We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay in December” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save In The Waves!
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
“3 night stay in December”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The staff was very helpful and the hotel is at a great location near stores and restaurants. The surf store at the hotel was particularly hospitable. They went above and beyond to help me and made my visit extraordinary. Special thanks to Andrea Diaz.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Of course we love your nice review of our facilities. Waves Costa Rica is one of our special amenities, the Roxy/Quiksilver surf shop right on the property. Andrea, a former national champ, is so with guests, as you found out. I’m glad you got your surf on while you were visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    225
    100
    35
    38
See reviews for
143
229
60
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Positives:
Close to town, friendly staff, great view of the ocean, large clean pool, security

Negatives:
Inaccurate reservation - 2 twins beds reserved and only one bed in room with some other type of padding to sleep on.
Friday night live - Loud music until 1:30 am. We had to leave at 4am for an early flight. I would not have booked this hotel if I knew there was a band on Fridays
Internet - would not work in one of the rooms
Water - No water for about 15 minutes. No water pressure
Pool - used by local kids which is fine, but needs to be stated on website. Too crowded. Could not use it.
Outside needs to be cleaned up and weeded. Very dated.
Towels - out of beach towels when needed to use.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
You know, sometimes reviews are a product of unfair or unreasonable expectations. We strongly feel that this is one of those reviews.... There are a couple indicators of this within the review. Things like water and internet failures are common occurrences here in Tamarindo and are not necessarily problems that should be blamed directly on a hotel. However, the ways that hotels react to these external stimuli should be the basis of a review. In this case, yes, the water did go out, and yes, we have huge reserve tanks that we open when this happens. Of course the water doesn't always show up immediately (sometimes it takes about 15minutes) from these tanks does not equal the 60psi standard in the USA, but we figure its better to have some water at low pressure than no water at all. The same goes for our internet... At times, our internet provider fails us, so we bought internet from two different providers. One is for the rooms and the other is for the bar and restaurant, the idea being that the if one goes out, you can still use the other connection. As for your reservation, we are sorry, but we do know which group of guests you were (we aren't that big of a hotel) and we have your reservation right in front of us and can provide you with a scanned copy of the document showing a reservation for three rooms with queen beds. At your request, we did try to accommodate you (something most other hotels wouldn't do) and gave you an upgrade to one of our suites that have a queen bed and two sofa beds. But, in order to exaggerate your situation, you called our sofa cushions, "some other type of padding to sleep on".... Thanks...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Terrible hotel, small rooms and really really really basic. Almost a youth hostel. Reception is not a lobby, just a cubicle. Actually it is located in the guard room at the gate.
Rooms are also noisy and apparently not safe.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We feel that we must take issue with your review... While our rooms are basic, they are also clean, reasonably priced, and most certainly SAFE! You should be aware that it is against trip advisor guidelines to report a hotel as "apparently not safe", because you are not providing a first hand account of your experience with the property. You "apparently" didn't have an unsafe experience with the hotel but seem to think it is still "not safe". We have 24 hour security, a completely fenced property, electronic locks on every door, and guest balconies blocked from all access points. Where, pray tell, are we "apparently not safe"?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. Our room was basic but clean, and had a terrific view. The bar area and sweet pool was a pleasant place to relax after a long day, Location was great with easy access to the beach and the town. The best part was the staff who really made us feel welcome, from Javier at reception (my favorite!), the gentleman who showed us our room, Luna and Trevor offering their travel advice at breakfast, the wonderful housekeeper and lovely man behind the bar, They were terrific and helpful and really added to the "Pura Vida" vibe of the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful review about out hotel. It is our goal—from the receptionist, to the maid, to the bartender to the manager—to make sure that you had a great visit with us. The staff work hard to make sure our simple, reasonably priced rooms are nice,clean and safe, while providing an additional welcoming atmosphere at the bar and restaurant. For your vacation, we’re where the Pura Vida experience starts and continues for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was there for 9 days at the beginning of Dec. We had an ocean view room. The view was great and so was the view from the bar/hotel. At the edge of town but its not a big town. You can be at the other edge of it in 20 minute walk. Two ways into hotel and one way in has a killer staircase so not a good hotel for handicapped or elderly. The room was clean but small. The AC worked great. Safe and Cable TV but no mini fridge. Fernando and Sharon at the bar were great. Erica and Adolfo at the front desk were always super helpful. Sharon kept the room very tidy and sand free after we would come back from the beach. If you are looking for room service this isn't the place for you. If you want a great view across from beach, clean room, great staff, great pool and a good price then this place is for you. All other hotel guests were from usa and canada and were all very nice as well.
- LisaNYC

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi Lisa, thanks for the really nice review. It’s the good word of guests like you that keep our rooms filled year round. You must have been taking some leisurely walks into town—which is what we recommend on vacation—because usually it’s only a 10 minute stroll to cover the 700 meters from our hotel to the center of Tamarindo. You were in our classic Ocean View room, however, all our suites have kitchens with refrigerators. Next time you visit, let us know your needs and we will accommodate you with the best room. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear River, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in December 2012 , having left a previously booked Eco lodge (El Sabanero) see review on this which explains why..
We moved down to Tamarindo and walked into this hotel as advertising special rate for walk ins. The hotel is old and dated in places but work was being done to repair areas around the pool. The pool itself was in great shape. The room we had was adequate with a nice view over the sea., plenty of hot water, clean bathroom, tv, safe etc.
We did not realise that this hotel still has smoking rooms which is what we ended up with as non smokers. With the windows open we soon cleared the stale smell but as the neighbouring room was also a smokers room did get the waft of cigarettes over the dividing wall of the balcony and also the occupiers of this room would smoke outside early in the morning a cough their guts out !!!ugh !!

We did not use the car much whilst here as we walked across to the beach and also easy access to all bars and restaurants in town. The girl on reception was lovely and very helpful.
Breakfast was included in the price (continental) and was basic but a nice touch and was served in the bar area..

Not a bad choice if you want to be in town and also as set back off the road was reasonably quiet at night.

Room Tip: be aware some rooms are allocated as ''smoking''
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenZoe, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We really appreciate your taking the time to write a review about us and pointing out our strategic location at the north end of Tamarindo, in front of the beach, far enough from the hustle and bustle of the center of town yet easy to reach it with a simple 5 minute walk. It is fair to let people know that we have done a lot of renovations this year on many rooms and, as you noticed, our ocean view pool has already been completed refreshed.

As to the issue of smoking, we are very cognizant of our non-smoking guests and have tried to make the hotel as pleasant and fresh as possible. Out of 30 rooms, we have designated exactly 2 for smoking, hoping that in this way we can accommodate everybody. It’s always a wise idea to check on the availability of non-smoking rooms when making reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluetitus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

There are strong pluses and minuses to this hotel:
+s: Great views, close to beach, surfing, walk to town. Plus they have some large suites that are great for a longer stay. Staff is very friendly. Probably better than most of the other (limited) options in Tamarindo except the very high end Diria Hotel. The rooms are clean
-s: Don't stay on Friday nights as they have a live band and it is "girl's night" so think hookers and drugs and no sleep till 2:30 am. Staff is friendly but disorganized and don't keep the hotel up to standard. Lots of problems with internet, hot water, lizards and bugs in the room, most windows don't shut all the way. Lots of confusion with our and other guests reservations. The property is very dated.
Bottom line: If you are on a guys surf trip it is heaven. If you want american standards or some luxury it is not for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#5 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Camino a Tamarindo
0.4 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas

Address: 1000 Calle Principal, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place to play! The BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas offers the best ocean views, a clean and safe environment, and a wonderful staff.... All just steps away from the world famous beach of Playa Tamarindo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas Hotel Tamarindo
Tamarindo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.