We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Tamarindo
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 12/28 to 12/31 2013. This place was definitely sub-par, compared to places we visited in Costa Rica in the same price range. The property is ok, location is the only thing that was the redeeming factor. I was happy to have a kitchen, but the quality of their towels / kitchen equipment / food at the monkey bar was quite bad. And I haven't previously encountered a beach hotel that does not provide shampoo! Only thing in the breakfast that is worth mentioning are the german pancakes. We got a half torn beach towel and when we returned it, there was no apology or acknowledgement that this was bad service. Maintenance is really bad, not sure if the Best western chain does any audits. This type of quality is not expected at a best western - we booked it mainly because of the chain's reputation, but were disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Of course we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. According to most of our reviews, we find that we are able to satisfy most of our guests with good food in the restaurant, and a fully equipped kitchen in the suites. So where did we go wrong with you? Of course, we don’t understand the comments about the lack of shampoo in our rooms, because all our rooms are equipped with shampoo and soap. Just to make sure we don’t have a problem with our beach towels, we are going to review the stock to see which of them need to be retired. As a member of the Best Western chain of hotels, we are reviewed for quality control twice a year. We are allowed to remain in the Best Western family because of our constant maintenance of the property and grounds, as well as the high level of service we offer around here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    178
    84
    34
    36
See reviews for
108
187
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Vista Villas 12/24-12/28. We stayed in 302 a deluxe room with balcony overlooking ocean view. Very clean and roomy for 3 of us. Nice kitchen with all the cooking needs. Everyone who worked there gave over the top service. We ate and drank at the Monkey Bar several times and had fantastic food each time. The Continental Breakfast was perfect before hitting the waves right across the street. Every Friday is the biggest Salsa Dance party at the Monkey Bar from 10pm-2am, we got a written notice that morning inviting us and letting us know the band would be loud. They offered ear plugs:) I went down and had a few drinks. It was fun. The pool was a great place to cool off and belly up to the swim up bar. A perfect location to stay if you surf. The only bizarre thing we noticed, was there were no windows on any of the hotel bathrooms. Not really sure why, but we just kept bathroom door closed when AC units were on. A great beach side end to our Costa Rica Vacation.

Room Tip: If you don't want all the pool noise do not book 301 it's right at pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The resent renovations to the lower casa's are very tastefully done and have improved the overall quality of our twice a year stay. Jesenia does a super job keeping the casa in spotless condition! The entire staff welcomes both of us like family and treats us royally.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick RI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We actually found the best western while trying to save some money while traveling thru Costa Rica ,and wound up staying 3 nights . We've stayed at several other hotels when in Tamarindo in the past and wanted to try someplace different and still close to the beach and our favorite bar Eat at Joes in the witches rock surf camp. So I booked 1 night not nosing if we would like it and wound up staying 3 nights ,the sunset views from our balcony were amazing some of the best we've seen. The staff were all great .

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with the kitchenette and shop down the street at Auto Mercado and save some cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Our stay at Best Western was absolutely fabulous! The staff really made our stay extra special! Geisel, Trevor, Michiel, and Wendy went out of there way to make sure all of our needs were met. Geisel even went on a "field trip" to Guaitil with us! A must see if you are this close and enjoy beautiful authentic pottery. The grounds at Best Western were well maintained, nice rooms, beautiful pool, and a great little restaurant. Locals are friendly. The food in the area was always fresh and priced reasonably! The "Laguna Restaurant" across the street another great choice. And have the staff contact "Geronamo", "Fernando", or "Uber" (locals) to take you horse back riding, reasonable priced and very safe. Have fun! We did!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, but all the rooms were clean and well maintained. Note: no matter where you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed at the Vista Villas Dec 9 - 16, 2013. The staff was incredibly helpful & super nice. Ellyn Zoe planned out all our adventures, I didn't have to do a single thing, she was our personal concierge and she did a flawless job!! Thank you Ellyn Zoe! Trevor, Michiel, Hazel, Susana, Sharom & Adrian all were fantastic. Geisel at the front desk reception is a sweetie. Facilities, pool, rooms all very clean - our housekeeper was a doll and did an excellent job!! We would stay here in a heartbeat again & will.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great place, with the best view. The staff here is the best. I wanted to say thank you to Adrian, Adolpo, Hazel(front desk)and Hazel the bartender for the great service. The Crazy Monkey Bar has the best food and drinks in town. Its a must stay at place if your in Tamarindo. Pura Vida.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you Ernie for the kind words. We offer an ocean view in many of our rooms, but of course, guests can watch the waves and sunset up at our pool, bar and restaurant. Happy to hear that you liked so many of our staff members and we’ll be sure to pass along your praise. Please come back and see us again, and we’ll share a meal with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Address: 1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.