We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Resort is a nice higher-end hotel and it was a good place to convalesce from a touch of dysentery I picked up in a poorly-run eco lodge in the Osa. My wife and I spend 3 nights here on our honeymoon and we loved the beach-front location and the luxury of having food and drinks served to us on the beach while getting massaged. However, the reviewers who talked about how this hotel was a good place to experience Costa Rican missed the mark. This is a resort and the guests are sheltered from the outside world via private beaches, gated entrances, and protective staff including guards. The food served in the restaurant, breakfast is included but other meals are not, is only average and I actually had some meat I found a little off. Aside from clean rooms and a nice bed, we found this hotel to be just so-so for the price. We might stay here again, but to be honest, there are better hotels at much better prices within walking distance of the Diria.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    613
    239
    125
    91
See reviews for
373
665
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

My buddy and I made reservations before our trip to stay in Tamarindo for only 2 nights and it was a big mistake not to stay longer. We traveled to a lot of other towns and none were as cools as tamarindo and the hotel Diria. The hotel is in them most incredible location you can imagine and the beach is the best in costa rica. It is huge and the town is the best in costa rica. We went to a few great restaurants and there were even more better ones that we wish we could have tried. Our room was one of the tropical garden rooms and I really can not believe how cheap it was. We paid more at other hotels that were no where near as nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for five nights. Upon our arrival, I was happy to learn the hotel was directly on the beach. We also had been told that wi-fi ($15 for the entire time) would only work in "public areas," but we were thrilled that we had wi-fi access in our room (on the first floor).

The staff is very attentive, kind, and courteous. My husband had problems with the omelette station, but it may have been his attitude or communication problems. Otherwise, the staff was perfect.

Our stay included a breakfast plan, which I (despite being extremely CHEAP) highly recommend! There are cereals, local pastries, toast, fresh cut-up fruit, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurts, pancakes or french toast, an omelette station, fried plantains, pinto gallo, potatoes, and probably something else I am forgetting. It was so nice to roll from bed into breakfast. We ate at the on-site cafes the first day, as we were so exhausted from traveling; we preferred to eat off-site the remainder of the time. We wanted to try the on-site restaurant, but opted to eat elsewhere as our stomachs could never hold out until the restaurant opened at 6pm nightly.

My husband did not like the rooms, while I thought they were just fine with beautiful wood fixtures, a nice bathroom, safe, TV with 50 channels, comfortable bed, etc. Of course, they have the pretty, custom ceramic floors essential in every building in Costa Rica.

We were able to book additional day trips through the tourism desk. The employees there were very friendly and warm as well.

The hotel itself is prettier than the photos floating around on the web.

The pool's water is freezing, but you get used to the temperature due to the intense heat.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed here for a weekend to do some surfing and it was great. The location can't be beat with the waves just outside your door. We are beginners so the gentle waves that break in front of the hotel were perfect for us. We found an instructor who gave us a 2 hour lesson with use of the boards for 2 days for only $25. I'm not sure how that compares with the going rate but it seemed reasonable and the instruction was very good.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Full breakfast was included in my rate and it was good with made to order eggs and bacon and fruits and everything else you could want.

Wifi included in the rate. This is unusual for nice hotels to give this to you but its always appreciated. Such a small gesture that people love but some of these other big hotels just don't get it and charge huge amounts.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

An unfortunate series of problems marred an otherwise great stay at this hotel.

On arrival we were first shown to a room that hadn´t been made up. This was soon rectified and we were moved to a second room that was prepared, a couple of doors further along the corridor.

The hotel is comprised of two main buildings, joined by a central restaurant - bar - lobby area.

The room we were given was on the 2nd floor (1st floor to the Brits) and overlooking the beach. There were two standard doubles, air conditioning, bathroom with shower, etc. Unfortunately the air conditioning wasn´t working properly and when we reported this to reception we were then moved again, this time to the other side of the hotel and up on the third (top) floor. The room was much nicer, a better view, more modern but similar in style to the previous room.

All went well until we tried to have a hot shower - there was no hot water. We put up with a cold shower and went to sleep as we had to be up and out by 6am for a trip.

On the way out in the morning we told the front desk about the lack of hot water and they said they would fix it while we were out. On returning after 15 hours touring Nicaragua there was still no hot water, although there was steam coming from my ears as I went down to reception! The hot water was fixed by 23:30 but again in the morning, there was no hot water.

At the point of wanting to check out and move hotels we went back to reception and spoke with the duty manager. He was very apologetic about the problems we´d had and offered us a "very nice room and dinner in the restaurant that night" if we wanted to stay for the last of the three nights we had booked. We decided to give them one more change and moved rooms for the fourth time in three nights.

We have since discovered the ´"very nice room" was the honeymoon room, with a single king sized bed, larger bathroom and balcony. What a difference. Piping hot water in the shower, lovely views over the pool and on to the beach.

The meal in the restaurant that evening was lovely. Sat overlooking the beach as the moon descended into the sea with Tiffany lights supsended from the trees. The service was great, the food very tasty, although the steak was slightly over done, in all a very pleasant evening to finish off a rather chaotic three nights.

Location wise the hotel is great. On the main street in Tamarindo you are close to a wide selection of restaurants, bars and shops. A short walk (20 minutes) or a taxi drive away is a large supermarket and more upmarket shops. There are several tour shops along the strip and we booked the Nicaragua tour via the Tamarindo Shuttle shop.

They picked us up at 6am from the hotel lobby and drove us two hours to the border with Nicaragua. From there we were walked across the border (they did all the paperwork and passport checks for us) and we were handed over to our Nicaraguan driver and his assistant for the remainder of the trip. We were taken to a hotel in Riva for breakfast, which was a typical fruit, followed by eggs, ham and galo pinto (rice and beans). We were then given a guided tour of Riva from a bicycle taxi. A great way to see the sights.

From there we moved onto Masaya to see the volcano. This is an inactive crater that is around 7KM in diameter and filled with crystal blue water. You get to view this from above and the scenary is stunning. We were serenaded by a typical band of Guitar, ukalele and marimba. There were several souvenier shops that were very reasonable in price and had some lovely gifts.

From there we went into Masaya, the 2nd city of Nicaragua for a tour around the city where we were "treated" to lunch in the local market.

We were due to go on a boat trip around the islands in the lake, but unfortunately there had been a lot of rain and the lake was 3m above its normal level. We decided the alternate option of a tour around the final city, Granada, in a horse drawn carriage was a better option.

On the way back the driver stopped for us to take photographs of the two volcanos at sunset. Great local knowledge and perfect timing gaves us the best views of the best places at exactly the right time!

Back to the border and again, like a scene from an old war movie, we were walked back across the border and handed back to our guide for the final trip back to the hotel. All in all, a very pleasant and enjoyable day out.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe bay, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This location was one of 3 recommended by our son to us for our first trip to Tamarindo. We were so pleased, from the check in to the check out, everything was wonderful. The staff were all so pleasant and courteous. The room was as promised with an uncompromising view from our balcony of the beach and the Pacific and their beautiful grounds. The bathroom was spacious, a walk-in shower was wonderful. As many towels and articles as we could want or need. The a/c was wonderful, it was hot and muggy in Tamarindo and it worked very efficiently. The breakfasts were wonderful and the Costa Rican coffee was great, service was excellent. The dinner menu was varied and the food was terrific, we also recommend the pasta night at their side walk restaurant. We also booked tours through their tour desk, always a treat. Very professional and first rate. Wi-fi was available in all common areas, the pools adjoin the lobby and were sparkling. Lots of security everywhere including parking areas. overall, we were extremely satisified and will stay there again on our next trip. Peter and JoAnn Rosch, Horseshoe Bay, TX

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attu Island, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Tamarindo Diria was awesome. The rooms were clean and roomy, with the occasional Gecko in the shower. We stayed on the ground floor facing the sea, great staff and room 5 Stars!!! We were able to get the room for $130 per night which I am not sure was a deal or not. The breakfast was awesome and the hotel was not crowded at all. The staff was all friendly with most saying Hola! to you as you pass by. Everyone was working and this hotel and they seem to employ a lot of people from the area. The pool was clean and the A/c in the room worked great. See Delbert outside the hotel, he is a great surf instructor and a new friend $20 to rent his surfboard all day. The restaurant to the south of the hotel has ½ price drinks during happy hour, definitely go visit. Great location and fun town. I would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern oceanfront Hotel and Resort with Costarican flavor, located in Tamarindo Beach, 65 km from Liberia Airport (LIR). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.