We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Tamarindo
Lewisburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Every morning we enjoyed the free breakfast at the pool area with a beautiful view of the ocean. Our room was very nice. Gilberth in the office was so friendly and helpful every time we needed something or had questions. He patiently allowed us to practice our Spanish with him, although he spoke English very well. Our housekeeper, Jessenia, was also very nice and showed us where there were some howler monkeys in the trees on the property. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW Vista Villas T, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello Jamie, thanks for taking the time to write such a nice bit about our hotel. There’s nothing like sitting on the deck, looking at the ocean and enjoying a meal. Our guests really enjoy that spot. And we are always eager to help anyone with their Spanish, which is, after all, the language of Costa Rica. Let’s get together and practice the next time you visit. Hasta luego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    179
    84
    34
    36
See reviews for
108
188
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nashville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I ended my trip to Costa Rico at The Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas. My agent had booked
me in an expensive hotel at first and I asked him to find a more reasonably priced one. Of all the
hotels I stayed in throughout my vacation this was the one I would come back to. The staff made
my visit so wonderful. They were helpful, warm and friendly. From the front staff Floribeth,
Gilbert and Adolofo to Erica in the kitchen,etc. as well as Sixta who cleaned my room they were
so attentive.
My only disappointment was the pool. For some reason the waterfall was never turned on.
This hotel was just fine for me but it was the staff that made it great. I will hope to come back
at some time and see them all again.
Ellen Warshaw ( RM 209)

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Ellen, thank you for the wonderful praise. We adored you from the minute we met you and it was great having you on the property taking advance of all we have to offer. Yes, we are indeed a reasonably price hotel, but as you learned, we don’t skimp on amenities. And the waterfall at the pool goes on every day in the afternoon. Perhaps you just missed it? We’ll make sure you get to bask in the waterfall the next time your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Enjoyed our stay mainly because of the service. Adolfo was so friendly and helpful and always with a smile on his face. We met Gilbert on our way out, who was also very friendly. The people at the bar and at breakfast were also very helpful and pleasant.

We stayed in a corner suite that overlooked the pool and bar and had big balcony with a really nice view of the ocean. This was a great location until the party Friday night. We came back from dinner to find the pool and bar area packed with people. We knew there was going to be a band, but no idea just how big of a party it would be. We actually enjoyed our vantage point for a while. The band was really good and the show with the dancers with batons on fire were amazing! It was supposed to wrap up by 1:30, but it was well after 2:00 a.m when the music stopped. If we were in our 20's or early 30's this would have been great. But, now that we're late 40's fuddy-duddies, it was a little much for us. ;-p

As for the accommodations, the suite could definitely use some fixing up. The window over the shower, which is just a screen (no glass) had a tear in the screen, which is why I suppose we had a few bugs (one rather large insect) hanging around. Also, tiny ants were found in the kitchen area and bathroom. The shower had great water pressure, but no shower head... just a pipe where the water came out. The place has great potential and is a nice size, though.

All in all a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Certainly, it was nice of you notice that our staff is top rate, and we work very hard to accommodate our guests. However, we need to point out that you were staying in our newly renovated Corona Deluxe Suite which has been booked solid for the High Season. Because of the large volume of guests who stay in those rooms during this time of year, it can sometimes be difficult for us to get in, do a thorough inspection, and when necessary, make repairs. As a matter of fact, we have no way of knowing who exactly made off with the shower head, which was brand new from the renovations, but it likely disappeared right before you checked in. Now that we know about it, you can bet that we have taken care of the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything was clean and fine, great place to leave nice pool and bar. Good restaurant . Near from the beach and activity. Great place to surf and fishing. Quiet and nice. Lots of restaurant around also lots of store.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We like your review: short, simple, positive and to the point. That’s what we try to get across about our hotel, that when you are looking for a clean, basic place for a good price, you choose the Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas. And, as you said, you can’t beat our restaurant or location. Come back soon so we can get another chance to treat you right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I just got back from my vacation last week and I still can't wipe the smile off my face! Staying at the Tamarindo Vista Villas was a highlight of my trip. The food was great, the location was perfect for my surf excursions, and the staff went above an beyond to deliver exceptional service, specifically, Adolfo and Gilberth. They were always happy to be of help and greeted me with a smile each time. They helped me set up a taxi several of the days during my stay, and both taxi drivers, Ivan (Negro) and Mau were a blast. They, too, went above and beyond. I would recommend this place to anyone in need of a low key, good vibe stay on vacation.

Room Tip: 3rd story suites are the most quiet, and have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Fantastic review! Thanks so much for recommending us as the highlight of your Costa Rican trip. While we do get a chance to tout our accommodating service, it’s great to be able to also acknowledge how delicious our food is. Our chefs—who have been with the hotel for years—are well adept at cooking everything from fresh fish, pasta, quesadillas to our popular 2 for 1 pizzas and simple burgers. Overall, we’ll maintain the good vibes until you return to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here late December 2012. The hotel is definitely dated but the service made up for this. We flew in on a domestic flight and our luggage had to be brought over by land. This wasn't made entirely clear by the airline (Nature Air) so we were a little concerned when our luggage still hadn't arrived to the hotel by late evening. Floribetta, one of the reception staff at the hotel went out of her way to find out what was going on and reassured us despite our stress. She ended up calling her cousin who worked for the airline for the information which she didn't really have to do.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
It was really nice of you to remember your stay with is with your kind words here. We were as upset as you were about the luggage delay by Nature Air, and that’s why Floribeth reached out to her cousin to remedy it. That’s the kind of service we offer every day. As to our accommodations, we are a rustic, Costa Rican style hotel, utilizing the various woods of the area in our furniture and room details. Even with our recent renovations, we have maintained this local flavor, and it’s not always to everyone’s taste. Thankfully enough people like the simple Tico vibe to keep us busy year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much due to the service of the staff at the Vista Villas. The hotel is dated but definitely well kept and clean. But, I have never had more pleasant service. Our booking agent, Ellen was prompt and polite with our requests. We were able to get into our room as soon as we arrived. Our housekeeper, Jessie, should be given a gold medal!!! And the restaurant/bar staff Trevor, Alexa and Eva were always smiling and very helpful. Thanks to Floribeth and Gilberth for help with check in and check out. It is a solid hotel to stay in if you visit Tamarindo and the view from the pool deck is breathtaking!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We appreciate the praise for our staff. I’ll go out on a limb here and say that the Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas has the most attentive, eager and happy staff in town. You named but a few of us who dedicate our work to good service. And just a quick FYI, we are renovating rooms to keep everything looking fresh, but still with the rustic feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Address: 1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.