We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read the older reviews” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Langosta Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Langosta Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Barcelo Langosta Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Robledal, La Uruca, Tamarindo 1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Tamarindo
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Read the older reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Read the older reviews I think they write their own reviews to keep their ratings up.Hotel has very poor service, average to below food. Only one bar open during the day with very limited selection. No food or coffee service available between 10:00pm & 6:30am.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    372
    151
    48
    55
See reviews for
220
325
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a beautiful, well cared for property, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the food was always good, although not exceptional. Our room was very clean, hotel grounds are lovely, the beach is gorgeous, so pleasant sitting under the trees and watching the surf, occasionally venturing into the water and beachcombing in the interesting tidal pools. The end of the rainy season was a great time to be there - weather was good, only occasional showers, no crowds and always lounge chairs available. It was everything we could have wished for in our tropical holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms near the south end of the property are right by the disco and amphitheater so are noisy for at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Where do I start? We stayed here in beginning of June at it was fantastic. The room was well equipped with comfortable beds and a nice balcony. The beach is beautiful, spent many mornings walking the beach and then watching the surfers later in the day. The staff was very friendly especially the ones on the beach who are there to entertain. The one drawback is that you have to pay for internet which in this day and age is ridiculous to me but that is my only gripe. The food was always tasty and drinks were quick. While there we went to into town for some shopping. Cant wait to go back with the rest of my family!

Room Tip: Our room was right by the Spa, you may wish to request a room away from the club for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

just returned from Barceló Langosta, Costa Rica and had a very good experience overall. Food is good, hotel rooms very clean ocean beach has a few rocks but nice for surfing.
Tamarindo beach is about 20 min walk on the ocean side recommend to walk at least one way.
The only bad experience was when trying to buy stuff, especially in Tamarindo village. Looks like the US$ completely lost its buying power, everything is prohibitively expensive. The activities offered there are nice but price is high as well. The silver jewelry seemed to be somewhat cheaper than in Canada.
Very nice weather thus they say this is the rainy season.
They do not speak a lot of English, but this wasn't a problem.

From my experience, try to avoid the Auto Mercado, biiig disappointment !

I'll probably go back there in a few years, very nice place !!!

Room Tip: the rooms far from the pool seemed a little bit more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This beach resort was just wonderful! I went at a time when it was really quiet (which I appreciated, having had many rowdy/crowded vacations). The staff were super friendly, the weather was wonderful and they always had a really good selection of food at the buffets. It is a short distance to the town where you can buy souvenirs and local food. In my opinion, this property is underrated and should not be overlooked when planning a trip to this side of CR.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This Beach Resort was a wonderful experience, great service, great food, great beach.
I went with my family of 24 and we all had a great time, the beach was wonderful very relaxing place some of us had massages done and they were wonderful.
THANK YOU BARCELO LANGOSTA FOR A GREAT SERVICE. :)
!!!!!PURA VIDA!!!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Langosta is a hidden jewel out side of the hustle and bustle of Tamarindo. Relaxing by the pool with bar and snacks close by at all times (great pool). Meals are incredible and are buffet style. We bought day passes every other day as we were staying in a condo nearby. The staff was friendly and efficient. The spa was a little disappointing, but overall the experience was great. The surf break out back is great at the right size and tide. Very secure and comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Langosta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Langosta Beach

Also Known As:
Barcelo Langosta Beach Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Langosta Beach Hotel
Barcelo Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Langosta Beach
Barcelo Langosta
Hotel Barcelo Playa Langosta
Barcelo Playa Langosta
Address: El Robledal, La Uruca, Tamarindo 1150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
#13 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Langosta Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean-style Beachfront Hotel located 45 minutes from Liberia Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Langosta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Langosta Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.