We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 x 2 Promotion
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Tamarindo
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here late December 2012. The hotel is definitely dated but the service made up for this. We flew in on a domestic flight and our luggage had to be brought over by land. This wasn't made entirely clear by the airline (Nature Air) so we were a little concerned when our luggage still hadn't arrived to the hotel by late evening. Floribetta, one of the reception staff at the hotel went out of her way to find out what was going on and reassured us despite our stress. She ended up calling her cousin who worked for the airline for the information which she didn't really have to do.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
It was really nice of you to remember your stay with is with your kind words here. We were as upset as you were about the luggage delay by Nature Air, and that’s why Floribeth reached out to her cousin to remedy it. That’s the kind of service we offer every day. As to our accommodations, we are a rustic, Costa Rican style hotel, utilizing the various woods of the area in our furniture and room details. Even with our recent renovations, we have maintained this local flavor, and it’s not always to everyone’s taste. Thankfully enough people like the simple Tico vibe to keep us busy year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    185
    86
    33
    35
See reviews for
115
196
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much due to the service of the staff at the Vista Villas. The hotel is dated but definitely well kept and clean. But, I have never had more pleasant service. Our booking agent, Ellen was prompt and polite with our requests. We were able to get into our room as soon as we arrived. Our housekeeper, Jessie, should be given a gold medal!!! And the restaurant/bar staff Trevor, Alexa and Eva were always smiling and very helpful. Thanks to Floribeth and Gilberth for help with check in and check out. It is a solid hotel to stay in if you visit Tamarindo and the view from the pool deck is breathtaking!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We appreciate the praise for our staff. I’ll go out on a limb here and say that the Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas has the most attentive, eager and happy staff in town. You named but a few of us who dedicate our work to good service. And just a quick FYI, we are renovating rooms to keep everything looking fresh, but still with the rustic feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went to Costa Rica for a vacation with another family. The trip started great with a stay in the Cloud Forest where the service was just excellent. It was one of the best service I have experienced anywhere in the world including India. From there we went to Tamarind where we stayed at the Tamarindo Vista Villas. The setup f our accommodation was simply fabulous. We had 2 adjoining suites. It was set up such that we essentially had a spacious 3 bedroom apartment with a spacious living room, dining area and a very comfortable kitchen. The best was a long veranda or patio along the length of the 2 suites that had a couple of tables and a nice long couch where I would send the earl morning sipping my coffee and reading the double year-end issue of The Economist.

However, the quality of the accommodations was not as great as the setup. There were bugs and ants and the plumbing (low water pressure and flush does not work) did not work well. Also, our request for the repair was not promptly completed nor was correct information given to us. This was frustrating as we just wanted the right answers. The management was very helpful, and even more so when we raised this issue with our travel agent. Our travel agent promoted further improvement in service. I do not think the management could have done anything more in the 4 days that we were there to improve the situation. Hopefully, they improve the upkeep of the entire property.

I would like to mention a few employees who went it of their way to ensure the our stay was good. Jessenia , our house-keeper was fed flexible about the timings and cleaned our rooms well especially with 4 kids trudging all oer from the beach. The receptionist, Floribeth, the maintenance manager, Helen and the property manager, Trevor all went out of their a to make ur stay comfortable and fix our issues. In addition, Alexia and Eva servng us at the restaurant/bar were very thoughtful to our needs.

The location of the property was also very good. We had the lower suites which did nit have such a goood view but were more spacious than the other suites. This was important for us with 4 kids and 3 adults. There was a surf shop right next to the hotel, once we crossed the road we were on the beach. We took surfing lessons, and Alan (our instructor) made sure that even a guy who has to have his feet on solid ground to feel comfortable was able to stand on the surfboard. The best part of the location ws that it was a little further away from the town center and so there were no crowds. We pretty much had the beach to ourselves. The pool, the swim-up bar and the adjoining restaurant were also very good with awesome food. The restaurant was a good happening place.

Overall, our stay at Tamarindo was good with some negative experience that hopefully others don't encounter.

Room Tip: Choose the lower suites if you want space or traveling for an extended period. Choose the upper room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your ultimately pleasant stay with us. Of course, we remember you and your families, and we loved having you around the hotel. Like you said in your review, we wanted to do everything possible to make you stay with us enjoyable and we accomplished that. As soon as we found out that your shower wasn’t at full pressure, we sent our maintenance man to fix it. I personally remember talking to you before the problem and after it was fixed, and you didn’t even realize that we had jumped on your problem and solved it. After that was resolved, we know you had a good time as we talked with you every day at breakfast. Just an important point for those readers of Trip Advisor: You were in the Imperial Suite, the 3-bedroom suite with kitchen, patio and partial ocean view that fit 8 people. This suite is situated on the lower level. We do indeed have our large 1-bedroom suites on the upper level. Those rooms have a full ocean views and can accommodate 4 or 5 people. We can even put two suites together with an adjoining door for larger parties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here only one night, got the last room during Christmas week. While our room was small, we loved the pool& terrace & bar area. This is near the quieter area of town & would recommend it for families with small children. We did have a lovely view of the water & staff were Avery helpful &pleasant. Breakfast at the pool was simple but very pleasant, it was a great into to Tamarindo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We love your review. Short, sweet and to the point, praising our views and staff. You were lucky to get a room during Christmas week, and we were glad to have you. Visit us again another time or year and we will still be here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The entire property could use a little updating and nothing in particular really blew us away. The rooms on the 1st level lacked a view but had plenty of space. We had a bit of an ant problem that bothered my gf; however the housekeeper apologized and tried to help us. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate and the food from the bar was good (chicken wings and fish tacos). Fernando, Luna and Trevor were very friendly, helpful and a joy to talk with while watching the sunset from the pool bar area. The location made it quite easy to rent a surf board from Waves the shop down in front and an easy walk to the beach. Also, my gf and I walked into to town multiple evenings and did not feel unsafe walking back to the hotel. Overall, the property was not bad and with the groupon price we paid I felt it was a pretty good value.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300s have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We remember you and am glad you realize that with the low, low GroupOn price you got a good deal. That GroupOn deal provided you with the Tropical Suite at an incredibly low price, one you would not find ANYWHERE in Tamarindo for a suite is a spacious one bedroom, with living room, kitchen, partial ocean view, and a patio. Meanwhile, we’d like to let everyone know that during low season we did a lot of renovations on our rooms and plan to do some more at the end of next season .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Overall, my friends and I were pleased with this hotel. There were a few negatives, but overall it met our needs and we really enjoyed it. We had the corona suite which was very roomy with a beautiful view. The view from the pool area and restaurant/bar is beautiful as well. Water pressure was low but we experienced that in other parts of Tamarindo, and there were some outdoor bugs - but that is to be expected in the area. The two sofas/beds weren’t fantastic but they were okay to sleep on – we had four people in the suite. The staff were great – all friendly and helpful – starting with Ellen Zoe, Guest Relations Manager, months before my trip. She was very responsive to many many emails I sent with questions about the hotel, excursions, and in general. Trevor, the manager, is available at breakfast each day and seemed to get to know all of the guests. He was very friendly and helpful in answering any questions we had about things to do or where to go. I celebrated a “milestone” birthday while I was there. My friend asked Trevor how she could arrange for a birthday cake and Gustavo, the chef, provided one (at no charge) which was really nice! The waitresses, housekeepers, reception and maintenance staff were all helpful and friendly (apologies that I can not remember all of their names). Two of us took beginner surfing lessons with the connected surf school. Our instructor Alan was great – knowledgeable, experienced, well-spoken, and encouraging.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
What a nice review—thanks so much. We are beautiful here with simple, clean rooms and lots of gardens and many ocean views to appease the senses. Indeed the Corona Suites are large, feature a kitchen, queen bed in the living and 2 single beds (which double as sofas; they are not pull out sofa beds). We get a lot of praise for our staff who take the initiative even before a guest arrives to make sure that every question is answered and every need meet. Of course we were really happy to celebrate your birthday with you and make sure that you were able to take part in one of Tamarindo’s most popular sports—surfing. Here’s a thought: Come back next year for your birthday so we can once again fete you with cake and you can take another surf in our never-ending waves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary in Costa Rica the week of December 8, 2012. The first 4 nights we stayed at this property.

The location was good. The property was OK. Noisy HVAC, below-par breakfast, but a spacious room with decent layout. We paid $10 more for breakfast and got something decent.

Here's the bad part. Our internet reservation was for 4 nights. Yet, during our second day in Tamarindo, we found another property that was 2 steps above in quality, but only a few dollars more per night. So, we went to the hotel office to change from 4 nights to 2 nights, at 1 PM in the afternoon of the second day. Impossible. We couldn't even change from 4 nights to 3 nights, not because of the local management, but because of Best Western state-side. Even though I had "silver elite" status as a Best Western customer, they made us stay the full 4 nights because of some internet booking rule. Yet, the walk-off-the-street price was what we had paid.

So, don't do business with Best Western, at least not over the internet. My business travel will no longer be with Best Western. They got their 4 nights in Costa Rica, and that's it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
You make a great case for booking with us directly rather than using an online travel agent or even the Best Western central reservations system. Booking with them adds another layer of difficulty by inserting a middleman into the process. By dealing directly with us, it’s easier to make any changes a guest may need because we are sitting right here on the property. In addition, we will be here when you get here to accommodate any of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Address: 1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.