We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like I remembered it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Tamarindo
Houston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just like I remembered it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Diria in 2006 and always had fond memories of the hotel. When we decided to return to Tamarindo, the only place I considered was the Diria. The rooms are fine - nothing splendid but the grounds and the location are what make it so special. Honestly, you could review this hotel solely on the ability to sit on the green lawn and watch the waves and give it 5 stars.

Great ample breakfast, central location and everything you need while in town . The Diria seems to keep expanding its empire by building more restaurants. Prices are somewhat steep for food but, again, just look at that view and you'll forget everything else.

Room Tip: Oceanview - absolutely get an oceanview room. Don't get a room that faces the street in the ori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your time and feedback, it helps us to improve every day.

About your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room, I am sorry to know about it after you left our Hotel, because we clean up the rooms every single day as part of our normal service, unless you put the “non disturb” sign on the door and in that case we also have a 24 hour front desk assistance to ask for cleaning when ever you like.

The problem with the internet service was that for reasons of security we were supplying an WPA password for our clients, which after some time we realized every Apple equipment had problems to connect to, reason why we decided to change it to WAP2 this month. But we also provide our guests a business room with a computer with internet acces for free.

For surf board and bikes, we have a storage for the convenience of our guests.

Thank you again for your time and review. We strive every day to give the best service to our clients.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    492
    187
    105
    76
See reviews for
289
545
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights after visiting La Fortuna. After four days of fun but lots of driving it was nice to park our rental and relax. The hotel is on the beach though our room was across the street. No big deal as there is a large pool with a swim up bar on this side. The town of Tamirindo is nice and the hotel is in the middle of the main drag so there are shops and restaurants within a short walk. There are plenty of lounge chairs along the beach and at the pools. The rooms were nice and a refrigerator was brought to our room within minutes of being requested. This is a big hotel that in some ways reminded me of the big mindless all inclusive resorts so popular in this part of the world. This is not a knock on the property, my preference is a smaller more personal property. Overall this is a good place to stay and all of our exexpectations were met.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience at our Hotel.

Grettings from Costa Rica!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

First, I know the location of the hotel is the place to be in Tamarindo - but Tamarindo is a small, surf town. Close proximity to everything and directly on the beach, a definite recommendation if passing through.

This is review is based on the service I received from online Reservations department. They are one of the most friendliest staffs I have encountered and this is all via email! Particularly, LOVED my interaction with Margoth. She goes above and beyond anyone's call of duty and makes it a point to respond quickly with as much information as she can pull! When communicating with her you can tell that she's genuine, loves her job and really just puts you at ease. She's absolutely AMAZING - if this any reflection of the Tamarindo Diria...I cannot wait to stay here! Thanks again Margoth!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your comment, we strive every day to give the best service to our clients ... We hope to see you soon....

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Loved the location of this hotel for our first trip to Costa Rica but do not stay on the bottom
rooms by the bar and restaurant if you want peace and quiet. If you do not mind the noise
and music until about 11 then these rooms will not bother you. These are probably the best rooms which are very close to ocean and beach but they are very noisy. If I were to go again I would stay on the 2nd floor and on the south side of the hotel or as you are coming in on the right side of the hotel. Loved going to the pool right across from the hotel. Has a swim up bar and is very nice. All and all it was a very nice hotel, nice breakfast every morning.
It was a very dry time of the year so if we go back we will go when it is more rainy. Would like to go to Manuel Antonio next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to know that you visited our Hotel for the first time. The rainy season in Costa Rica is also very nice, there are lots of green vegetation around and the weather is fresher, you will love it !!!

Thank you again for choosing our Hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta Lake, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My Husband and I got married here 2 weeks ago, and the experience was more than we could have ever expected. The Hotel itself is amazing as it sits right in the middle of town, on the main street, plus right on the beach. Staff was friendly, and the grounds were immaculate. The hotel had several restaurants too, the Flying Bull was our favorite. The swim up bar made for lots of fun with our friends and family as well. Our room overlooked the beach and we had the most incredible view of the sunsets from our balcony. The city of Tamarindo was really great too. Very much a tourist beach town, with lots of shops, food, things to see and do. Compared to other beach towns (jaco) Tamarindo was really clean and felt safe. The actual wedding was 5 star and made my husband and I feel like royalty. Eunice was a fantastic wedding coordinator - thank you so much for a perfect day. here are a just a few very minor issues we ran into (very nit picky stuff) the wifi was spotty, housekeeping would forget to replace items, and the tours at the resort were overpriced and did not live up to the expectations (fishing trip and zip lining). overall great town and best resort to stay in. Some friends and family rented the private condos at the Diria, both were swank, spacious, and gave access to the pools and beach.

Room Tip: king bed rooms are smaller, and were noisy according to my siblings. Second floor rooms were quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We love to know that you had an amazing wedding and thank you for making us part of your celebation. We hope to see you back son!!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have a few things need to change with Diria for it to be a 4star hotel.

First, this hotel has the nicest beach front in tamarindo.. The hotel is very nice there are rooms on the ocean as well as rooms located across the street.
We stayed in the 600 area located across the street with a view of the inner pool. The room was nice and clean, although, I was shocked that it didn't have a coffee maker, tour brochures, menu for room service, information about the hotel etc. I like to have these things on vacation. The price we paid was fair for the room, although any other hotel would have included what this hotel forgot. Our room had a mini fridge, although in the middle of the night we heard a weird dripping noise and saw it was coming from the fridge, we unplugged it just incase.

We were at first wanted to see if We liked the rooms so we only booked one night and told the reception if we wanted to stay another night we would call the next morning and book the same room again,. The next morning at 9:30 before taking off the flamingo we wanted to book 2 more nights, we went to reception and the woman said they already given our room away and we would have to go pack our things and move to another room! My husband was mad and so was I, there was many other rooms available to give away. We though it was more laziness on the reception part. We told them we were going to stay elsewhere if they made it difficult and we advised the woman to go speak to a supervisor and tell them what we said.... We ended up staying in out original room. Good choice on the hotels part

The grounds of the property are very nice, lots of pool chairs. Although, to get towels you have to go across the street and go to the kiddie pool and get them.. Wasting time for sure..

The pool is huge, funny on our last day walking to my usual spot I looked to my left and saw a path to what looked like another big really nice pool, no signs telling us there was another pool but I thought I would check it out! A beautiful pool, I was right.. Adult only too, nicer more comfy beach chairs too. I was wondering why they didnt tell us about this other adults pool? It also had a bar, there was a woman who worked there who I asked if the bar was open, she laughed and said no. Ok so that was odd. My husband and a couple we met swam and hung out there for the afternoon, having to walk a lot back and forth to get drinks.

In the pool, I had noticed my nails, skin and bathing suits were turning very yellow. Other guests and a few people we met also complained about yellow bathing suits. Apparently from the higher ppm chlorine. I think that is bad personally, my bathing suits were new and now they are yellow.

The rooms also need weather stripping on the doors, after the rain the bugs all got in the room and were crawling on the bed all over me, all on the walls by the front door, it was gross.

Staff was not really around the hotel besides the bar lady, we really never spoke or was spoken to by staff members. More of a serve yourself breakfast, with coffee pots already on the table so no service was needed.

So in a nutshell the hotel could be a 4 star if they fixed the little issues, for now as is it's a 3 star.
I hope the owner of the hotel reads this and makes the changes needed to make it a 4 star. Therefor making it more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your suggestions, we are working hard to give the best service to our clients.

We were happy to have you as our guest and was not our intention to bother you changing rooms, actually we were able to satisfy your request by giving an upgrade to the new guests for your room, in order to make your stay totally pleasant.

We do not provide the rooms with menus because we do not have room service.

Our Hotel is rated 4 stars for the Costa Rican Tourism Board, but we kindly thank you for your suggestions.

About the adults area pool, we do not announce its use because is only for Tropicana guests.

We already took appropriate actions with the maintenance of the water.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel and your suggestions, we hope to have back soon !!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Diria and couldn't have been more pleased. We had a standard room that had views of the pool. The grounds were very well maintained and beautiful that we would rather be in the standard room vs the ocean view rooms. We took our young son so it was nice to have a room by the pool. The staff was super friendly and remembered our names after only being there a day. We just got back and already about to book our next vacation to Tamarindo Diria!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for Choosing us to spend your vacations, we were happy to have you as our guest !!!

Grettings from Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Address: Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
#10 Family Hotel in Tamarindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern oceanfront hotel with Costarican flavor, located 65 km from Liberia Airport (LIR). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach & Golf Tamarindo
Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach And Golf Resort
Tamarindo Diria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.