We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pueblo Dorado

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pueblo Dorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pueblo Dorado
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 295159 | Villarreal, Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Tamarindo
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simple but adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in this hotel and found it to be comfortable, clean and welcoming. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. The pool is good for cooling off but not for swimming as it is not very deep. Breakfast is a bonus as were the howling monkeys that seranaded us each afternoon around four o'clock. The hotel is located within walking distance to the shops and restaurants and taxis are plentiful for longer distances. The air conditioning worked well and the rooms and poolside and common areas were immaculate.

Room Tip: Ask for the second level away from the laundry room and if you can get a corner room they are more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    14
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is not for those seeking a North American experience. The rooms are adequately furnished with maid service daily.The airconditioning is individual to the room, the in room shower is large and tiled. There is a basic fare daily breakfast consisting of fresh fruit, juice, cereal, toast, jam, scrambled eggs and fantastic coffee. The pool is maintained daily and has tables chairs and loungers. The front desk staff are great. If there are issues the staff work to resolve them quickly. Most staff are Spanish speaking and very friendly. The hotel is situated on the fringe of the town within a short walk of restauraunts and shops. The beach is across the street and is just wonderful. Taxis are plentiful and inexpensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Pros:
- Great staff! Welcoming and showed genuine concern
- Hot water (weird that it feels like a luxury after coming from Monteverde and Poas)
- Very good value for money

Cons:
- Rickety beds
- Ants in the room (the staff changed the room immediately)
- Small breakfast. We ended up going to the excellent Parisian bakery opposite the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for four nights of what was to be an eight night stay. First the good - the staff were very nice, it was clean and located out of the busy part of town with a short walk to the beach, and the pool area was nice. Now the bad - the room was very small, the bed was so noisy that you couldn't move without making lots of noise, the bathroom door was see through and our room was above the breakfast area and guests who were using it at 5:30 am were a bit loud (didn't really matter since we were't doing too much sleeping anyway). We were able to find another place to stay so left early. The prices were high for what you got compared to other places we stayed. I can't recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

this hotel is totally average -- if you are looking for luxury this is not your place. It is clean enough -- small room with just the basic neccessties. Probably great for backpackers, etc. Short walk to beach, shops. Would stay somewhere nicer next time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

At the first night arriving to the hotel, we felt totally disappointed. Angry man at the front desk did not say a word when we arrived. When we found our room, it was small and bad-smelling. Location was good, near the beach (but be aware, the map doesn't show the right place. The right place is near the river between Playa Tamarindo and Playa Grande). Very expensive compared to the quality! Only with few small changes in the quality of service the experience could have been better. We cannot recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel was very easy to find coming into town, and the location was good as it was away from the bustle of Tamarindo, but still a short walk away from everything.

The room was decent enough, except for all the ants in the bathroom. We asked to have someone take a look at it and they sprayed something that killed them off. Some still came back, but it was tolerable. The last day full day we were there, the housekeepers (I assume) sprayed some sort of a cleaning spray that was very toxic. We closed the bathroom door turned the fan on, and opened a bedroom window to air it out. We came back later that night and it was still bad. It was tolerable when the bathroom door was closed however. The next morning, whatever that spray was, had affected us in a big way. I was completely stuffed up, and i had a horrible cough. My girlfriend had brutal sneezing fits all day as we traveled, followed by a bad runny nose, and much coughing.

The fact that wi-fi wasn't available in the rooms themselves was not a HUGE issue. It would have been nice, but not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pueblo Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pueblo Dorado

Address: P.O Box 295159 | Villarreal, Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pueblo Dorado 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pueblo Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Dorado Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pueblo Dorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.