We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Langosta Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Langosta Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Langosta Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Robledal, La Uruca, Tamarindo 1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 hotels in Tamarindo
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Where do I start? We stayed here in beginning of June at it was fantastic. The room was well equipped with comfortable beds and a nice balcony. The beach is beautiful, spent many mornings walking the beach and then watching the surfers later in the day. The staff was very friendly especially the ones on the beach who are there to entertain. The one drawback is that you have to pay for internet which in this day and age is ridiculous to me but that is my only gripe. The food was always tasty and drinks were quick. While there we went to into town for some shopping. Cant wait to go back with the rest of my family!

Room Tip: Our room was right by the Spa, you may wish to request a room away from the club for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    385
    165
    57
    58
See reviews for
236
342
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

just returned from Barceló Langosta, Costa Rica and had a very good experience overall. Food is good, hotel rooms very clean ocean beach has a few rocks but nice for surfing.
Tamarindo beach is about 20 min walk on the ocean side recommend to walk at least one way.
The only bad experience was when trying to buy stuff, especially in Tamarindo village. Looks like the US$ completely lost its buying power, everything is prohibitively expensive. The activities offered there are nice but price is high as well. The silver jewelry seemed to be somewhat cheaper than in Canada.
Very nice weather thus they say this is the rainy season.
They do not speak a lot of English, but this wasn't a problem.

From my experience, try to avoid the Auto Mercado, biiig disappointment !

I'll probably go back there in a few years, very nice place !!!

Room Tip: the rooms far from the pool seemed a little bit more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This beach resort was just wonderful! I went at a time when it was really quiet (which I appreciated, having had many rowdy/crowded vacations). The staff were super friendly, the weather was wonderful and they always had a really good selection of food at the buffets. It is a short distance to the town where you can buy souvenirs and local food. In my opinion, this property is underrated and should not be overlooked when planning a trip to this side of CR.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This Beach Resort was a wonderful experience, great service, great food, great beach.
I went with my family of 24 and we all had a great time, the beach was wonderful very relaxing place some of us had massages done and they were wonderful.
THANK YOU BARCELO LANGOSTA FOR A GREAT SERVICE. :)
!!!!!PURA VIDA!!!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Langosta is a hidden jewel out side of the hustle and bustle of Tamarindo. Relaxing by the pool with bar and snacks close by at all times (great pool). Meals are incredible and are buffet style. We bought day passes every other day as we were staying in a condo nearby. The staff was friendly and efficient. The spa was a little disappointing, but overall the experience was great. The surf break out back is great at the right size and tide. Very secure and comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed there for 2 weeks for our honeymoon. Location couldn't be prettier. The Pacific ocean is literally right behind the resort. Food was buffet-style. The breakfast and lunch were pretty much the same with small changes though you could always count on something delicious. Dinner rotated and changed every evening with wonderful selections of fish, meat and chorizo. The coffee was amazing as well!! The staff bends over backwards to make you feel welcome and happy. You are always offered another drink! The snack bar near the ocean was our favorite spot. Nice ocean breeze with pool, fusbol and entertainment daily (including dance lessons, darts & archery). They offered free yoga lessons on Saturdays. Saw howler monkeys in the tree next to the pool 3 separate times! Tons of flora and fauna around the resort as well including iguanas, geckos, porcupines and racoons. The nightly shows were amazingly well performed! The entertainment staff that keeps you occupied during the day performs at night after a very long day. Simply amazing!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was our second trip to Costa Rica and our second staying at the Barcelo Langosta Beach. For our second trip we originally booked with another hotel, but as soon as we arrived there we knew we wanted to go back to the Barcelo. My husband called them and the hotel said come on and gave us a really fabulous deal. We were so happy to be back at the Barcelo. Most everyone was there from the last time we were there nine months ago and they actually remembered us! Loved having Alex help me again with my Spanish every morning while he made my omelette. The rooms are wonderful, clean, and spacious. The people that are there everyday work so hard to make sure you have a wonderful time. The grounds are unbelievably gorgeous. I can't recommend the Barcelo Langosta Beach enough!

Room Tip: We have stayed in building five and the last time we were in building seven. Both buildings we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Langosta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Langosta Beach

Address: El Robledal, La Uruca, Tamarindo 1150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Langosta Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean-style Beachfront Hotel located 45 minutes from Liberia Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Barcelo, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Langosta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Langosta Beach Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Langosta Beach
Hotel Barcelo Playa Langosta
Barcelo Playa Langosta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Langosta Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.