We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Best Vacation Ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Langosta Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Langosta Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Langosta Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Tamarindo, Tamarindo 1150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My Best Vacation Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel!
Rooms - Beds were very comfortable, bathrooms very clean, air conditioning worked great. We had the howler monkeys right behind our room. Partial view of ocean. No bugs.

Staff - Absoluely amazing! Friendly restaurant staff and entertainment staff - unbelievable. We got to know them very well and they are really great people.

Smaller resort - which I really likes. Lots of surfers and dogs on the beach. I loved the smaller resort and atmosphere better than any other place I've stayed.

For tours we used Alex (Alexonthebeach.com) . If you want a nice personal tour - he's amazing. His english is really good and he is very passionate about his job. When he took us through the rainforest - you could really see his passion. He will take you to those nice little spots you won't see with other tours. When we did the jungle tour , he is able to get the animals right up in front of you and monkeys on the boat, pretty cool. I would highly recommend.
We also swam under these amazing waterfalls , spring water, that was also one of my highlights. I love costa rica!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    453
    189
    67
    70
See reviews for
318
411
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This all inclusive resort exceeded our expectations. the weather was sunny and warm all the time. Rooms were large and clean. Pool was fantastic, never crowded and we could swim without goggles and it did not affect our eyes. The Buffett offered many types of quality foods and the staff were eagerly helpful. Great gym and spa especially the massages.

Strongly recommend you not use Sunwing.ca for tours. We've we're left at risk of not being able to get back into Costa Rica from Nicaragua because of a problem of their making.

We will go back to this resort next year.

Brian

Room Tip: Ask to be near pool which is close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As a long time resident of Costa Rica I am often embarrassed by the poor quality of service and accommodations at high prices offered by local hotels.

All Costa Rican hotel managers should spend a mandatory weekend to see how a this hotel operates ; good food, friendly staff, beautiful 2 floor rooms .

Great value all around , highly recommended .

Room Tip: Tamarindo village with all it's bustling nightlife and restaurants is only 2 Km if you want more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Md
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The resort was up to the usual standards of the Barcelo Hotel chain. The food was good and varied every day and the evening entertainment was enjoyable, The ocean was not as calm as we would of liked but we usually stay at resorts on the Caribbean ocean not the Pacific. No good snorkeling from the beach but you can take a boat to close reefs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As lovers of nature and flora and fauna, we absolutely loved it here. Monkeys in the trees around the pool, beautiful birds in the trees and large iguanas walking through the resort. Clean rooms, small but excellent buffet, and gardens are beautiful. Beach is coral so bring water shoes and take a walk to Tamarindo along the beach, it gets nice and sandy there and swimming is great. One thing that is excellent about this hotel is the service, definitely a five.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planet earth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Costa Rica is a must visit, lots of nature and beautiful landscapes. The hotel is well appointed, not large but excellent service. Always a smile and a willingness to help. The food was very good. The buffet is small compared to some other resorts but the variety and flavours are good. Room was clean and nicely laid out, and no problem with towels, shampoo, etc. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The beach in front of the hotel is rocky so bring water shoes. Great for surfing, especially Nov. an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had three rooms and two out of the three were good. In the one room the air conditioner was taped together and the room curtains were moldy. The food was average until the last day and them everything was better. It was as if the bosses were in and they changed everything that night. The grounds were nice and everyone seemed polite. The Entertainment was not as good as we have seen at other Barcelos.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Barcelo Langosta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Langosta Beach

Address: Tamarindo, Tamarindo 1150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#8 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Langosta Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Resort. Beach Front ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Barcelo Langosta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Langosta Beach Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Langosta Beach
Hotel Barcelo Playa Langosta
Barcelo Playa Langosta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Langosta Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.