We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing shows, wonderful staff, a great resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Langosta Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Langosta Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Langosta Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tamarindo, Tamarindo 1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% discount
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing shows, wonderful staff, a great resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Last week, I went to hotel Barcelo with my mom and a group of my 5 aunts and cousins. What a great time we had! Dance classes are given weekly, beach volleyball, water volleyball, all-inclusive food, and clean rooms. The excursion coordinator Jusy is so helpful, we went to Vandara Zip Lining/Horseback riding, White Water Rafting in Tenorio, and she also set up a taxi service to bring us to the the Catarata Cortez (a free waterfall to swim in)--she worked after hours when we called late at night to organize these trips for us. Amazing.

I also made fast friends with all the dancers in the show--Alex, Mariam, Yocsary, Diego, Susan, Czar, Joaquin. I am so grateful to them for their talent, their nightly shows, their entertainment of all the guests during the day as counselors, and their beautiful personalities.

The band is also super special and personable. I'm a fan of the new young keyboardist, Emanuel, who got me to sing "Besame Mucho" with the group on a few occasions.

I have every intention of returning to Hotel Barcelo, participating in the activities, and singing at their karaoke night VERY soon.

Sincerely,
Allison S. from New Jersey
www.youtube.com/allisonstrong90

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    468
    196
    69
    71
See reviews for
339
428
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from 7 days at this hotel. Did not know what to expect due to some negative reviews. I loved it. Jusy at the tour desk was very helpful with tours & other issues. Attended two shows & enjoyed them. Restaurant had variety & deserts were terrific. Loved the band. Staff was always friendly & helpful. Location not great to do tours due to long travel time to reach them but great for lounging on the beach & surfing. Had to request a room change but only because we did not want to be the noisy areas. Had sent email outlining preferences for assignment but it was never answered. Go & enjoy!

Room Tip: We avoided being near the location of the nightly shows. Faced the jungle area & were able to v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Be ready to add a few pounds because the food is varied and very good. I enjoyed the different activities the hotel offers such as dancing lessons, volleyball playing, water aerobics every morning etc. I traveled with my daughter and my two year old granddaughter. It was amazing watching my granddaughter hurrying up at 9pm to watch the musical entertainment. She just loved it and so did I. I thought I was watching Broadway or Las Vegas. The dancers are excellent and they put on a great show. The beach at the hotel was the perfect setting for the baby because there are some rocks where you can just seat and enjoy the water.
My only disappointment was calling the front desk one night to have the room's hair dryer fixed and they had me waiting for over an hour without calling me to let me know whether that was going to be fixed that night or the following day. I finally left the room with my hair wet and service finally came while I was out. I stronglyl recommend this hotel and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAINE, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to Barcelo for our honeymoon. If you are looking for a place to relax, the resort is catered toward people looking to relax and do nothing all day. It was nice to have a few days to lay by the pool and explore the beach. Was sad to see we legally couldn't take shells from the beach, not thrilled with that. Most of the wait staff and other employees were knowledgable and easy to talk to in English except for the front desk staff, which is the people we had to communicate with the most :/ Other than that the resort was fine, the room was nice we had. Only negative about the room was that we were near the ampitheather so we could hear all the nightly shows, making it hard to sleep. I would recommend Costa Rica to anyone! Maybe try another resort, but this was average and seemed to be the best bang for our buck!

Room Tip: -It seems the lower levels are the double beds and the higher levels are the single beds -Rooms nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am here at the hotel right now and it is filthy at the pool area! There are dirty plates, cups and leftover food at a lot of the umbrella tables by the pool. I had to clean one myself and as I was, I had a staff member say hello and do nothing after I told her about the problem! This app does not allow pictures, but believe me....it is disgusting

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The only good thing about Barcelo Langosta is its close proximity to town. It's a 3 min /$5 cab ride from resort , or a 15-20 min walk. The food is at best average. The alcohol is a low grade alcohol, no name brands of alcohol here, unless you want to pay the extra $5 per drink. Who pays for drinks at an All Inclusive Resort. Nightly entertainment , well lets just say its like amateur night. It's not good at all. This resort is for someone who is just looking to relax and go on excursions everyday. Chicken, beef, rice & beans is all you will see for lunch and dinner. No chicken breast, just legs and partial thighs. When reviewing my review, please keep in mind, we have stayed at The Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica, The Riu Cabo San Lucas, The Riu Playa Del Carmen, Ifa Bavaro Villas Dominican , all which were All Inclusive Resorts. My overall rating would be decent on this resort. Resort is beautiful and sits right on the beach, but its entertainment, food and cocktails need serious improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed at Barcelo Langosta Beach for 4 nights in July. We had a 42 square meter room. Perfect when staying three persons in one room. It says 5 star but in an international ranking I would say 3 star. The food did not impress at all, almost the same food every day and no love from the kitchen. But we payed about 100USD/person/night all inclusive so we did not expect too much. The beach right below the hotel isnt nice at all but if you walk to the left for a few minutes you will find an amazing beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamarindo
8.5 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Cala Luna Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Langosta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Langosta Beach

Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 1150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Langosta Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Resort. Beach Front ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Barcelo Langosta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Langosta Beach Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Langosta Beach
Hotel Barcelo Playa Langosta
Barcelo Playa Langosta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Langosta Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.