We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Diarrhea redux” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Tamarindo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Beverly, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Diarrhea redux”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Saw another review with this pun, way too late for us. I should've done my homework on tripadvisor before booking. The hotel's grounds, location and design details are lovely. But that's where it ends. Someone who knows how to run a hotel needs to take this place over and retrain everyone who works there, starting with the front desk staff. The overall feel of service is begrudging, penny pinching and sub-par in every way. This is our second trip to Tamarindo, first and last to the Diria. Gone were the warm and inviting Costa Rican people I remembered from 10 years ago. This hotel's staff are unhappy, underpaid, and poorly managed. Very sad.

Our entire family got horribly ill with what's been diagnosed as travel's diarrhea. One of my daughters couldn't get on a plane and had to be given IV fluids in the hotel room just to regain her vitals. We've been sick for 5 days, up to a dozen trips to the bathroom per day, and are now on antibiotics. The hotel did nothing to help us except call in a doctor.

All of the negative reviews I've read here are true, DO believe them. It's sad because the resort has so much potential. We are seasoned travelers, and love Tamatindo for the magnificent surf; our kids are in their 20s and loved the town's funky vibe We were taking all the "small stuff" (see other negative reviews) in stride until we got sick. We even managed to laugh when my son's constant attempts to get a bath towel included locking one into the room safe ! It wasn't as funny to us as parents when one daughter called once again for towels and the man who brought them walked into the room and KISSED her. Inappropriate at best.

Yes we were there Easter week and the resort was very crowded and possibly terribly understaffed. But the lingering illness has left us with a very bad impression of this hotel and we cannot recommend it until the Board of Health and/or new management take over.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    613
    239
    125
    91
See reviews for
373
665
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was a great Hotel. The people were friendly and helpful, and the food and atmosphere were great!! We watched the sun set through the palm trees from the balconey of our room! They were really good at arranging tours for us. They arranged for a full moon tour of the Pacific turtles nesting. We saw the turtles laying eggs and we saw baby turtles scrambling to the water from an earlier nest, all under the light of a full moon. It was magical. I cannot say enough about the people who work there. They are all helpful and nice and funny and they make the stay really special. The room was very clean and the price was very reasonable. Thanks!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is in a great location. The beach, grass area for laying in the sun is great. Make sure you get up early put out your chairs with towels, they run out quickly. The food was great also. The breakfast satisfied all the people in our family. The food also was very good, fish, rice and drinks.
They have no elevator. so asked to be on the 1st or 2nd floor. The 3rd floor going up and down all day can be tiring. The rooms are older, but the view of the ocean makes up for the room.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 1st 2nd floor no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I loved my stay at Tamarindo Diria. I love being right on the ocean and this property is right on a great part of the Tamarindo Beach. Rooms are nice and service was very good. Friendly atmosphere at the hotel and the whole town of Tamarindo. Wonderful restaurants where you can sit outside and watch the sunset right next to the hotel. Little shops across the street - everything within walking distance. Delightful stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Desert, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My name is Judy. I got married there on April 4, 2014. Im writing this review for all the people thats thinking abt staying or deciding abt having their wedding here. All i can say is WOW. I was soo impressed with everything. From the clean rooms to the nice people to the most amazing experience. My wedding coordinator Eunice Torelli did an amazing job planning it. My wedding was way beyond our expectations!!! From the beautiful decor to the freshest food. Our sunset beach wedding was just beautiful.

All i can say is i had the time of my life. All my guest were happy n had so much fun too. The main question u have to ask yourself is, "wld i come bck here again." My answer is YES YES YES. We r already planning to go bck there for our anniversary. What great memories :D

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had our wedding there in the beach front garden. It was small, only 21 folks but it was spectacular due to the staff at Diria. We exchanged vow in the setting sun, went right into an open bar and appatizers in the garden. We then released wishing lanterns. The kitchen staff then grilled steak, lobster, and veggies right there; awesome. Our wedding planner was Eunice; she was there from start to finish to ensure all went a planned. She did a fantastic job. To sum it up, 5 stars out of 5 stars.

Room Tip: If you want to hear the ocean at night choose an ocean front room. But the gardens viewed from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed with our family of 2 tweens for 1 night. We would have gone to another hotel if we were staying any longer. Visually, the hotel is beautiful with great views from our premium beach front rooms. Some staff members are lovely, others (mainly bar and restaurant) are not very attentive. This is a great place for the young but it is more like Cancun than Costa Rica. The hotel has a pretty, low stone wall that separates the grass/property from the beach. But they have no control of what goes on on the other side. A posse of surfers and "instructors" sit on the wall drinking beer/tequila and at times get a bit rowdy. Locals constantly try and sell you items. And there is guy that "runs the beach" in front of the hotel so you have to pay him a large sum for beach chairs and umbrellas.

It is IMPOSSIBLE to sleep at night. We did not sleep at all (even though we were on the beach) because of the loud music, engine noises of cars, and just alot of partying noise into the early hours of the morning. We must have had about 3-4 hours of sleep due to the noise. If we ever go back to Tamarindo, we will stay in a quieter part of town. I am only giving it 3 "stars" since it is pretty and some staff members were very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tamarindo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern oceanfront Hotel and Resort with Costarican flavor, located in Tamarindo Beach, 65 km from Liberia Airport (LIR). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.