We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ocean view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Yorktown, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great ocean view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent three nights in a second floor suite. The view from the balcony was awesome. The two rooms were perfect for our family. The sofas in the living room turn into twin beds. Even though it was very hot outside, the air conditioner in the suite cooled us off every evening. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. We loved Happy Hour at the swim up bar in the pool!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hey Michelle,

Thank you for the kind words... We definitely agree, happy hour + swim up bar + ocean views = bliss! The ocean view rooms and suites are most certainly worth it and, really, when you think about it, you would never be able to find anything close to these views for a similar price anywhere in the US. We hope to see you again someday and don't forget to check out our social media pages to find some great deals for your next trip down! Chao for now and don't be a stranger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    212
    97
    34
    37
See reviews for
136
222
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I like to thanks every body at this hotel make my family feel special And special thanks to erika zuñiga amazing crew we going many times and allways received that special treatment that make us going back one more time over and over

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hey Sanjose (we know who you are but I don't think I'm allowed to use your real name),

It is always wonderful having your family come back year after year.... I just showed Ericka the review and you definitely made her day. We are excited to host you guys again sometime, even though it might be for just a random weekend, and hope that everything is well back home... Cheers and say hi to everyone from your extended family down here in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we (myself, my husband, daughter and her friend) stayed for two weeks in the Pilsen Suite at Tamarindo Vista VIllas and it was perfect for us.

The Pilsen Suite (Room 100) is a stand alone cottage with two bedrooms, bath, kitchen large entry area and small living area. It was so charming and clean thanks to Jessenia, the best housekeeper ever! We came to love her like family. As a matter of fact. we loved all of the staff - Nathalia!, Hazel, Giselle, Sharon, Wendy, and the tall young man who did maintenance was Johnny on the spot. Trevor, the manager, was very visible morning and night and went out of his way to try to help me get a battery for my camera. Everyone was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help us out with everything, including our Spanish (however, most staff speak English very well)

The view from the balcony of the Monkey Bar is breath taking and the tree full of parrots greeting you as you enjoy the sunset, take a dip in the pool (with a swim up bar!) or just enjoy your meal (the food was great) is not to be missed. The bar hosts a great party every Friday night with live music and dancing - so much fun. Be ready to be greeted each morning by the howler monkeys that hang out in the mango trees overlooking the property.

We did not rent a car, you can walk to everything easily. It is a very short walk (less than 5 minutes, probably more like one or two minutes) to the beach and Witches Rock Surf Camp across the street.

Vista Villas was spotless, well maintained, and had beautiful landscaping.

I loved this place. Thanks,
Tamarindo Vista Villas for an unforgettable vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool could be loud at the Friday night live music/dance party. Pilsen Suite where we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hey Rosemary,

Thank you for the review, and I'm really sorry we never could find that dang camera battery. It just goes to show how different life can be when you don't have online purchasing sites like amazon.com readily available to buy those random parts. I'm really glad that you and your family spent a couple of weeks with us and that you enjoyed your vacation. You'll also be pleased to know that the pilsen suite will be getting a small makeover in about four weeks and will be in tip-top shape for when you and the family decide to come back. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I loved this resort. Our view of the ocean was amazing, the price was exceptional. They have a nice pool with a waterfall and you can hang out in the upper section. Or use the swim up bar and have a drink. They have beautiful parrots up at the top of the hotel (above the hotel itself). There is also a huge iguana they call Godzilla that startled us as it came out from a bush but it was great to see. Monkeys like to eat the mangoes that grow on the property and the beach is across the street.

There was nothing bad about this hotel and we hated to leave!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hey Medako,

Woohooo! Thanks for the great review. Coming from a seasoned traveler with 55 other reviews, we know that you know what you're talking about, so thanks so much for taking the time to comment on our hotel... Godzilla is still around, although he seems to be losing a little bit of his orange color, they say its because we are leaving mating season. The macaws and monkeys are still around as well, making a wonderful mess of our mango trees! Well, thanks for coming by and don't forget to follow us on our social media pages to stay tuned for some great deals. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

For me and a my family this was our first trip to Tamarindo. We are a family who use to travel together and try to fit the hotel we're staying to our needs (clean place, near basic facilities, good price). Tamarindo Vista Villas is a perfect example of a hotel that cares about their clients needs and that show respect and love for their work. We must say the hotel was making improves in their installations while we were staying. This make us happy as a family because we realize the manager trust in his bussiness. This place is a great starting point to discover the Nicoya's Peninsula and the beautiful Guanacaste coasts. If you decide to go be sure to meet Trevor (hotel manager) and Jessenia ( our room maid ) as they are wonderful people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hey Mauricio,

It was really nice meeting you and speaking with you in the mornings. Thank you so much for writing those kind words... I must say that we are always making improvements on the property, and we are almost done with an on-site gym and a few more improvements are currently in the works. We most certainly do love our work and we love having people like you and your family visit us! Thanks again and don't forget to follow us on our social media pages for some great deals that we offer our ever returning friends. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is very central to the downtown area. Staff were friendly and very efficient. Took time to chat and give info when asked. Hotel is a little dated but clean and comfortable. Pool area has great view. Sunsets were good from there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hey Eleanor,

Clear, concise and straight to the point... We love it! Thanks for the kind words and we hope to see you again soon. Don't forget to follow us on our many social media channels to find some great deals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

On a Friday night, book room 301! It's an upstairs corner room with one queen bed, and a kitchenette. 4 can sleep comfortably in this room. 2 balconies! One
oversees the ocean bay and the other one oversees the pool & bar. perfect! Bring your A-game :)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamvv, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hey Mario,

So, we love the great review and really appreciate you taking the time to write great words about us! However, we do feel that we need to elaborate a little upon the message.... Room 301 is the room closest to the pool, bar, and restaurant area, meaning that it is also closest to the salsa dance party that we have on Fridays. With that being said, it is absolutely the best room if you want to be near all the fun! However, if you would like to be a little further away, rooms 100, 101, or 102 are the absolute best. Thanks for visiting and you stay classy San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Address: 1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.