We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK property. Not OK Best Western management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 x 2 Promotion
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Tamarindo
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“OK property. Not OK Best Western management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary in Costa Rica the week of December 8, 2012. The first 4 nights we stayed at this property.

The location was good. The property was OK. Noisy HVAC, below-par breakfast, but a spacious room with decent layout. We paid $10 more for breakfast and got something decent.

Here's the bad part. Our internet reservation was for 4 nights. Yet, during our second day in Tamarindo, we found another property that was 2 steps above in quality, but only a few dollars more per night. So, we went to the hotel office to change from 4 nights to 2 nights, at 1 PM in the afternoon of the second day. Impossible. We couldn't even change from 4 nights to 3 nights, not because of the local management, but because of Best Western state-side. Even though I had "silver elite" status as a Best Western customer, they made us stay the full 4 nights because of some internet booking rule. Yet, the walk-off-the-street price was what we had paid.

So, don't do business with Best Western, at least not over the internet. My business travel will no longer be with Best Western. They got their 4 nights in Costa Rica, and that's it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
You make a great case for booking with us directly rather than using an online travel agent or even the Best Western central reservations system. Booking with them adds another layer of difficulty by inserting a middleman into the process. By dealing directly with us, it’s easier to make any changes a guest may need because we are sitting right here on the property. In addition, we will be here when you get here to accommodate any of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    189
    87
    33
    36
See reviews for
117
200
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Aldolfo at reception was exceptional! He even price-matched a room for my daughter and family when they arrived just before Xmas! Breakfast on the pool by the patio was memorable with such grand views of the Pacific!

Room Tip: Any room either in the 2 story building or the villas is great. Friday nites can be a bit noisy if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write a few good words about us. We are so glad that we were able to get you into the hotel during Christmas time, which is our busiest time of year. Do come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Fernando was awesome at bartender, as well as the rest of the staff (i can't remember their names, Sandra?). Across the street from the beach. We had two big rooms over looking the pool. Felt safe and comfortable.

Room Tip: 301 and 302 are the biggest room, with kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Fernando has been with us a long time and people love him as you did. We are grateful for your review of our staff, location and our spadcious room. It’s good to let everyone know that we are a simple, basic, clean and safe place to have a vacation. We hope to see you again; we’ll save a seat at the bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The staff was very helpful and the hotel is at a great location near stores and restaurants. The surf store at the hotel was particularly hospitable. They went above and beyond to help me and made my visit extraordinary. Special thanks to Andrea Diaz.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Of course we love your nice review of our facilities. Waves Costa Rica is one of our special amenities, the Roxy/Quiksilver surf shop right on the property. Andrea, a former national champ, is so with guests, as you found out. I’m glad you got your surf on while you were visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Positives:
Close to town, friendly staff, great view of the ocean, large clean pool, security

Negatives:
Inaccurate reservation - 2 twins beds reserved and only one bed in room with some other type of padding to sleep on.
Friday night live - Loud music until 1:30 am. We had to leave at 4am for an early flight. I would not have booked this hotel if I knew there was a band on Fridays
Internet - would not work in one of the rooms
Water - No water for about 15 minutes. No water pressure
Pool - used by local kids which is fine, but needs to be stated on website. Too crowded. Could not use it.
Outside needs to be cleaned up and weeded. Very dated.
Towels - out of beach towels when needed to use.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
You know, sometimes reviews are a product of unfair or unreasonable expectations. We strongly feel that this is one of those reviews.... There are a couple indicators of this within the review. Things like water and internet failures are common occurrences here in Tamarindo and are not necessarily problems that should be blamed directly on a hotel. However, the ways that hotels react to these external stimuli should be the basis of a review. In this case, yes, the water did go out, and yes, we have huge reserve tanks that we open when this happens. Of course the water doesn't always show up immediately (sometimes it takes about 15minutes) from these tanks does not equal the 60psi standard in the USA, but we figure its better to have some water at low pressure than no water at all. The same goes for our internet... At times, our internet provider fails us, so we bought internet from two different providers. One is for the rooms and the other is for the bar and restaurant, the idea being that the if one goes out, you can still use the other connection. As for your reservation, we are sorry, but we do know which group of guests you were (we aren't that big of a hotel) and we have your reservation right in front of us and can provide you with a scanned copy of the document showing a reservation for three rooms with queen beds. At your request, we did try to accommodate you (something most other hotels wouldn't do) and gave you an upgrade to one of our suites that have a queen bed and two sofa beds. But, in order to exaggerate your situation, you called our sofa cushions, "some other type of padding to sleep on".... Thanks...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Terrible hotel, small rooms and really really really basic. Almost a youth hostel. Reception is not a lobby, just a cubicle. Actually it is located in the guard room at the gate.
Rooms are also noisy and apparently not safe.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We feel that we must take issue with your review... While our rooms are basic, they are also clean, reasonably priced, and most certainly SAFE! You should be aware that it is against trip advisor guidelines to report a hotel as "apparently not safe", because you are not providing a first hand account of your experience with the property. You "apparently" didn't have an unsafe experience with the hotel but seem to think it is still "not safe". We have 24 hour security, a completely fenced property, electronic locks on every door, and guest balconies blocked from all access points. Where, pray tell, are we "apparently not safe"?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. Our room was basic but clean, and had a terrific view. The bar area and sweet pool was a pleasant place to relax after a long day, Location was great with easy access to the beach and the town. The best part was the staff who really made us feel welcome, from Javier at reception (my favorite!), the gentleman who showed us our room, Luna and Trevor offering their travel advice at breakfast, the wonderful housekeeper and lovely man behind the bar, They were terrific and helpful and really added to the "Pura Vida" vibe of the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful review about out hotel. It is our goal—from the receptionist, to the maid, to the bartender to the manager—to make sure that you had a great visit with us. The staff work hard to make sure our simple, reasonably priced rooms are nice,clean and safe, while providing an additional welcoming atmosphere at the bar and restaurant. For your vacation, we’re where the Pura Vida experience starts and continues for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Address: 1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#7 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.