We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Langosta Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Langosta Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Langosta Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   El Robledal, La Uruca, Tamarindo 1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We really enjiyed the two week stay. The staff are terrific, friendly and always helpful .
The pool is very clean and just the right size.
You are steps away from a beautiful beach. For swimming you walk across the river , Rios San Franciso I believe it is called.The beach stretches along a park and is great,
Our room was clean and two floors with a Jacuzzi and a terrific view from the 4th floor balcony.
The food was great as always, both the buffet and the pool bar burgers and chicken and burritos are better than what you get in restaurants here in Canada. Thanks to Maria at the pool bar grill and Zunny for her pleasant service. Had Filet Mignon in the specialty restaurant, which is a nice venue and the food was the best.

Room Tip: Try to get 4406, the corner room in our block . It faces South, but the balcony is open to the West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    402
    172
    59
    63
See reviews for
257
355
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel!
Rooms - Beds were very comfortable, bathrooms very clean, air conditioning worked great. We had the howler monkeys right behind our room. Partial view of ocean. No bugs.

Staff - Absoluely amazing! Friendly restaurant staff and entertainment staff - unbelievable. We got to know them very well and they are really great people.

Smaller resort - which I really likes. Lots of surfers and dogs on the beach. I loved the smaller resort and atmosphere better than any other place I've stayed.

For tours we used Alex (Alexonthebeach.com) . If you want a nice personal tour - he's amazing. His english is really good and he is very passionate about his job. When he took us through the rainforest - you could really see his passion. He will take you to those nice little spots you won't see with other tours. When we did the jungle tour , he is able to get the animals right up in front of you and monkeys on the boat, pretty cool. I would highly recommend.
We also swam under these amazing waterfalls , spring water, that was also one of my highlights. I love costa rica!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This all inclusive resort exceeded our expectations. the weather was sunny and warm all the time. Rooms were large and clean. Pool was fantastic, never crowded and we could swim without goggles and it did not affect our eyes. The Buffett offered many types of quality foods and the staff were eagerly helpful. Great gym and spa especially the massages.

Strongly recommend you not use Sunwing.ca for tours. We've we're left at risk of not being able to get back into Costa Rica from Nicaragua because of a problem of their making.

We will go back to this resort next year.

Brian

Room Tip: Ask to be near pool which is close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As a long time resident of Costa Rica I am often embarrassed by the poor quality of service and accommodations at high prices offered by local hotels.

All Costa Rican hotel managers should spend a mandatory weekend to see how a this hotel operates ; good food, friendly staff, beautiful 2 floor rooms .

Great value all around , highly recommended .

Room Tip: Tamarindo village with all it's bustling nightlife and restaurants is only 2 Km if you want more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Md
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The resort was up to the usual standards of the Barcelo Hotel chain. The food was good and varied every day and the evening entertainment was enjoyable, The ocean was not as calm as we would of liked but we usually stay at resorts on the Caribbean ocean not the Pacific. No good snorkeling from the beach but you can take a boat to close reefs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As lovers of nature and flora and fauna, we absolutely loved it here. Monkeys in the trees around the pool, beautiful birds in the trees and large iguanas walking through the resort. Clean rooms, small but excellent buffet, and gardens are beautiful. Beach is coral so bring water shoes and take a walk to Tamarindo along the beach, it gets nice and sandy there and swimming is great. One thing that is excellent about this hotel is the service, definitely a five.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planet earth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Costa Rica is a must visit, lots of nature and beautiful landscapes. The hotel is well appointed, not large but excellent service. Always a smile and a willingness to help. The food was very good. The buffet is small compared to some other resorts but the variety and flavours are good. Room was clean and nicely laid out, and no problem with towels, shampoo, etc. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The beach in front of the hotel is rocky so bring water shoes. Great for surfing, especially Nov. an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Langosta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Langosta Beach

Address: El Robledal, La Uruca, Tamarindo 1150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Langosta Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean-style Beachfront Hotel located 45 minutes from Liberia Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Langosta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Langosta Beach Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Langosta Beach
Hotel Barcelo Playa Langosta
Barcelo Playa Langosta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Langosta Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.