We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Langosta Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Barcelo Langosta Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Langosta Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Robledal, La Uruca, Tamarindo 1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Vacations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nothing bad to say. Great place to relax and have fun. Only one thing I would like to improve, I arrive after 10pm and by politics from the hotel no restaurant was available. They provide a plate of fruits for my room which is good, but we where 3 ppl. To be honest a plate of fruits isn't enough for 3. The restaurants are far away from the hotel and we went with no car so we could went to Tamarindo center to grab food. Another thing to improve is the animation of the activities. Need to be more active and funny. Well, beside that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Gerente at Barcelo Langosta Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Señor
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, los cuales son grandemente valorados y tomados en cuenta para mejorar nuestros servicios. Esperamos poder servirle en un futuro. Jorge Jimenez Montero. Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    397
    170
    59
    62
See reviews for
251
350
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have lived in Costa Rica for 8 years. I am very familiar with both local and internationally owned resorts and hotels throughout the country. My family and I stayed at the Barcelo Tambor Beach resort last year and found it an adequate experience, but not one that we felt compelled to repeat.

This year we wanted to return to Tamarindo, a beach that we had not visited in several years. Out of concerns for our budget we dismissed out of hand a few other options because we knew the Barcelo was 'more reasonable.'

Well, let me very clear about this: in this case you do not get what you pay for. There is no value for your money at this resort, and the customer service experience was so underwhelming that I requested a refund and left the resort on the same day.

Three hours after paying and checking in at reception our room still was not available. At no time did any staff member communicate with us regarding the delay or make an offer to accommodate us in any way. A refreshment? No. An extra night in the formal restaurant? No. A room upgrade? No. A simple apology and acknowledgement of the inconvenience? No.

We decided to take a walking tour of the property and found the conditions less than acceptable. There is a single buffet style restaurant on the property and it is not adequately staffed to provide for the quantity of all-inclusive guests. The line to enter literally extended out into the pool area. Inside, there were many table where guests had plates full of food but were not able to eat because they had no utensils or napkins.

When we stayed at the Barcelo Playa Tambor last year for 4 nights, we received 2 nights of dining in the formal restaurant. For the same four night stay at Barcelo Playa Langosta we were informed that we would receive only a single formal dining reservation.

When I expressed my concerns at reception regarding the delay and dining conditions the employee would not address me directly. Instead she would enter an office behind closed doors after each exchange and return with no updates or solutions.

When I finally demanded a refund of the 50% cash payment and balance paid via credit card I was threatened with the following: "We won't return your cash...it will returned on your credit card. And we are charging you for tonight because you are cancelling with less than 24 hours notice."

It took another 1.5 hours of conversation before I received my cash, and a statement on their letterhead indicating that they would submit my credit card payment for a refund.

If you value your money and want to experience an incredible resort for remarkably, not much more in cost, do what we did. Drive straight over to The Westin Playa Conchal for a true, all-inclusive experience with a staff and facilities that will blow you away.

We will never return to a Barcelo property if our money is required to pay for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Gerente at Barcelo Langosta Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments. please accept our apoligies for all the inconviniences you had during your visit. Your comments are received as support to improve our services and encourage our staff to improve in all the posible ways.
We hope to have the opportuniy to serve you again in the future. Regards Jorge Jimenez Montero .Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We recently stayed at Barceló Langosta Beach hotel for our honeymoon. We had a good time. I will advice this is NOT an adult only resort and there were a few to many children for our liking on our honeymoon. The food was decent, we really liked the a la carte restaurant but only were able to eat there one night. The lack of night life was disappointing. They only had one band and then the Disco from 9-1am but there was never anyone in there. If it a nice hotel but defiantly more family geared. I would not recommend this hotel for a honeymoon or a vacation with your significant other.

Room Tip: I would ask for a ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Gerente at Barcelo Langosta Beach, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Señor
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, los cuales son grandemente valorados y tomados en cuenta para mejorar nuestros servicios. Esperamos poder servirlente en un futuro. Jorge Jimenez Montero. Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here for five nights in mid June 2014 and had a wonderful time. The grounds are lovely and well maintained and the staff was friendly and welcoming. My two children loved the pool and beach and there was always something to do. This was our first "all inclusive" experience, so I am not sure how it compares to other resorts in this category, but we were overall pleased with the food and amenities. My husband and I had already realized that Costa Ricans are not "foodies", all of the food we had everywhere we went was good, but not amazing. Of course, Costa Rica has so much else to offer, I can see why they are not foodies. The food at the snack bar was sometimes overcooked, but it was nice to have it there for when the kids really needed a snack or drink. The stocked fridge was also nice, but I was hoping for more variety. We got 2 waters, one coke and one ginger ale each day.

We stayed at another Hotel in the Jaco area (Punta Leona) before coming to the Barcelo Langosta, and we enjoyed this Hotel more due to more spacious rooms and overall accessibility to activities and entertainment.

We also had the pleasure of being at the resort during the World Cup and the atmosphere at the hotel during the games was so fun. The games were put up on a large screen in the Snack bar and it was just a huge fun party. So much fun.

The town of Tamarindo is also very close and can be walked to if needed. Lots of shops and placed to eat as well as fun public beach. My only complaint about Tamarindo is the street vendors can be a bit too aggressive. We never felt unsafe, just annoyed when one vendor followed us around for an akward amount of time and another tried to charge us for parking in a parking spot labeled "free parking".

Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Gerente at Barcelo Langosta Beach, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments, from all Barceló Langosta Bech staff we want to thank you for choosing us as your vacation option, We are very happy because your stay was pleasant, comfortable and enjoyed. Hopefully we will be able to serve you again in the future. Regards. Jorge Jimenez Montero. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We and our 6 guests went to Barcelo Playa Langosta not only for vacation but also for our wedding. This beautiful property, located on a peninsula about 2 miles from the small town of Tamarindo, is situated on the beach with incredible views of the Pacific Ocean and surrounding lush, tropical gardens. A large swimming pool is the focal point of the common area, around which the large dining room, snack bar, drinks bar, and lobby all converge. Our rooms all had fantastic views overlooking a lush canopy of trees with views of the Pacific and of surrounding mountains. This is a small resort, and in the off-season when we went,it is quite intimate and laid-back.

The rooms were very comfortable, decent sized, all with King size beds. The bathrooms were
a bit small, but the water pressure was good and strong and the shower heads were the "rainfall"
type. Every room has a large balcony. The rooms are all accessed directly from outdoors; this
is not a high-rise building but rather a cluster of low-rise buildings that span the property, surrounded by gardens that house a resident population of native Howler Monkeys, parakeets,
iguana, geckos, lizards, orioles, and other assorted native and migratory wild-life. And no, they are not shy.

The beach was rugged and beautiful, but the ocean here is not for swimming but for surfing. Some of the beach is sandy, but much of it is a thick layer of black lava from pre-history.
Bring a glass of your favorite drink from the near-by snack bar and enjoy fabulous Pacific sunsets!

The best part of this little gem of a resort is the genuinely friendly staff. We found smiling, happy
souls in all departments. I have been to many, many resorts, but this was by far the best service and the friendliest. We felt very welcomed and appreciated by everyone.

For our wedding, this resort created exactly what we wanted, and we could not imagine a better
wedding day! From the set-up on the beach, to the flowers, the champagne that followed the ceremony just before sunset, to the dinner after, everything was wonderful!

All of us agreed that the Barcelo is a great find, and we truly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: One of the buildings, 4000, has an elevator. There are ramps throughout the resort grounds if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Gerente at Barcelo Langosta Beach, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments!! We are extremely pleased and proud to know that you stay with us was delightful, enjoyable and relax. Our main priority are our customers and reach their expectations are a goal to us everyday!!! From Barceló Langosta Beach Staff we would like to thank you and let you know that we will be more tan happy to serve you again in the future. Regards Jorge Jimenez Montero. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have traveled around the Caribbean with our children (ages 11, 10, 8, and 3) and have stayed at Barcelo resorts before. This resort was not spectacular but was very nice. First, this is a smaller resort thus, amenities are less, but what they have is very good. We traveled in mid June and the resort was at about 25% capacity and there were absolutely no issues with lines but on the weekend it became very busy and there were several lines at the bar and restaurant that were long. The staff was VERY accommodating with our needs. We asked to have connecting rooms and it was granted immediately. Unfortunately, we had to ask to move rooms (if you plan on going to sleep before 11:00 ask to NOT stay in the 4000 wing it is next to the outdoor theatre and very loud). Raymond at the front desk was very accommodating and we were able to move rooms. The food at the buffet and Al la Carte restaurant was good. The beach is very rocky and the adjoining river can be a bit difficult with the changing of the tides but there were a ton of really neat shells for the kids to collect. We took three tours through United Tours that were AMAZING even with our children. We hiked at Rincon de la Vieja National Park, visited Palo Verde and did the River tour, and took the Blue Dolphin Catamaran (amazing snorkeling and sunset). The professionalism of the TAM company is unparalleled with professional guides and easy transfers (they are located near the front desk). We also ventured out to the town of Tamarindo ($11 taxi ride there and back) that was nice shopping. On a down note, there was no kids club or activities for them (which we did know going into this trip). Overall, this was a great family trip and the staff and people associated with this resort made it a great experience. I recommend it as family friendly and relaxing!

Room Tip: If you want to sleep before 11:00 ask NOT to be in the 4000 wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Propietario at Barcelo Langosta Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments, from all Barceló Langosta Bech staff we want to thank you for choosing us as your vacation option, We are very happy because your stay was pleasant, comfortable and enjoyed. Hopefully we will be able to serve you again in the future. Regards. Jorge Jimenez Montero. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our 1st visit to Barcelo Langosta was over Christmas 2013/New Year break. We had such a great time there that we returned this month (June 2014). Amazingly, the people who worked there (desk/restaurant/activities) actually remembered us and genuinely welcomed us back. The beach is spectacular. If you time it correctly (pay attention to tides), you can take beautiful long walks in either direction. Our teens surfed and played volleyball everyday. The best thing about this place is the staff - smart, friendly and helpful. Jose Ramon was like our personal local guide and gave us his cell # so we could call him if we needed help when we went out exploring..which we did. The resort restaurant servers and front desk folks were also terrific. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra G, Gerente at Barcelo Langosta Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments, from all Barceló Langosta Bech staff we want to thank you for choosing us as your vacation option, We are very happy because your stay was pleasant, comfortable and enjoyed. Hopefully we will be able to serve you again in the future. Regards. Jorge Jimenez Montero. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Langosta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Langosta Beach

Address: El Robledal, La Uruca, Tamarindo 1150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#11 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Langosta Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean-style Beachfront Hotel located 45 minutes from Liberia Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Langosta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Langosta Beach Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Langosta Beach
Hotel Barcelo Playa Langosta
Barcelo Playa Langosta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Langosta Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.