.

When it came time for the wedding, they each played a role. They joined our amazing planner, Kirsten, from Four Winds Wedding and Events to create our dream wedding. Susanne took over the bar and made us delicious natural cocktails served in coconuts as well as served us margaritas, sangria, beer, and wine throughout the night. Sol's catering company, Elite Event, provided us an amazing three course meal along with multiple passed appetizers. The service they provided us and the pride they take in their property has yet to be duplicated. Sueno Del Mar was the perfect place for our group. I wholeheartedly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EduardoVilla, Front Office Manager at Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
You guys are great! Thank you for choosing us for this special day in your lives. We wish you a live full of happiness and laughter together. We are looking forward celebrating your anniversaries here! Saludos Sueno team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was our first time in Costa Rica and I chose Sueno Del Mar based upon its proximity to the beach and the glowing trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed! Based on availability we stayed 4 nights in the biggest suite and 3 in one of the queen rooms. If you can stay in the Luna suite, do it! It's the only room with a ocean view and since it's the only room on the second floor, it's incredibly private. It was hard to move into the queen room after staying there but the queen rooms are totally well kept and nice. The 3 course breakfast was the first highlight of every morning and different every day. The location is about a 20 minute walk on the beach to town or a 10 minute bike ride so if you like to be right in town, it's probably not the place for you. You do need to make the trip a couple times a day for lunch and dinner. We personally enjoyed the peace and quiet away from town. We felt very taken care of the whole time we were there and highly recommend Sueno Del Mar!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Sueno del Mar was our best hotel experience ever and we have stayed at a lot of five star resorts. We felt completely pampered, received personal attention and totally enjoyed relaxing at this tranquil, unique beachfront hotel. We were treated like we were guests in someone's home and yet the rooms are completely private and comfortable. The best part of the day was watching the sunset on the beach. The breakfasts were amazing and definitely the best meals we found in Tamarindo. The chef, Lily, even prepared gluten and dairy free meals for my husband. The hotel has a lot of character -- we loved listening to the howler monkeys and showering in the beautiful outdoor showers.

Room Tip: Our favorite room was Misha. It was very quiet and has its own outdoor sitting area. We also stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite during our stay at Sueno del Mar in February 2013 since we were celebrating our 45th anniversary. Sol welcomed us and introduced us to the property. During our stay the staff (Sol, Susanne, and Eduardo) was very attentive to our needs, making arrangements for our dinners and daytime activities. The honeymoon suite (Luna) is the best and I highly recommend it. The outside shower is a unique experience with its beautiful tile work. The suite is large and airy and only requires air-conditioning at night even with 90 degree days. The staff arranged a special dinner for us on our anniversary on the beach at sunset with 3 other couples also guests. The breakfasts prepared by Lilly were exceptional and served poolside or on the beach. We highly recommend Sueno del Mar for anyone visiting the Tamarindo area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for 3 days in mid-February 2013. From the moment we arrived, we were really impressed with the care & enthusiasm the staff showed. Sol greeted us, gave us a tour and got us booked with a couple activities we wanted to do - turtle watching and surfing. The atmosphere here is very laid back - we made friends with some of the other guests easily. As some other people wrote, it may not feel very private at times, with the main window of a room facing the main walkway and an outdoor shower that is visually private but also just a couple feet from the walkway.... but we were fine with it. That's the nature of a B&B, in my opinion. We were thrilled that there was a family of howler monkeys living in a tree next door that we could watch anytime. The little things here were all done very well - breakfast was excellent, and they were very attentive to my wife's food allergy. There's a self-serve honor bar for beer & soda, so it kind of feels like your own villa on the beach, where you can just grab a drink and plop down on a lounge chair to watch an amazing sunset into the ocean. 1 thing they could improve is the wifi - I didn't really need it, but somehow it's more frustrating to have it 50% of the time than not at all. They have bikes you can ride into town; the walk to town would be about 20 minutes. I liked being a bit away from the bustle of Tamarindo. The beach right in front of SdM is rocky, but at low tide it's great for snorkeling to see the creatures like urchins and small colorful fish in the tide pools. I think this place embodies what Costa Ricans mean when they say "pura vida!"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Address: Playa Langosta, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sueno del Mar is a boutique B&B on the beach. We are know for our gourmet breakfast made with fresh local ingredients. On the beach we created a very comfortable setting with hammocks and lounge beds to relax and watch the incredible sunsets. Included in our room rates we also offer the use of our complementary snorkel equipment, bicycles, surf boards, fishing poles and body boards. We are looking forward having you stay with us. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Del Mar Hotel Tamarindo
Sueno Del Mar Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sueno del Mar Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.