We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Paradise Close to the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin del Eden boutique hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jardin del Eden boutique hotel to your Saves list
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Paradise Close to the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was by far the best ending to my weeklong trip. We stayed here for 3 nights and it was worth every penny. We made sure we had an oceanview room, which I would suggest because the sunset from the balcony is gorgeous. The hotel staff were very pleasant and keep a very clean hotel. It is very modern and the grounds are exceptional. I was skeptical not staying "on" the beach but after I got there I was happy not to. I was happy to have my safe haven away from the loud tourists and drunk teens. Upon Checkin- make sure you reserve your daybed! Breakfast is really great and should not be missed. We did not have dinner there because there were a lot of great little cafes and restaurants to go to but I would come back and stay at this hotel any day of the week.
They did a phenomenal job and the name of the hotel is true to what they have achieved.

Room Tip: Room 15 with a balcony view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was an absolute joy to spend 4 nights at Jardin del Eden! The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are clean and beautifully decorated and we especially enjoyed our balcony where we could see a beautiful sunset every night. We had the best of everything here, a quick walk to the private beach area or to town, giving us a choice of restaurants. Jardin's restaurant was quite good and I highly recommend their homemade ravioli, quite excellent! Spending time at the pool was a peaceful experience since it is mainly an adult hotel. Definitely take advantage of their free cabanas which you can reserve for a half day. The staff is friendly, wonderful and very hardworking! They go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay. One staff member made sure we didn't miss seeing the family of howler monkeys on the path to the beach. They are usually in the same tree every morning eating leaves and mangoes. When the monkeys drop a mango the squirrels are nearby to scoop it up up instantly and eat the rest! I find Costa Rican's have a great respect for their natural environment and take great pride in their country. The only recommendation I would make is to put more railings by the many steps around the hotel. I definitely would return to Costa Rica and spend more time here! It was the perfect place to end our adventurous trip traveling around the country!

Room Tip: Definitely get a balcony! Third floor has ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't give enough praise to this hotel. It is an absolute must stay if you're headed to Tamarindo.

Clean, incredible ambiance, quiet, private access to the beach, beautiful grounds, friendly staff, conveniently located in town.

The only negative comment is that the bar/restaurant is overpriced.

Do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great hotel! We stayed in a Superior B room with a garden view. In my opinion, this was the best location on the property... we were closest to the pool as well as to the side walk that leads to town. I believe our room had been recently remodeled so it was very clean and up to date. While the hotel is right in the middle of town, it is set back behind another hotel which kind of shields you from the noise that you might experience being on the main street. Very peaceful, excellent service, beautiful landscaping, and fantastic restaurant. Breakfast was top notch every morning and dinner was delicious. Jose provided excellent service in the restaurant! Great WiFi and air conditioning in rooms. Minifridge and safe were also included in the room.

My only very minor complaint was that there were not enough blankets on the bed - there was only a cotton sheet along with a thin silk sheet. This could have been to encourage keeping the A/C at a warmer temperature; however, we would end up waking up each night freezing lol.

I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again in a heart beat. It was exactly what we were looking for and more!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really wanted to give this place 5 stars! The pictures just don't do it any justice! The landscape, and courtesy of employees is by far impeccable! However, the bugs at this location turned me completely off!

Pros: Beautiful, helpful staff, language barrier no problem- they speak English very well compared to other natives, they help arrange tours and have alot of information as far at eating, transfers, and sight seeing! Each room is unique(I know because I was shown about 4 after our first night incident) and very eclectic. The atmosphere is incredible. Literally, quiet all day and night (with a full staff running around during the day). This is probably what Heaven is like. They supply towels for the beach( less than a 5 min walk across the street to the gated access) and give complimentary drinks upon arrival. The restaurant on site is amazing, and serves delicious food! Complimentary Costa Rican breakfast every morning is definitely a plus! Security 24/7 also puts the worrying mind at ease.

Cons: The stairs can be a con if you are handicapped or not used to many steps or incline. This wasn't a con for me, but it defintely can become a problem. The only con that I have with this location (that should be getting 5 stars, but I can't rate it 5 due to events that transpired) are the bugs!!!! Yes, I know we're in a tropical paradise and bugs are expected, but the ants in the shower, bedroom and patio outside my door were ridiculous! The bugs found in my safe on top of my passport and in my bed were gross! Im not sure if they were bed bugs or termites. There were bugs found every morning around the toilet and wooded furniture. The bugs were out of hand and definitely ruined what should have been a 5 star hotel experience! They will relocate you to another room, but it's only a matter of time before more bugs appear. We stayed for a week and yes, housekeeping cleaned every day. We would've moved to another hotel, but everything was booked for the week. This is truly a beautiful hotel, but the bugs that come out at night and random times during the day are ridiculous. If possible, try to get a room that is in the main part of the hotel and on the first or second level looking over the pool.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check in very smooth with view of ocean ...nice...over the next few days we had some WiFi issues which were resolved immediately... A family of howler monkeys seemed to take residence during our stay in the surrounding trees by the outdoor restaurant Breakfast area ...cool...beach a few minutes from hotel. For an awesome experience take a morning/evening stroll up and down tamarindo beach...peaceful and relaxing enjoy..

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hotel! We stayed there five days after traveling around in Costa Rica.It was really a garden of eden . Excellent service and superb restaurang . We can really recommend this hotel.Gunnel and Anders

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jardin del Eden boutique hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin del Eden boutique hotel

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jardin del Eden boutique hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardin del Eden Boutique Hotel is a small, discrete luxury boutique hotel in Tamarindo Beach, Costa Rica. Features a private beach garden and a magnificent view of the entire Tamarindo Bay, the number one place to enjoy the Pacific Ocean sunset! The hotel consists of five villas with a total of 40 rooms with air conditioning, Flat TV, mini-bar, safety box and terrace or balcony with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Jardin del Eden boutique hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Del Eden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin del Eden boutique hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.