We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy with Our Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Tamarindo
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Happy with Our Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My girl and I really enjoyed this place. We had a top floor ocean front room. The sunsets are spectacular. Made for a very romantic trip. The grounds are very nice and allow you to feel a little space. Summer prices made this a very good value.

The hotel is located perfectly. You can walk everywhere or take a one minute taxi ride.

Breakfast was well done with some daily variety. It can get a little crowded but not bad.

The only real downside is the bar or restaurant to the south of the building was playing some pretty bad music in the evening. And loud! More annoying than anything else. I would have preferred to keep the doors open.

We are already looking at going back.

Room Tip: We had a top floor(3) front beach front room. The views are great. There is no elevator. That might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    486
    184
    105
    76
See reviews for
281
539
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel sits right in the small surf town of Tamarindo . Beachfront. Beautiful tropical grounds. Clean pools. Only the beachfront rooms are on the main side of the road. I strongly recommend the beach front rooms. It's wonderful to fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the waves and the birds in the garden. The newer rooms are across the street around the large pool with a swim up bar.
The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was good. We ate dinner in the beachfront bar one night. Very good.
Nice surfing beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nites in May . First room about 60 feet from beach first floor. We refused to stay in it, about 50 insects , bugs in room , daughter is afraid . We moved up one flight , we liked the balcony and view beautiful . No coffee maker in room , they said they could give us one , it never happened. Shower very small, I barely fit in it , fixtures falling off wall , no room in bathroom to put accessories. TV very good stations, maids kept room clean. Dinner and bar service very slow. Hotel looked like it was about 30 percent occupied. No fitness center ???? Pool across street nice. Good location intown many restaurants , bamboo shushi was the best fir food and frozen mojjitos !!! Beach beautiful . Ice machine was broken when we got there and when we left 5 days later. They had no intention of fixing , got ice from bar. Hotel is very old it appears and needs a face lift , I would give 2 1/2 starsoverall . Breakfast buffet pretty decent , they did pack us a breakfast to go on the 430 am pickup for 18 hr Nicaraguan trip , but I wouldn't have known that unless my travel agent from gotours asked them .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very nice hotel. Very convenient location. Friendly staff, good service and delicious food. We were upgraded to a Sunset Ocean View room, because the room we had reserved was not ready when we arrived. Our room was in an older building and the AC wasn’t working when we arrived. However, when the bellhop reported the issue, it was fixed while we ate lunch. The Sunset Ocean View rooms are right on the gardens adjacent to the beach and next to the restaurant and lobby. We never crossed the street to see the newer section of the hotel. Lounge chairs in the gardens are free to guests. These are just a few steps from the beach where you have to pay for lounge chairs. The hotel offered a wide selection of excursions in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel was very nice. Hard to get to from San Jose, but what isn't in CR. any problems we had with the room were handled quickly.

Not part of the hotel but our tour had a "sunset dinner cruise". This was a party boat that had to circle the small bay our hotel was in. After taking us to a small grotto to snorkel, (nobody saw anything decent) we left in a hurry to beat the rain,.Well, in our hast the guy driving the catamaran plowed the front end into a wave and splashed the entire boat. About that time I realized we had not been told where the live jackets were. Small safety violation here int he States. We then circled the little bay in front of the hotel for 45 minutes,but the sunset was covered by rain clouds. We were then back in the skiff and taken back to the beach in the cold rain that was falling. Be careful of "sunset dinner cruises" our of here since they tend to be party boats.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My dream to travel to Costa Rica was fulfilled this past memorial day, 5 day vacation. I couldn't have booked a better Hotel than Tamarindo Diria!! The rooms were phenomenal, great ac, beds, clean towels & toiletries, small fridge, etc. We opted to stay on the first level room 119 and our view was more than what we expected. Literally a 20 second walk to the beach! The hotel itself was beyond beautiful, clean, and the staff was beyond nice to us. Every time they would see us either in the morning or evening everyone smiled, greeted, and would ask if everything was okay. They have 4 great pools, but the best are across the street (the lagoon sized pool with a swim up bar (where Mauricio whipped us great Mojitos, pina coladas, and a spicy shots with cacique, costa rican rum), or the adults only (which was not being used much due to low season)). Their breakfast was amazingly great, more than what we expected. We booked all of our tours the day we arrived with Leo, and oh my was he great!!! Recommended us certain tours per day and all of the tours were so much fun. Everyday we had something different to do. The first day we arrived we booked a turtle watch at night and to our luck, no turtles showed up. The next day, we brought up the situation to Leo, and he was quick to ask if we wanted a 50% reimbursement or re-book the tour, so we decided to re-book and what an experience we will never forget!! Tamarindo has several restaurants outside the Diria. We enjoyed a nice BBQ dinner one night at Longboards. Being a Texan we devour BBQ constantly and I have to give it to them, one of the best BBQ I have ever had. Overall, Tamarindo itself is tiny, safe, and beautiful. I would definitely return to this hotel, and I think it will be sooner than I think!

Thank you Tamarindo Diria staff, you made our stay worthwhile!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comment and for choosing us to spend your vacations. We are very happy to know that you had an amazing time at our Hotel.

We absolutely hope to see you back soon at the Tamarindo Diriá.

Greetings from Costa Rica, pura vida !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for four nights with an Ocean-Front room. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in at 3 but they had one on the first floor available, so we said sure. Little did we know we'd have crazy neighbors next door to us who woke us up at 3:30am yelling at the staff outside their patio. Granted, this is not the hotel's fault but that ruined a night of sleep for us.

Grounds were pretty, especially the lawn side. I do wish they had chairs on the other side to use. The MAJOR negative to this place is the surfer "teachers" that stand right outside the entrance to the beach. After making the mistake of walking through there once and being hassled to do lessons with them, we climbed over the short rock wall to access the beach. Again, not hotels fault but very annoying they make camp there and smoke their weed in front of you.

Room was tiny and ants were everywhere but we're in our mid 20s and didn't really care. Pillows were uncomfortable but we were so tired by the end of the day we crashed. We started to smoke a cigar at the outside bar and the bartender didn't care and gave us the lighter. Another staff member walked up and told us we had to leave because of the cigar. I found it strange since there were 2 other couples around us that didn't seem to care as well as the bartender. Oh well, we took our money elsewhere at another bar.

All in all, if you want to walk everywhere in town and not worry about taxis or renting a car, stay here. If you aren't picky, stay here. If you want luxury, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Oceanfront View on the lawn chair side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments, your opinion is very important to us since it help us to improve every day.

About the situation with the cigar, I am sorry for the misunderstanding, the non smoking law in Costa Rica is kind of new, but is powerful as it is in many countries around the world.

Thank you again for you feedback, and hope to have you back in our Hotel soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern oceanfront hotel with Costarican flavor, located 65 km from Liberia Airport (LIR). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.