We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far Exceeded our Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mamiri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mamiri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mamiri
150mts Este Tower Pacific Park | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$35 (USD)
Ranked #10 of 31 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Far Exceeded our Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Mamiri from Jan 9 - Jan 16 2013.
Clean rooms, air condtioning and hot water worked well (not a given in CR). Tasty light breakfast included. Best price in Tamarindo. 300yds to the beach. Hotel managers Sergio and Teresa were so helpful in guiding our vacation that we decided to stay longer than we planned. Each day they suggested a different great place to visit. It was like staying with a good friend. We didn't know how long we wanted to stay in Tamarindo and they were flexible with not requiring us to state the number of days we'd stay.
We loved Tamarindo-loads of excellent restaurants, night life, great beach-for surfers and calmer areas for non surfers, but yet still rustic in the tropics. We drove to quiet beach several days also.
The West Coast of CR is where everyone goes. Better weather (dry and hot -93 each day- with no rain Dec-May- it was rainy and cloudy on the East Coast while we were there) Hint- just bring a bathing suit to wear day and night, do the estuary tour in Tamarindo; drive 1.5 hrs. to Rincon de La Veija-can do it all there-Volcano, walking trails with wildlife, hot springs, zip-line the canopy, mud pots(like Yellowstone), biking, horseback, etc.
We love you Teresa and Sergio. Hope to see you next year. Bob and Debra

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    22
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
49
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We've spent 2 days. Teresa and Sergio, explained us everything about the area. The room was clean an huge space available four us ( family of 4).
Everything is close from here. If you are by car, ask Sergio about how to get to Pirate Bay, excellent beach recommended by him.
The hosts made feel us like at home, they are very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were at Hotel Mamiri in early December. Overall, we were impressed. Teresa and Sergio really treat their clients as family. Every morning we were given homemade pancakes (made by Sergio himself) and lots of fruit. I am not a coffee drinker; however, my husband thought that their coffee was quite good.

The most impressive area of the hotel itself is the courtyard. It mainly functions as a breakfast area; however, the landscaping is very lush. Even though this bed and breakfast is very affordable, it's nice to be able to relax in such a scenic area. Beware of the mosquitos however and use bug spray!

The rooms are on the small side, and in the process of being upgraded. We had great air conditioning, a shower, queen size bed, safe, and small fridge. The shower was a bit disappointing because the hot water heater was built into the shower head, so the water often was only lukewarm.


When it came to arranging activities, Teresa and Sergio were very helpful directing us to good people for surfing, rides to the airport, and restaurants. Many other establishments in Tamarindo were also offering all sorts of activities; however, Teresa's and Sergio's activities were overall the most reasonably priced. Mostly, we were in Tamarindo to hit the beautiful beach, which was a ten minute walk from the hotel.

Overall, we were quite pleased with our stay. If you are looking for a budget-friendly but beautiful place to stay near the beach, this hotel is for you! We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here together with my girlfriend 4 nights in early Nov 2012. We found the accommodations excellent for the price: clean rooms, comfortable bed, AC, breakfast. We were looking for a base camp - perfect place. It is also walking distance to the beach, really conveniently located.
The owners Teresa and Sergio are very hospitable and pleasant to talk with. They are helpful with any local information - they went out of their way to help us find the information we needed, whether it was scuba diving or surfing rentals and they'll tell you if it is a reasonable price or not.
As a side note I really liked Teresa's art displayed throughout the hotel characterized by a signature boat motif.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio de Belen, Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at Mamiri with my girlfriend and friends.
We had a great time in Tamarindo traveling to the nearby beaches (Avellanas/Grande).
Mamiri offered very good rooms to rest after a day of surfing and hanging out with friends at the beach. The hotel owners (Teresa/Sergio) made the stay even better, they are always willing to help you with any question you might have about the area or suggesting good places to go for food/drinks/tours.
Mamiri also offers good breakfast every morning (Hot coffee/tea, toasts/pancakes and fresh fruit).
This hotel is perfect if you want a quiet place to relax at an affordable price and close to the Tamarindo main attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a short trip to Tamarindo and decided to stay at Mamiri. It was a great place to stay, right near everything but not on the main street. Teresa and Sergio were wonderful hosts and were always glad to recommend places to go and things to do in the area. The room was clean, and was made up every day. Every morning there was breakfast, delicious pancakes and fresh fruit. This hotel is the perfect option if you want to be near everything but don't want to stay at a party hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jujuy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is simply cosy and beautiful, the owners make the rest (Teresa and Sergio) they were always care about my during my stay. I had a generous and delicious breakfast in the garden, with a magpie and a squirrel.
The room was comfortable and every was clean. Excellent price !!
Definitively I recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMamiriTamarindo, Propietario at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias Cesar!!! Fue un placer tenerte con nosotros y hayas compartido tanto acerca del funcionamiento de hoteles. Te deseamos lo mejor en tu camino,que sigas sembrando tantas cosas lindas y puedas cosechar mucas mas! Eres una persona que deja huella al andar.
Siempre seras bienvenido en nuestro hotel-casa.
Cariños!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mamiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamiri

Address: 150mts Este Tower Pacific Park | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica`s North Pacific Coast, Hotel Mamiri in Tamarindo Beach offers comfortable accomodations, in private rooms and apartments. A quiet escape in harmony with nature. Just 300 mts. from the white sands this warm hotel in Tamarindo, Costa Rica, with helpful and friendly staff prides itself on making your vacations as enjoyable and pleasant as possible.Hotel Amenities:Cable TV - A/C & Ceiling fan - Wireless internet & PC - Free breakfast - Safety box - Hot Water - Kitchen FacilitiesA short walk down the beach will take you to the town of Tamarindo where you may wish to enjoy lunch or dinner at one of the many outstanding restaurantsWe can provide sailing tours from our family sail boat and arrange surf classes or rent boards for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mamiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mamiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.