We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nahua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Nahua to your Saves list
Hotel Nahua
Calle Guanacaste | 50 mts.East from Lazy Waves Restaurant, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Large rooms, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here in November 2013 and we had a great experience. The AC was cold, the rooms were large and the location is great! Off of the main street but only by a block or so which means we were able to walk to everything. There's a great burrito restaurant right near by and the outdoor common area is beautiful. There's a family of monkeys that live on the property but noise was not issue. Check in and out was easy and we had no issues whatsoever. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
11
39
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

It all seemed good at the beginning, but then the owner freaked out and we had a horrible experience. The worse client service, directly by the crazy owner. Not recomended at all. Would never come back and will make sure to recommend everyone not to come here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Accepts credit cards--I paid $55 a night for a single. Comfortable rooms with A/C, fridge, hot-water showers. Friendly office staff. Pool. Close to restaurants. No included breakfast. Five minute walk to the beach, which is crowded and full of hawkers--if you want peace and quiet go to Playa Grande. I'm not a big fan of Tamarindo...but if you're here, Hotel Nahua will fit the bill for a night...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for the second time. The last time was in 2008 and it was very quiet both at the hotel and in Tamarindo in general.
This time around it was much busier in both places.
This hotel is indeed one of the hidden gems in Tamirindo and the hostess, Gabriella and her staff, are some of the nicest people you could want to meet.
Gabriella showed me the new suite that had just been completed and it is beautiful and very modern. She assured me that she is in the porcess of updating the whole place(it does need it!) and that is should be done in the next year or so.
I will surely return on my next visit to CR!!

Room Tip: The new suite is lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed here for 7 days and I loved it. Good location, great staff, and the place is just gorgeous. i know for a lot of people this might seem trivial, but the shower quality was really good. When you take 2-3 showers a day, you will appreciate a good pressure shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Blas, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were looking for a quality place to stay at an affordable price in Tamarindo, Costa Rica that was also close to the beach. This is what we have been searching for. Whether you go to Tamarindo to enjoy the beautiful beach, the great surf, ecotours, nightlife and other activities or just to relax after a long day of traveling, you will be glad you chose to stay at Hotel Nahua… we sure were. The entire hotel property is beautifully landscaped featuring native tropical plants.

During our stay at Hotel Nahua, we enjoyed the clean swimming pool which is surrounded by tropical plants with many lounge chairs around the pool deck. There is a central ”hangout” area which is a shaded/covered area with very comfortable modern sofas. It is a great area for your morning coffee and an excellent area for talking to fellow travelers or making new friends. The Nahua has a really cool barbecue grill area overlooking the pool with two brick grills complete with sturdy top of the line grill/grates (not the flimsy rusty cheap stuff ) ready for you to cook some burgers or a nice fish.

During our stay, there was a couple of bags of charcoal/carbon under the brick grill. Inside our room we were happy to find a minifridge, air conditioning (fresh not musky), a spacious hot shower, a large flat screen television w/cable and remote control, and Wifi with a good signal even though our room was not close to the reception. Another great feature of The Hotel Nahua is the location. The bank, supermarket and many exquisite shops are just a short walk away. There are many restaurants, bars, burger and pizza joints just a short walk away as well. Also only a 45 minute drive from the Liberia International Airport. There is even a great coffee shop/cafe about 5 steps from the hotel.


And best of all, with us being surfers, the beach is also a short walk from the hotel (about two blocks).

In the late afternoon, we encountered some monkeys who enjoy the many trees which surround the property. During our stay we saw at least 6 monkeys including a family of monkeys passing by about an hour before sunset. (These are not the noisy howler monkeys.)

Overall: Hotel Nahua is an outstanding deal for the quality of service. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were great (I travel with my own since many hotels usually have crappy pillows and did not have to use it since the pillows here are top notch). The room was very clean w/ceramic tile floors. The bathroom was very spacious with a full length mirror! There was a sink in the room next to the bathroom which works great when there is more the one person traveling . We were all very impressed with how well maintained the facilities were and how helpful and nice the entire staff treated their guests. When we checked out and headed out of town, Timo remembered he left the cord he uses to make bracelets, in the room. Housekeeping already cleaned the room by the time we made it back and the cord was not in the room. The lady saw Timo was back and walked over with the the cord to give it to him. Very friendly staff and an overall good vibe! We are all looking forward to staying here again in the future. For reservations, rates and more information on Hotel Nahua, please visit their website.

View video footage of the facilities at Hotel Nahua: www.mxsteez.com

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed here for a few days in August 2013 and it was a perfect escape from reality. My room was quiet and clean, the hotel has a beautiful private pool, and the location was great - steps away from restaurants and only a short walk to the beach. There is also an ATM and supermarket nearby. My room had a kitchen, so I was able to make my own breakfast before heading to the beach.

As a solo female traveler I'm very safety-conscious, but I had no concerns while staying here. There's only one main entrance off the street, and at night there is a security guard to make sure only guests are coming in.

Gita and Gabriela were incredibly friendly and helpful. They arranged my transportation to and from the airport, recommended an instructor for a private surfing lesson, and gave great suggestions for activities and restaurants in the area. Lovely women!

I would definitely stay here again. I thought it was great value for the money I paid. There is also a bit of a discount if you pay in cash vs. credit card.

Room Tip: Go for one of the apartment-style rooms with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nahua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nahua

Address: Calle Guanacaste | 50 mts.East from Lazy Waves Restaurant, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments and hotel rooms around a lush garden with swimming pool, BBQ area and lazy corner. Only minutes from Tamarindo's beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nahua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nahua Hotel Tamarindo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nahua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.