We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place with Awesome Friends!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mamiri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mamiri to your Saves list
Hotel Mamiri
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   150mts Este Tower Pacific Park | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$55 (USD)
Ranked #11 of 36 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Place with Awesome Friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

I have been to Costa Rica several times and Tamarindo was by far my favorite town. I did some searching and found Mamiri highly recommended so I thought I would give it a try. I'm glad I did. The guys that run the place are awesome laid back surfer types that are very easy to get along with and we instantly clicked. The hotel also has a large common area with grill that encourages guests to meet an interact (similar to a hostel) which made meeting people fun and less awkward then I'm used to.

I stayed a month and I'm planning on coming back for a few more later in the year. 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    23
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
50
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stayed here with friends for the New Year, therefore the (relatively) expensive rates they charge ($120/night for appartment sleeping 5). The hotel has a lot of potential (it was apparently much nicer with the previous owner). However, now the rooms are dusty, very basic service (had to ask for towels, toilet paper, to clean the room, etc...) The staff was friendly when talking to them, but not proactive (i.e. a hotel should provide you with towels from the beginning, not wait until you ask them for!). It's ok maybe at $50 a night, but not worth more. The adjacent restaurant (separate from the hotel) was pretty good though, great breakfasts. I'm sure there are better value hotels in Tamarindo!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMamiriTamarindo, Propietario at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We regret that your stay at the hotel has not been pleasant.
We are a new administration, we started working the hotel in July 2011.
We are a family who run it and We are focused toward a calm and familiar audience.
We want our guests to feel at home. Breakfast time is a good moment to meet other guests and arrange tours
We hope to see you some day and be able to give you a new opportunity to have a lovely holiday in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We booked this after reading positive reviews here on Tripadvisor and because it had a nice write up in the Lonely Planet. I have to say that all of those comments are woefully out of date. The restaurant next door which was also recommended has changed hands and I suspect the hotel has too. There was a vile smell of raw sewage that apparently overflowed from the restaurant every single day. No one was able to help when our lights didnt work. The bed was uncomfortable and the curtains in adequate (e.g. no privacy) and there were mosquitoes everywhere. We immediately found another hotel and left. I would urge you to avoid this place as there are far nicer accommodations in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMamiriTamarindo, Propietario at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We regret that your stay at the hotel has not been pleasant.
We are a new administration, we started working the hotel in July 2011.
We are a family who run it and are focused toward a calm and familiar audience.
We want our guests to feel at home.
We hope to see you some day and be able to give you a new opportunity to have a lovely holiday in Costa Rica!
Best Regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

I chose Mamiri because of the good reviews and the cheap price, and was definitely not disappointed. The owners were really nice and the place was clean.

I stayed a month in a single room (they also have dorms and doublerooms) with a small fridge, my own bathroom with hot water and a small desk. Perfect for studying. There is a kitchen that you share, a couch and a TV, a computer and free wireless internet. And there are always people playing guitar by the tables outside, so if you`re feeling lonely people are right outside your door.

Six thumbs up.

Pura vida!

Magdi (Norway)

  • Liked — Nice location, friendly staff, clean and inexpensive
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Very nice budget hotel in Tamarindo.
We had a private double bedroom, which was very nice and clean. The owners are friendly and helpfull.
The hostel offers free coffee.
The restaruant next to the hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israeli
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

We've arrived to Mamiri hotel during October 2008, and it's one of the best places I've been to at Costa Rica. The staff is great, the room is clean with safe, refrigirator, nice furniture and clean bathroom with hot shower. There is alot of public place with nice kitchen and overall, a great atmosphere. Definetely a true great value for the low price!

I will highly recommend it to my friends. Thanks for having my stay so enjoyable.

  • Liked — Great room, clean, causy, atmosphere, great value for price
  • Disliked — Everything was great.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

A gem of a place,and in rainy season, superb value.

The room was very tasteful and the bed was comfy. The attached bathroom was very good too. The staff are helpful and the atmosphere is top notch. This place has character and a homely feel.

It seems like a more expensive hotel and I was sorry to leave. Only downside is the muddy roads that you can´t escape what with the rain, but that is not the fault of the lovely Hotel Mamiri.

Thumbs up! Will stay here again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mamiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamiri

Address: 150mts Este Tower Pacific Park | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mamiri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica`s North Pacific Coast, Hotel Mamiri in Tamarindo Beach offers comfortable accomodations, in private rooms and apartments. A quiet escape in harmony with nature. Just 300 mts. from the white sands this warm hotel in Tamarindo, Costa Rica, with helpful and friendly staff prides itself on making your vacations as enjoyable and pleasant as possible.Hotel Amenities:Cable TV - A/C & Ceiling fan - Wireless internet & PC - Free breakfast - Safety box - Hot Water - Kitchen FacilitiesA short walk down the beach will take you to the town of Tamarindo where you may wish to enjoy lunch or dinner at one of the many outstanding restaurantsWe can provide sailing tours from our family sail boat and arrange surf classes or rent boards for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mamiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mamiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.