We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hidden gem w/amazing ocean views, secret garden-like feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jardin del Eden boutique hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Jardin del Eden boutique hotel to your Saves list
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful hidden gem w/amazing ocean views, secret garden-like feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights during our honeymoon. What a treat. It's located just steps off the main drag in Tamarindo, but you'd never know once you step inside this secluded little spot. The grounds are amazing--it feels like you've happened upon a secret garden--and the pool area is lovely. Our room had gorgeous ocean views great for taking in the sunset every night. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast poolside every morning, and we appreciated the quick access to the beach for an easy start to the day. The staff was also incredibly friendly. My only critique would be the "credit policy" they have in place, where they try to induce you to buy upfront credit for future purposes--drinks and dinner at the hotel restaurant, for example. It didn't make much sense to us and was, frankly, just cumbersome. All in all, this is a wonderful little spot where you might least expect it. We're so glad we found it and will definitely be recommending any family or friends visiting the area to check it out!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We learned that this has recently been acquired by Tamarindo Diria and are assuming it's going to become their 5 star, exclusive hotel. Only reason for a 4 is because they still have some work to do. Service at the restaurant was TERRIBLE. We went to get our 'welcome drink' and after ordering alcoholic beverages we were told that it was only a specific drink. You also have to reserve a cabana even if they're all open. Finally, wifi is AWFUL - it's nice that it's free, but you have to log in every time and you can't do anything with it. Those are my only 3 complaints. The decor is absolutely amazing! I want all of it in my house. We were instantly upgraded to ocean view, deluxe (red asian style room) and had a waterfall right outside our room. Bathroom was nice and upgraded and had a jacuzzi tub. Pipes were super loud when we flushed the toilet and we had a few ants, but other than that, room was perfect. Pool grounds are breathtaking - literally perfect. You have a shallow pool option or a deep pool. We were laying in the cabana one day and had a family of monkeys walk right by us. You have a private access beach, which we didn't use because it was completely shaded. They give you an option of activities - do the Marlin del Ray catamaran. The strip is literally a 5 minute walk. We're extremely happy with our stay. Service still needs some work, but I think they're going to get there.

Room Tip: We stayed in Deluxe - Ocean View. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was quite and beautiful every m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Following a recent change in management, this hotel has changed its payment and cancellation policies, but this is not reflected yet on the website. If you book online, you will be charged 100% immediately (the website says "no deposit, free cancellation"), as they now only take prepayment. This is the only hotel with this type of strict pre-payment policy that we encountered in all Costa Rica. Ask about the cancellation policy as the staff was not able to confirm whether the "free cancellation" policy was still applying.
Otherwise, it is a very nice hotel, well designed and perfectly located in the center of Tamarindo. There is direct access to the beach through a nicely landscaped path, but unfortunately the beach front is not manned so you cannot leave your stuff there while you swim.
Excellent buffet breakfast, beautiful pools and gardens, great layout and garden furniture, confortable rooms. Room tip: ask for a room far from reception if you don't want to be awaken by the noise at 6 AM.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay in Tamarindo if you want to be close but not in the noisy Main Street of this surfers beach.

Be careful with the snorkelling tour to Isla Catalina, it turn out to be completely different to the wording and photos on the tours catalogue of the hotel (although it is operated by a completely different company from the hotel).

The wrongly called Catalina island is a two big rock islet some eight miles from shore of Flamingos beach, from end of November until February high winds make this cruise and the snorkelling there a real pain, with sea sick people and rough seas, visibility is not good neither trough this months.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not only is this a wonderful hotel with nice rooms, amazing sea views from your private balcony (the superior A is well worth the money), not only is it set in a gorgeous, lush tropical garden with 2 swimming pools, pool chairs and daybeds, not only is the breakfast (a la carte if not fully booked, otherwise buffet) delicious, the thing which amazed me the most was the hospitality of the staff. All of them do their utmost (without being too present) to make your stay a great and unforgettable holiday (think of room upgrade, we even got a massage because there were some minor issues with noise). Thank you Norma, German and colleagues!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Río Cuarto, Córdoba, Argentina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were here for about 3 days and we had an amazing time. Breakfast was delicious specially the panqueques and the bedroom had a super cool view. The garden and the pool were wonderful, and you can see the sea from most of the hotel. We had a great time

Room Tip: Pick a bedroom near the pool and the restaurant cause you can hear preety sounds in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

They have a great day service where you can pay to spend the day eat in the restaurant and swim in pool. The food is fantastic as well as the grounds. We stayed here back in 2009 and it was just as wonderful. Watch out for the iguanas they will steal your food and drink if you're not careful

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jardin del Eden boutique hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin del Eden boutique hotel

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#3 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jardin del Eden boutique hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardin del Eden Boutique Hotel is a small, discrete luxury boutique hotel in Tamarindo Beach, Costa Rica. Features a private beach garden and a magnificent view of the entire Tamarindo Bay, the number one place to enjoy the Pacific Ocean sunset! The hotel consists of five villas with a total of 40 rooms with air conditioning, Flat TV, mini-bar, safety box and terrace or balcony with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Jardin del Eden boutique hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Del Eden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jardin del Eden boutique hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.