We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Family loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
Odessa, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location. Family loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel is the best located hotel in Tamarindo. The rooms were small but very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was extra friendly my only complaints were that our room never really got cool and the wifi connection never worked. Overall I'd stay there again though

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaTDBR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

We are delighted that you and your family loved our Resort as much as we do. As we always state, we are proud of our excellent and privileged location, however, it always make us very happy to hear it from our guests. Who better than them to underline it.

Thanks for your feedback on the challenge you experienced with the AC in your room. If you have the opportunity to contact us directly and let us the room number where you recently stayed, it would be much appreciate it. We make every effort to continually improve our services and this will provide our Operations manager with an opportunity to check it personally for an immediate resolution.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    549
    202
    113
    80
See reviews for
324
597
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My mother and I spent 5 nights in Costa Rica this summer. The resort was perfect and the tour desk was superb! We did a full day tour and our guide was extremely knowledgeable and intelligent. I arranged in advance for airport transportation which was completely flawless. Angel was the best! He's smart, interesting, and respectable. The room was tiny, but very clean and housekeeping service was always timely. The shower was ridiculously small. My mother and I are petite women, yet we agreed that the shower was way too small. Our ocean view was lovely. I am overall pleased with Tamarindo Resort.

Room Tip: Always book on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Ground level means bugs and creatures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaTDBR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of Tamarindo Diria Beach resort following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear you experienced such an enjoyable time with your mother. We will also give recognition to Angel for his excellent service and hospitality. Thanks for taking the time to mention him.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the not too distant future. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

You will read some negative reviews of the Diria on Trip Advisor. I can't comment on others experience, but I can tell you that it was not my experience. This is the best place in Tamarindo! No question! Stayed in a double queen room Oceanside. The hotel grounds are split by the main road with the nicer (park/garden view) side across the street from the ocean. This side includes two huge pools. One is for adults only. I went their one day and literally two people were at this pool. The big pool with swim up pool bar was not crowded at all. Easy to get chairs every day. Rooms have a safe and were cleaned everyday in a reasonable amount of time. Grounds always clean and never a challenge to get a chair. Yeah, sometimes the service is a little slower than a five star resort in Florida, but always friendly. I guess I just downshifted a little more than some others and didn't mind if it took 4 minutes to get a bill for lunch or dinner. Yes, the Wifi is spotty at best. You are in paradise, try and unplug for a little while. In hindsight, I am actually glad it was spotty. Probably helped me unplug during the week.

Location literally could not be better. You are 40 yards to the waters edge outside of the resort at high tide. The surf breaks right in front of the resort. Great places to eat (multiple) within 100 yards each way of resort.

If you are a high maintenance bride expecting top notch service, you will be disappointed. If you are looking to get off the grid for a week in paradise this is a great place!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaTDBR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Glad to read your review Chris. How wonderful to hear your comments, it 's always nice to exceed our guests' expectations. Being in your own words, "The Best Place in Tamarindo", is exactly what we aim for.

We are overjoyed that you experienced such a relaxing time in Paradise during your stay with us. We also appreciate that you highlight our resort privileged location, we are situated in the heart of Tamarindo Down town, where you can find locals from all over the world, that operate international gourmet restaurants, bars, clothing stores, surf shops, handicrafts stores, banks, pharmacies and more. Our guests have also the opportunity to take a number of excursions and easy access to other fabulous Costa Rican beaches.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Private beach area with security so we felt very safe leaving belongings on the beach chairs. There is a little partition between the private and public areas, so the vendors can't just come in and bother you to buy things like they did everywhere else. They have 5 different pools, and one is for adults only and is much more quiet.

We had 2 standard rooms and they were comfortable with air conditioning, ceiling fans, vaulted ceilings and large balconies. Every hotel I have stayed at in the country has been eco friendly, and this was no exception with recycling bins everywhere and the low flow shower heads.

The free breakfast was quite good, although a bit American. Fresh fruit, waffles, omelette bar, breads, some "typical food", and fruit juices. We had a howler monkey and a large lizard join us one morning when we ate outside.

Massages are offered outside near the pool/beach. I would suggest doing this in an early time slot, before 1:00 if possible, as once people start drinking the background noise gets rather loud and stupid. Earlier in the day you can hear the ocean and it's much more relaxing.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaTDBR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Boulder, Colorado Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback following your recent visit to Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort.

We are very happy that you have had an enjoyable and relaxing vacation with us and that our services as well as our facilities were according to your expectations. Thank you for your kind comments about our eco-friendly philosophy. We strive to be the best at what we do, and grow, while treating our environment in the best way possible. Our hotel aims to operate at high standards with the lowest impact on the natural environment, while assuring a pleasant experience to our guests.

We hope that you will not hesitate to recommend us to your family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the end of an amazing 10 day first time visit to CR. We just wanted to do nothing! The check in desk is manned 24 hours. Depending on time of check in it can be busy and even with only 2 staff it can be a bit of a wait. The 1st room we were given the AC did not work at all. We did complain it was checked & front desk did agree that it did not work. The service guy arrived waved a screw driver at us & disappeared. We didn't wait for his return (i took his disappearance as a sign) & immediately followed up with front desk!
We were moved promptly into the room next door which had a working AC. We were located in the portion of resort across the street but in a very quiet adults only section. To get to breakfast & the beach we simply walked across the road (the hotel has staff to manage traffic.) We enjoyed a buffet breakfast. I am glad we didn't have the rooms close to the beach- i noticed some construction activities & it seemed busier.
The grounds are beautiful and our rooms were comfortable. Fresh Towels are available from front desk. Staff are friendly.
We had an early check out (4:30 am) and i asked for a boxed breakfast to be collected the next morning. At check out i asked for the box. The staff member immediately disappeared (another sign? LOL?) To be fair our transfer to the airport arrived & so we did have to leave ( there was no one to call) without ever knowing whether the box would arrive!
So even with these small inconveniences I still would give the resort an overall very good 4 stars!

Room Tip: Rooms located in "adults only" section are much quieter. Our first room #532 AC did not wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaTDBR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Warmest Greetings Sally

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort!
We are glad to be able of providing you a relaxing and enjoyable vacation during your first visit to beautiful Costa Rica!.
We also thank you for underline our beautiful grounds, which are specially designed to create a wonderful outdoor space that our guests can fully enjoy.

At Tamarindo Diria Beach Hotel, we make every effort to continually improve our services and offerings to enhance the guest experience. Therefore, essential maintenance work is always done with minimal impact to the guests' experience or disturbance to the guest rooms.

We apologize for the minor challenges you experienced during your stay. This has been already shared with our team for his follow up for resolution.

We hope to have an occasion to welcome you back to Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort and that you will be able to experience our charming hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My husband and I ended our honeymoon at this resort. With what we paid for it, we were definitely expecting better. We arrived from La Fortuna after five hours in a car and a shortcut from hell at around 1:30pm. After checking in, we were informed that our room wasnt ready yet and were told that it would be about half an hour until we could go up. After an hour and a half, I asked if our room was ready yet (my husband had already asked once), and the room was still not ready so they moved us.

We had gotten the Tropicana Garden suite over looking the adults only pool. It was across the street from the main hotel and beach but we didnt mind that. The room, however, was small and cramped. The coffe cups were dirty, one of the coffee bags was already open. The plug for the coffee maker didnt work and we had to unplug the tv to use it. The only available outlets to charge our electronics were in the bathroom or behind the bed. I had called down for two extra pillows our first night since they only gave us one each and it took almost two hours for someone to bring it to us. The housekeeper didnt come to clean our room until 4pm each day. The first day we were there they didnt give us any new towels and the second day they didnt leave any washclothes.

The shower was small (with no bathtub). It had almost no water pressure and we had to turn it on 15 minutes before actually getting in in order to have somewhat warm water. We didnt get to take a hot shower until our last day there. The lighting is also very poor in the bathroom, making it hard to put makeup on or for my husband to even shave.

We had a kayaking and snorkeling tour set up on our second day through our travel agency. When my husband went to ask the employee at the hotels tour desk if she knew anything about it (since the guide hadnt shown up and was late) she blew him off and gave him an attitude, presumably because we didnt book it through them.

The only thing we really liked was that it was close to the beach. The beach itself was completely empty in the morning and still didnt have many people during the middle of the day. The hotel did have a shower and hose to rinse off with located in front of the sand, which was a plus.

All in all, we were disappointed with the staff and the quality of the room for what we paid for.

Room Tip: It was quiet in the Tropicana Garden area across the street from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaTDBR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Becca,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are genuinely disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations, We can assure you this is not an Hotel Tamarindo Diria standard, we take pride in our customer service and understand the importance of attention being given to the smallest details that certainly make the biggest difference.

We apologize for the challenges experienced during your stay and our Operations Manager is already leading a research with his staff for an immediate resolution. Again, we take all customer feedback very seriously as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and quality and your comments provides our management with an opportunity to consult on the points you have expressed.

We really hope we can welcome you back in the future and ensure your vacation exceeds all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We spent 4 days here. Beautiful hotel and grounds. Very clean. Several pools, including a swim up bar at the one across the street. This is a big resort. If takes up a city block on both sides of the street.

Unlike others, we found most staff very friendly. I do find restaurant service slow, but that was true everywhere in Costa Rica. If you've been to Europe, it's similar. They leave you alone unless you chase them down! Not a big deal to us, just something to get used to (in Canada and the US, we get used to being fawned over at restaurants).

Ocean views were great, beach was clean. There were vendors on the beach... Pretty typical of a beach resort! They stayed near the wall by the hotel, and left you alone near the water. We were never hassled. One solid no and that was it. We were not hassled to buy drugs as a family. My husband on his own was offered once. He said no and they left him alone. I'd say young adults would be the target audience. If you have children there should be no issue. Note: this does not happen on hotel grounds!

The breakfast was huge with excellent selection! The fruit was perfectly ripe. We ate at the restaurants. The pizza place is excellent, if painfully slow at times! All the food was very good, and you could get some dishes at more reasonable prices. The restaurant by the water has a kids menu (important for those with picky eaters)!

You need to go to the desk to get beach towels, and return them when done. We never had issues with this. Staff was quick to get them.

The parking for check in is one thing they need to fix!!! If you are driving you have to go into this tight driveway and back out.... Along with everyone else and tour buses! They need to create a circular drive here. It would make this much smoother. Aside from that we had a rest time. Oh, wifi is slow, and hit and miss, as it is everywhere outside San Jose and Liberia.

And while there, book a tour to Palo Verde! We saw so many monkeys and crocodiles there!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaTDBR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Disneygroupie,

Thank you so much for your great review on Trip Advisor. It is much appreciated.
We are very happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that the team made you feel welcome. Both myself and the team are passionate about Tamarindo Diria, and there is nothing more gratifying than to read that we met our guests expectations.

We are also thrilled that you had a enjoyable experience in our restaurants. Our delicious breakfast is specially prepared to please our guests' high expectations with a excellent selection of ingredients.

We are about to start a huge amount of re-training and corrective training with our staff, and we are sure that when you visit us again you will be able to witness the customer service improvements first hand yourself.

Having a chance to see many Monkeys and crocodiles during your tour to Palo Verde, it's definitely part of the spectacular natural setting that our beautiful country offers to our guests. Glad you fully enjoyed the experience!

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back in the very near future. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern oceanfront Hotel and Resort with Costarican flavor, located in Tamarindo Beach, 65 km from Liberia Airport (LIR). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.