We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nahua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nahua to your Saves list
Hotel Nahua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Guanacaste | 125 Meters North of the Langosta Beach Crossing... From Hotel Pasatiempo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Maybe I got a bad room but it was pretty bad. The handle on the shower was falling off, the bed was really hard and lumpy. If the bed was good, add a star.
There is a small fridge and the small, old tv worked okay. The ac looked fairly new and worked well. The check in staff were outstanding.
I think there's a tremendous difference if you spend about $20 more from a really rough room to a fairly nice room equal to U.S. standards.

Room Tip: Maybe larger rooms are nicer. I had the single and it was pretty rough. I would try to look at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    46
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
11
43
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for a week in one of the apartment style rooms with kitchenette. It was very nice and clean, with a/c, ceiling fan and cable tv. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing and the pool is great! We saw a family of monkeys in the tree outside our room and there are some really cool iguanas hanging around. While everyone is friendly and there are several other cabinas on the property, it is also private. The owner, Gabriela is always about working hard to keep the property looking beautiful and always has a smile. The girl who works in the office is very friendly....this hotel had the best sincere, friendly customer service of any place I have stayed. The location is perfect, walking distance to main drag, beach and a large bank with atm is across the street. The local grocery store is right around the corner. I loved it here and cannot wait to visit again!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We stayed here for 5 nights in a double room/private bathroom. The room was brand new, and beautiful (very clean). The pool and lounge area were a great place to relax. The staff was friendly and helpful. Best value for your money inTamarindo. We would very much recommend this hotel for your stay in Tamarindo, the quality can't be beat.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Some of these reviews are mental. Best pillows?? Nonsense. Awful awful pillows. Also, we amassed roughly 30 bed bug bites in 5 nights. Honestly devoured.

Add to that there is NO wifi in the bed rooms and even better, no door in the toilet! It's simply around a wall. Lovely romantic honeymoon.

I am baffled at anyone who honesty believes this is a good hotel. Dreadful I'm afraid.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

In this place you can have a good time, the place is just clean always, and also it is very private, good price for what they offer, from luxury rooms, to simple dormitory with the minimum required features.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here in November 2013 and we had a great experience. The AC was cold, the rooms were large and the location is great! Off of the main street but only by a block or so which means we were able to walk to everything. There's a great burrito restaurant right near by and the outdoor common area is beautiful. There's a family of monkeys that live on the property but noise was not issue. Check in and out was easy and we had no issues whatsoever. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

It all seemed good at the beginning, but then the owner freaked out and we had a horrible experience. The worse client service, directly by the crazy owner. Not recomended at all. Would never come back and will make sure to recommend everyone not to come here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nahua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nahua

Address: Calle Guanacaste | 125 Meters North of the Langosta Beach Crossing... From Hotel Pasatiempo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nahua 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments and hotel rooms around a lush garden with swimming pool, BBQ area and lazy corner. Only minutes from Tamarindo's beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nahua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nahua Hotel Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nahua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.