We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty ... until you check out” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin del Eden boutique hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jardin del Eden boutique hotel to your Saves list
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
1 review
“Pretty ... until you check out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Pretty resort a short walk from the ocean ... but the negatives added up quickly. On the upside, the boutique hotel is very pretty; some nice staff, a beautiful pool, well-kept grounds and interesting architecture. I was willing to see past the bugs in our room(s), the lack of hot water and the haphazard daily cleaning; willing to overlook the stench of the laundry next door and the (rat?) in the garden. But when it came to food and drinks etc., we were frequently over-charged - and check-out? I was double-billed by a rude front desk clerk for exactly the same restaurant tab I paid cash for (and tipped on) the evening before. Adios, amigo. Buyer beware. There are lots of nice spots to stay in Tamarindo; I wouldn't book this one again.

Room Tip: Someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
64
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a beautiful, quiet, small hotel, ideal if you are looking for peace and relaxation. It has a small swimming pool and is located in the middle of stunning and very well maintained gardens. The rooms are on the ground level and on higher levels and you need to be quite fit to conquer a number of steps. Some staircases are a bit dodgy (no handrails) so some caution is required too. But it is all worth it as the views from the balconies are most beautiful! The rooms are well equipped, with good Wi-fi connection. The TV set was a bit too big for my liking, took most of the desk's space and also its position wasn't the best as you couldn't really watch it from the bed, only sitting in a chair. Another tiny critisism regarding my room: the bathroom floor was sticky and very difficult to clean due to its rough surfice. The cleaner lady, who otherwise was very good, didn't notice this stickyness for good 10 days. Also, as nice as they were, the bathroom toiletries were in very long and thin bottles, difficult to stand, so constantly falling over. A chair in the bathroom would be useful too! The room itself was good, although I was being bitten by some unvisible bed bugs for the first few nights, until I sprayed the covers with an insecticide. All is forgiven, because the peace, the views and a jay and an iguana and a visiting my balcony made up for it. The restaurant was very good with fantastic breakfasts and very attentive staff. The evening meals were good too but with a rather limited variety, so if you are staying longer and want to eat in the hotel, and if you are a vegetarian, be prepared to eat the same thing every other evening. But not many people stay there for long and not most are eating in the town, so the limited menu is in a way understandable. The waiters are great though! There is a bit of a walk, including the busy road crossing to get to the beach, but there is also a private garden bit with sunbeds-very relaxing with some shady and also with more sunny areas. The whole staff was most friendly, patient, polite, helpful and competent. It is a certainly a place worth staying in and I would go back any day!

Room Tip: If you are fit to walk up the stairs go for the higher levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful hotel located just across from the beach. Our room was clean with an excellent view of the sunset. The hotel is just a short walk to the beach down a private path. The walk was nice as we were able to see howler monkeys multiple times on the walk. They also have a very nice private area on the beach with lounge chairs. We didn't spend that much time in the hotel as we were on the beach surfing or walking around town. When we were there it was every thing we needed. Staff friendly and courteous always with fresh towels.

It is a gorgeous hotel with a great location. I would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are gorgeous and the location is excellent. Close to the beach- a 1 minute walk down a private path make is convenient and just far enough away from the louder main street. The pool area is quiet and romantic. The service is excellent!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel, the staff is very friendly and the accommodations are great. It has astounding views of the beach. The beds near the pool give a great touch for relaxation. The option of the private Beach Garden is amazing. Totally recommend this hotel, hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This boutique hotel was amazing. The staff were all so friendly and helpful especially the day manager I think her name was Nora. Also a special thank you to Mario and his side kick they made every evening wonderful. Until next time thank you to all! Steven and Stacey from Toronto

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was by far the best ending to my weeklong trip. We stayed here for 3 nights and it was worth every penny. We made sure we had an oceanview room, which I would suggest because the sunset from the balcony is gorgeous. The hotel staff were very pleasant and keep a very clean hotel. It is very modern and the grounds are exceptional. I was skeptical not staying "on" the beach but after I got there I was happy not to. I was happy to have my safe haven away from the loud tourists and drunk teens. Upon Checkin- make sure you reserve your daybed! Breakfast is really great and should not be missed. We did not have dinner there because there were a lot of great little cafes and restaurants to go to but I would come back and stay at this hotel any day of the week.
They did a phenomenal job and the name of the hotel is true to what they have achieved.

Room Tip: Room 15 with a balcony view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jardin del Eden boutique hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin del Eden boutique hotel

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jardin del Eden boutique hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardin del Eden Boutique Hotel is a small, discrete luxury boutique hotel in Tamarindo Beach, Costa Rica. Features a private beach garden and a magnificent view of the entire Tamarindo Bay, the number one place to enjoy the Pacific Ocean sunset! The hotel consists of five villas with a total of 40 rooms with air conditioning, Flat TV, mini-bar, safety box and terrace or balcony with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jardin del Eden boutique hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Del Eden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin del Eden boutique hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.