We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own (almost) private retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin del Eden boutique hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jardin del Eden boutique hotel to your Saves list
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Private Beach Garden!
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Your own (almost) private retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am writing this review lounging by the pool, so it's hot of the presses. Before coming here, I noticed the recent bad review on here, and was a little worried. Now I see that person clearly had an axe to grind, because this hotel is pretty amazing. The highlights:

- The hotel is built on a hill, with the rooms interspersed up and down the hill, with balconies facing mostly the pool area. Some balconies are near each other, but there is enough vegetation that it still feels private.
- The grounds are beautiful and peaceful
- A very nice pool (and hot tub) that was NEVER crowded while we were here. Even the big daybeds were there for the taking without reservations.
- Because the hotel does not face the beach or main street, it feels very secluded.
- The room is not super luxurious, but modern and we liked it just fine. Bathroom is nice with a big tiled shower.
- The free/included breakfast is decent, and is served from 7 to 10. It includes pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, hot buffet, and an omelette bar.
- To get to the beach, you walk down the hill and across the street to reach 'the beach garden' which is a little closed in area right in front of the beach where you can relax and/or leave non-valuables while you're enjoying the beach. The beach is great, changing with the tides, with the estuary down the beach to the right, where they do excellent kayak tours to a reserve full of birds and howler monkeys.
- Very secure, with a locked entrance gate. The nearby street also feels very safe.
- You are a very short distance to stores, restaurants, water sports rentals, yoga, and a small casino. Check out the 'fire show' around 7pm at the restaurant across the street and toward the left.
- The staff were very nice. Although tipping is optional for staff, a relatively small tip will get you far here, so I'd recommend not cheapening out. USD work fine, no need to exchange money. As an aside, leave extra tip in restaurants in cash if you want the staff to get it.
- Wifi is free, though not super speedy and spotty in some places.
- A/C worked, just make sure it's on Auto, or it will cool you into oblivion. There are no blankets.

The (minor) cons:
- You are on a hill, and you are not right on the beach. If you can't/won't walk, this is not the place for you.
- The maids were late to clean our room one day, but a request from the staff got them in there quickly
- Although the restaurant is very nice, it only serves a small dinner menu (no lunch). This wasn't a problem for us, as the main street is just down the hill with a ton of restaurants to choose from. Try the smoothie bar and the traditional restaurant a few steps to the left of the walkway entrance.
- The front desk here is all the way up the hill, so we did not use it to book any tours. However, we used the Diria Hotel to book some tours, and we'd also recommend Xplore Costa Rica, right to the left of the entrance gate. They quoted us $30/per person less for a shuttle to Arenal than another place down the street.
- There was some minor construction happening here, but was brief and not super bothersome

The only other caveat I will make is that if you are extroverted and enjoy a lot of activity around you, and/or have kids, you should stay at the Diria, which is right on the beach across the street, and looks like it's owned by the same people. If you're looking for a peaceful retreat, El Jardin is it!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from any construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel delivered all it said and more.
Location was perfect. Quiet with a dedicated (gated) access to the beach and the town. We had a view room which was beautiful but the open bathroom concept was a new experience (you could see a portion of the shower from the sleeping area). The garden and pool area were five star.

The staff especially Norma were from the day of reservation to the day of leaving; happy, energized, and seeking to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start out by saying this would have been a five star other than a few small things. This hotel is nestled in the middle of a busy area, but you would not know it because they keep it very secluded. A small path takes you to a bustling street and the ocean is right across the street with a locked gate to get in. The rooms are well appointed and well kept up. The staff was helpful when asked questions. The grounds are well maintained and pretty. I did not see any children at the hotel and it appeared to be more set up for couples. I was there with my two sons and they are 21 and 23 and we felt at home. The restaurant is open to a great pool. The only two problems I encountered was very poor water pressure at one time only dripping out and lack of very hot water. It wasn't bad enough that I lodged a complaint. Another problem was the wifi. You cannot get wifi in the rooms. Everyone had to go to the lobby and sit to use it. Overall, I would return to this hotel. For the price it is very nice.

Room Tip: I was ground floor and it was nice to walk right out to the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location within the hustle and bustle of tamarindo but you do have to cross the busy street and use your room key to get in and out of several gates to get the beach. The actual resort is very pretty with nice landscaping but the room was not anything special especially in comparison to other comparable priced places we stayed on this trip and parking was difficult. We did not eat there so cannot say anything about the food. We had several bad experiences with the service staff that outweighed the wonderful service we received from Dennis at the front desk who was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating and the friendly gentleman that worked in the pool area. Our bad experience may have been a fluke but it started off bad and continued downhill. We arrived and were told the power was out so they could not check us in. Not their fault and they offered us 2 complimentary drink tickets and offered to have a guard let us into our room which was nice. Unfortunately the security guard acted like it was an inconvenience. We changed and decided to head down to the beach while we waited to check in. We asked the front desk how to get to the beach and he offered to show us but as he started to walk us there, he started explaining that we would need to call when we were ready to come back because we still did not have a key. I immediately suggested we just stay at the Pool because we do not speak Spanish and I was nervous about getting back in. He insisted that he still take us over and I agreed that he could show us the beach but we were coming back to the pool and not staying at the beach until we had a key. He led us out the locked gate, across the street, in another gate and as we walked toward the next gate to see the beach, I turned around to ask a question and he was gone! Just left us there without a word, key, or number. All the gates are locked and require the room key so now not only can we not get back in the hotel but we can't get out of the beach area. We were finally able to flag down another hotel employee (Dennis) on his way out who was able to let us out and back into the hotel. We decided to stop and get a drink at the pool before going to the front desk to express our frustration. The bar was empty but the bartender took our tickets and said she would bring the drinks out. We waited 15 minutes before going back to check on the drinks. An additional bartender was there and at that point made our drinks which we took to the pool ourselves. By the time we finished our drinks, the "deserter" showed up with our keys to our room. Everything was fine from that point on but nothing special. This was the only place in Costa Rica that we felt like a gringo tourist vs. a guest. We will not return as we had exceptional experiences at other places.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This recently renovated hotel was spectacular. Everything was clean, friendly staff, and delicious breakfasts included with each day of our stay. 2 pools and a jacuzzi right next to the restaurant made this place feel like a relaxing day spa of sorts.

The hotel is wonderfully decorated with lots of the area's nature incorporated into the property including trees, flowers and even some of the animals. We spotted a few iguanas here and there and near sunset a group of monkeys came by the property line as they searched for dinner.

Overall a very majestic stay.

The one downside I would mention is that wifi was a little weak from the rooms but by the lobby and poolside it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

Great service nice staff.
The hotel was under renovation and the Staff made every effort to fix any problems or inconveniences that arose. Staff was always available! Free wifi was spotty at times in some parts of hotel but always worked in the lobby. Good central location to all but not located on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

Real heaven of peace in the hotel gardens, great views of the ocean from the balcony, exceptionally well created spaces around the pool and restaurant area, delicious breakfast... and real attentive service! Everything you have been looking for...

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jardin del Eden boutique hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin del Eden boutique hotel

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jardin del Eden boutique hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardin del Eden Boutique Hotel is a small, discrete luxury boutique hotel in Tamarindo Beach, Costa Rica. Features a private beach garden and a magnificent view of the entire Tamarindo Bay, the number one place to enjoy the Pacific Ocean sunset! The hotel consists of five villas with a total of 40 rooms with air conditioning, Flat TV, mini-bar, safety box and terrace or balcony with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Jardin del Eden boutique hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Del Eden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin del Eden boutique hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.