We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin del Eden boutique hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jardin del Eden boutique hotel to your Saves list
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Private Beach Garden!
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Wow, fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel delivered all it said and more.
Location was perfect. Quiet with a dedicated (gated) access to the beach and the town. We had a view room which was beautiful but the open bathroom concept was a new experience (you could see a portion of the shower from the sleeping area). The garden and pool area were five star.

The staff especially Norma were from the day of reservation to the day of leaving; happy, energized, and seeking to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the first time I've ever written a tripadvisor review, but I feel compelled to given how horrific our experience has been at this hotel. Hopefully, others can learn from our time here and choose a different hotel in the Tamarindo area.

First on the property:

- The location: Jardin del eden is located on a hill above the busy city of Tamarindo. The views from the check-in area - the highest point on the property - are great but not necessarily indicative of room views (see below) ... Also, the property is not on the beach. So there's a walk involved if you want to do any beach activities. Finally, there's construction going on next door to the property, which is noisy throughout the day

- The rooms: Not even close to 4 star quality. They're 2 start quality, max. Americans reading this, think of a 1980's Red Roof Inn if you want a feel for the rooms. The bed is the stiffest I've ever slept on ... It's just like sleeping on the floor. Our room (which we explicitly booked as an "ocean view") has a view onto a dirt road and some scattered trash bags. There's no ocean in sight. And to top it off, our room's outdoor area is viewable from other rooms, so there isn't a private balcony to relax, as you might believe from the website. Ugh

- Pool area: Well maintained and nice. Highlight of property. It's no surprise why the website showcases a picture of the pool (this doesn't appear to be the only nice pool in Tamarindo, though, so I wouldn't say this is unique or book this hotel because of the pool. In fact, the hotel across the street at the Diria Beach Resort is better)

- Food: The "complimentary" breakfast is awful. Avoid it at all costs and just go to one of the breakfast establishments in Tamarindo (like Joe's). Don't view this breakfast as any kind of benefit

Now onto the service:

- We reserved two rooms for 3 nights. One reservation was for three adults (siblings and a girlfriend) and one was reserved for two adults (a couple). We were told when we arrived at the hotel that there was no way to accomodate a room for three adults. We were happy to pay extra for a cot (as you would expect at any hotel), but this was not an option. So first things first, don't stay here if you have 3 people in a room

- When we tried to cancel the room to move the group of 3 somewhere else (room booked through the hotel), we were told that WOULD be possible. However, later in the day (after we booked another hotel in Tamarindo, the Diria Beach Hotel) we were informed that the owner of the property had mysteriously overruled (!!) our request and we couldn't cancel

- Not surprisingly, we then asked to speak to this owner, but were told he was unavialable. If you find that all quite bizarre (and Wizard of Oz-esque), we did, too

So we are now left with a room that we were told we could cancel that will be vacant for two nights (that we'll pay for) ... Cool.

On this service experience, you might say that our experience was unique or it was our fault that one of our rooms had 3 people. But if you're paying for a nice hotel and resort, you'd expect the staff to not only be as accomodating as possible but also keep their word. None of this happened.

On however you judge hotels - service or accomodations or a mix of both - this hotel is awful. Perhaps the owner wanted to keep us at the hotel, because he's used to people seeing this place and then wanting to leave. My guess is that happens a lot.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start out by saying this would have been a five star other than a few small things. This hotel is nestled in the middle of a busy area, but you would not know it because they keep it very secluded. A small path takes you to a bustling street and the ocean is right across the street with a locked gate to get in. The rooms are well appointed and well kept up. The staff was helpful when asked questions. The grounds are well maintained and pretty. I did not see any children at the hotel and it appeared to be more set up for couples. I was there with my two sons and they are 21 and 23 and we felt at home. The restaurant is open to a great pool. The only two problems I encountered was very poor water pressure at one time only dripping out and lack of very hot water. It wasn't bad enough that I lodged a complaint. Another problem was the wifi. You cannot get wifi in the rooms. Everyone had to go to the lobby and sit to use it. Overall, I would return to this hotel. For the price it is very nice.

Room Tip: I was ground floor and it was nice to walk right out to the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location within the hustle and bustle of tamarindo but you do have to cross the busy street and use your room key to get in and out of several gates to get the beach. The actual resort is very pretty with nice landscaping but the room was not anything special especially in comparison to other comparable priced places we stayed on this trip and parking was difficult. We did not eat there so cannot say anything about the food. We had several bad experiences with the service staff that outweighed the wonderful service we received from Dennis at the front desk who was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating and the friendly gentleman that worked in the pool area. Our bad experience may have been a fluke but it started off bad and continued downhill. We arrived and were told the power was out so they could not check us in. Not their fault and they offered us 2 complimentary drink tickets and offered to have a guard let us into our room which was nice. Unfortunately the security guard acted like it was an inconvenience. We changed and decided to head down to the beach while we waited to check in. We asked the front desk how to get to the beach and he offered to show us but as he started to walk us there, he started explaining that we would need to call when we were ready to come back because we still did not have a key. I immediately suggested we just stay at the Pool because we do not speak Spanish and I was nervous about getting back in. He insisted that he still take us over and I agreed that he could show us the beach but we were coming back to the pool and not staying at the beach until we had a key. He led us out the locked gate, across the street, in another gate and as we walked toward the next gate to see the beach, I turned around to ask a question and he was gone! Just left us there without a word, key, or number. All the gates are locked and require the room key so now not only can we not get back in the hotel but we can't get out of the beach area. We were finally able to flag down another hotel employee (Dennis) on his way out who was able to let us out and back into the hotel. We decided to stop and get a drink at the pool before going to the front desk to express our frustration. The bar was empty but the bartender took our tickets and said she would bring the drinks out. We waited 15 minutes before going back to check on the drinks. An additional bartender was there and at that point made our drinks which we took to the pool ourselves. By the time we finished our drinks, the "deserter" showed up with our keys to our room. Everything was fine from that point on but nothing special. This was the only place in Costa Rica that we felt like a gringo tourist vs. a guest. We will not return as we had exceptional experiences at other places.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This recently renovated hotel was spectacular. Everything was clean, friendly staff, and delicious breakfasts included with each day of our stay. 2 pools and a jacuzzi right next to the restaurant made this place feel like a relaxing day spa of sorts.

The hotel is wonderfully decorated with lots of the area's nature incorporated into the property including trees, flowers and even some of the animals. We spotted a few iguanas here and there and near sunset a group of monkeys came by the property line as they searched for dinner.

Overall a very majestic stay.

The one downside I would mention is that wifi was a little weak from the rooms but by the lobby and poolside it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great service nice staff.
The hotel was under renovation and the Staff made every effort to fix any problems or inconveniences that arose. Staff was always available! Free wifi was spotty at times in some parts of hotel but always worked in the lobby. Good central location to all but not located on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Real heaven of peace in the hotel gardens, great views of the ocean from the balcony, exceptionally well created spaces around the pool and restaurant area, delicious breakfast... and real attentive service! Everything you have been looking for...

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jardin del Eden boutique hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin del Eden boutique hotel

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jardin del Eden boutique hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardin del Eden Boutique Hotel is a small, discrete luxury boutique hotel in Tamarindo Beach, Costa Rica. Features a private beach garden and a magnificent view of the entire Tamarindo Bay, the number one place to enjoy the Pacific Ocean sunset! The hotel consists of five villas with a total of 40 rooms with air conditioning, Flat TV, mini-bar, safety box and terrace or balcony with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Jardin del Eden boutique hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Del Eden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin del Eden boutique hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.